Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2011

      Good basic Chicken Tortilla Soup that I've been making for years. I use chicken stock rather then broth for more flavor. I also add a 7 oz can of Salsa Verda, and use green enchilada sauce rather then red. I made it yesterday and it was the first time that I used broken tortilla chips rather then going through the hassle with the corn tortillas~~worked great! I did also add black beans for the first time, super!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      It's a tasty soup. I did add black beans and topped with crushed tortilla chip and cheese. I can say I am still on the hunt for a really good chicken tortilla soup. This to me was more tomato soup with a little bit of Mexican influence.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Delicious soup!! I only made two changes. I didn't have any enchilada sauce so I added 1 tablespoon of Lawry's Enchilada Sauce mix powder. Also, I like my corn tortillias torn up into bits and put into the soup. The taste of the broth was spot-on for a great chicken tortilla soup. Healthy and satisfying. I will definitely make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Terrific meal!!!!! I only used 1 lb chicken and had to use picante sauce instead of enchilada (I was out). I added a can of kidney beans for some extra filling and it was gobbled up by my spice-hating 7 year old and mother as well as by myself and my dad, who enjoy spices. This worked out so well! Thanks for posting what will now be a regular recipe around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This soup has great flavor, but is less hearty than I wanted. Now, I always add a can of black beans and a cup of rice in the beginning and the consistency is perfect. Sometimes I use frozen chicken breasts, cook for 6-8 hours on low, come home, shred the chicken and cook for another 30 minutes to an hour. Thanks for posting, this is something we make at least once a month, that freezes very well for lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Parmesan Cheese....? hmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I have made this only one time and I cooked it on the stove instead of the crock pot as called out(didn't have enough time)and it was excellent and super easy!!! I will definitely make this again. It was a little spicy for the kids, but there is always grilled cheese for them. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I made this soup after getting a days notice that I needed to cater a small film set but couldn't have red meat. It was a cold weekend so I adopted this recipe a little and turned it into a "chicken chili" sort of dish. I added some crushed red pepper for some bite, some extra chicken, and a can each of red and black beans. Topped with shredded cheddar, fresh cilantro, and some hint of lime tortila chips, this one was a huge hit! It smelled so good and tasted even better! I also used frozen uncooked chicken breast and cooked on high heat overnight to fit my schedule and it worked out perfect! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Excellent flavor! It's great to start in the morning before work and come home to the delicious smell in the evening! I also add avocado and pico de gallo to spice it up a bid. It's a great recipe that even my finicky 6 year old likes! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Excellent soup! Very flavorful and easy to make. I also topped mine with avocado. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      We loved this Dannielle!! It had a wonderfully flavored broth - not too spicy for the kids - just right for the adults. I goofed and put in a 28 ounce can of tomatoes so left out the water. This probably resulted in a more "tomatoey" (is that a word?) but we enjoyed it anyway. We'll be planning leftovers when we cook chicken just so that we can make this soup! :) Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      I made this several months ago and never submitted a review for it, but it was fantastic. Hubby especially liked it and I've made it a couple of times now, and will make it again. The seasonings are just right. I used a 15 ounce can of enchilada sauce, because that's what's in my pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      I used a whole roasted chicken, a box of Swanson's organic chicken broth, and 1/2 lb. of grated Cotija cheese into the soup. Topped with grated cheddar and fresh chopped cilantro. Added 2 cans of Kirkland (Costco) chicken breast and a can of drained black beans for extra protein. Fried strips of corn/flour tortilla strips in peanut oil, then salted, and served with corn cakes. WONDERFUL!! **Thanks, Caroline** for a new standard at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      I followed the soup recipe exact and it is delicious! Wish we would've doubled it. Bought premade tortilla strips and used shredded white cheddar... delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Great recipe! Made it for my husband while I was on a week long business trip. He ate it all - thanks! I didn't have enchilada sauce, so I substituted a package of taco seasoning with some extra water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      This soup was very good, I used a store bought rotisserie chicken for the meat(picked off the white meat). Also used crushed tomatoes just because I read the recipe wrong. It made a lot of soup and I froze half of it. Have since unthawed that soup and ate it, dethawed nicely and still tasted great. My husband adds tabasco to his to spice it up and we both used tortilla chips as a short cut. Great recipe, made it in the crockpot and it was super easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      I am making this for the fifth time tonight and it dawned on me that I hadn't reviewed it. This is delicious soup. I do take the easy way out and just use store bought tortilla chips crushed up to sprinkle in the soup and I use shredder cheddar instead of the parmesan. The soup has a great flovor that is spicy enough but not too spicy. My husband love it! We'll be enjoying some tonight since my crockpot is hard at work! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Thanks for a wonderful recipe. My picky husband, who is from Mexico City, loved this one, and he can be hard to please, especially if it's Mexican food. Great flavor, but I did cut the spice a bit since we have a 5 year old at home. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (380 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.8
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    25%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 72.8 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1183.3 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites