Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      This was ok, but not as flavorful as I'd hoped. I think there are too many tomatoes for my taste. I added some taco seasoning and chili beans to see if that would help, but it still wasn't as good as tortilla soup I've had before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Very yummy and satisfying soup! We've always loved thick, hearty soups like this one. I did throw in about 1/2 tsp of cumin. I like the taste. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Have made a few changes like adding rotel and no hominy. Plus we add extra green chiles and I use one red onion and a sweet yellow onion. Love this soup! Perfect for cold nights. Leftovers are great. Doesn't change consistency. We sometimes freeze some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      My husband is not much for soup, but he really liked this soup. I did change a few things based on our preferences: only used one 14 oz. can of fire roasted diced tomatoes (will try 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos next time), 2 cups of corn, no hominy, 21.5 oz. of chicken stock and no water. Everything else was as recipes calls for. I served this with quesadillas and avocado and everyone went back for seconds. This recipe is a definite keeper; thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      My family loved this. It was even great on a hot day. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Yummy!!! I used 1 can rotel and 1 can tomatoes and no hominy. This was great! reminded us of the soup we had on our honeymoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Does tend to be a thicker than I'm used to. Could use a bit more chicken stock I suppose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Delicious and Nutritional! I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Excellent! Have made this several times, just added more chicken broth for more actual soup! Served with thin sliced fried corn tortillas, cheese, cilantro, and a squeeze of fresh lime. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      YUMMY!!! This is fantastic! I used home made stock instead of the chicken broth and replaced water with the home made stock, too. VERY GOOD. Even my little ones enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This recipe is AMAZING!!! i only had kidney beans on hand so i didnt use black beans or hominy. I didnt have monterey cheese, but the flavors even without cheese is amazingly DELICIOUS!! i didnt even know how easy this could be! i never thought about until we were here freezing and he talked about making tortilla soup....it took me about 30min, didnt have to cut any vegetables or anything. Im so glad that i came across this recipe.This is by far better than restaurant tortilla soups I have ever had and I am latino =) btw i didnt include olive oil, cilantro, and avacado. Im dying to have it with avacado though. I have a whole tree full of them but none are ripe...booo...but i cant wait to make this again. TOTAL HIT! and im thinking about making a huge stock pot of this stuff for our little family christmas party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      Wow this was perfect for a cold winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      This was a hit with the whole family--even the 2 year old loved it! It was pretty quick since the chicken was already cooked and chopped. I had to leave out the fresh ingredients like cilantro and avocado because I made this on the spur of the moment, but it was still delicious! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      What a wonderful dish! Top notch recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      This recipe is a staple in our Freezer Friends cooking group. Members ask me for their own copy to make at home. We have all really enjoyed this soup! That's more than 6 families!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      It was SO GOOD!! I was very nervous being my first time making this but it came out great. I added a bit more corn and chicken broth. I also used ROTEL as well as two fresh chilies . It was only for my boyfriend and I so he will be taking this to lunch tomorrow and we'll eat it with tacos tomorrow as well!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      We loved this yummy soup! Kind of reminded me of Taco Soup. Instead of the can of chilies, we added a can of Rotel. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      This was easy to make. My son, husband and I liked it. My picky daughter not as much, but that's another story!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This soup was fantastic!! I make it all the time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Very good. I halved the recipe but used full amounts of chicken broth, green chilies and subbed Great Northern beans because I was out of black beans. It turned out great. I also topped the soup off w/ more fresh cilantro. I think a squeeze of fresh lime juice would put this over the top (I didn't have a lime either). Despite my poor planning, it's a keeper! Thanks a bunch Tonkcats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (468 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.9
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    29%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 30.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 224.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes