Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2010

      5 stars plus! We loved this and will definitely make again. Used frozen green chile we got from family in New Mexico in place of poblano peppers and used rotisserie chicken that was already cooked to save a step. Otherwise, no changes. We loved the spice of the dish. Thank you so much for posting..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Si, si this is muy bueno! Not your mother's chicken noodle soup either. My men are not too crazy about cilantro, so appreciated that you used it for the broth and then discarded it-very mild tasting that way-sort of fooled DH. Also, liked the pureeing technique for the tomato onion mixture. I was a bit confused when I saw "remaining onion" show up in steps 12 and 16, I had already used them up in step 12. I could not buy a poblano pepper (what else is new here in northern WI) so subbed in banana pepper from my mother's garden otherwise made as posted. I think this would freeze well as it has no potato or pasta in it. Thanks Galley Wench for a keeper. Made for Theirs, Yours, & Mine tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      i would just like to say that this recipie needs alot more than 10 reviews, and i gurantee that if more people tried it, it would have the most reviews. Everything is perfect, texture is awsome, flavors are out of this world. Just about every single ingredient is made from fresh, and there is a different flavor in every bite. I like to use chicken thighs, and i roast them on my Traeger. But i still make the broth with all the other ingredients and i make it all in a dutch oven. Anyone that tries this soup and doesnt like it shouldnt be in the kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      My husband and I have been searching for the perfect tortilla soup recipe since returning from a vacation to Mexico. I read a review that it was similar to a soup from Puerto Vallarta. So true! This is an authentic, delicious soup recipe and I followed it exactly except that I blended all of the vegetable chunks at the end so the only chunks in the soup were the chicken and toppings. Our search for the perfect soup is over! Thank you for your fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      This is the closest thing to what my DH and I had in Puerto Vallarta. I've also tried replacing the chicken w/ black beans and it was awesome! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Overall very good. I never made a version quite like this... usually corn tortillas are added to the soup during cooking so that they "dissolve" and give it a nice texture. This was a very brothy chicken soup texture, colored and flavored with a hint of tomato & chipotle with adobo. Tomatoes are blah this time of year, so I used half a can of Ro-Tel Tomatoes instead. Worked great and gave it some spice. The tablespoon of oil is too much IMO, I found myself scraping some of the oil from the surface of the soup. I'd say that 1 teaspoon is plenty. You are only cooking a slurry with it, you don't need much. Also, I made the chicken broth and shredded chicken the night before to save time. Good, and I'll keep this recipe and make again. MUST have the cilantro & avocado with this. No exceptions. Also, use good corn tortillas. Our favorite are El Miagro (they come in a paper package).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Excellent soup, authentic flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Can I give this recipe more than 5 stars please?? As a born and raised San Diegan now in the midwest (by the way of KY,WA, & TX) courtesy of the US Army, I have really missed real authentic Mexican flavor...this totally has it! Is almost exactly like the tortilla soup the old boyfriend used to make...and he was a chef that was born, trained and lived in Mexico. Outstanding! A lengthy list of ingredients but TRY IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Awesome! Perfect amount of spice and TONS of flavor depth! I used MJ cheese as I had some that needed to be eaten and I left out the avocado- family wont eat them! More for me! :) thanks for a wonderful recipe GW! You ROCK!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      AWESOME! Be careful b/c the chipolte(s) can make it spicy...I added 2 thinking no biggie (I'll only use one and follow your directions exactly next time) and it was muchos caliente, but so so so good. We loved it and will be our Tortilla Soup standby from now on...thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      This soup really tastes great! I garnished ours simply with Pepper Jack cheese and sour cream. The crispy baked corn tortilla strips tended to sink down into each delicious bowlful of soup where they gradually softened up like a yummy enchilada. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      What a humble name for such an outstanding recipe. This is going in my perfection cookbook. It's the best tortilla soup I've ever eaten. I cheated on the chips - used our favorite high quality Mexican kitchen style chips and broke them in the bottom of the bowl. I did take extra steps on the chicken and broth - but WELL worth it. The night before I roasted 4 chicken breasts on the bone for 40 minutes. When cool, I shredded the meat and measured out the amount for the soup, and froze the rest for another recipe. I used the bones to make stock this morning, using 1/2 of Lennie's Rescued Turkey Stock recipe (my favorite). So, using the chips, the chicken and the broth, I started at step 12, and it went together very quickly today. I did use summer squash instead of zucchini, but otherwise the ingredients were the same. An absolute flavor exposion. If you've read this far - you will LOVE this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      we loved this . thank you for posting .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (284 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.3
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    56%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 53.1 mg
    17%
    Sodium 411.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    adobo sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites