13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars plus! We loved this and will definitely make again. Used frozen green chile we got from family in New Mexico in place of poblano peppers and used rotisserie chicken that was already cooked to save a step. Otherwise, no changes. We loved the spice of the dish. Thank you so much for posting..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrapbook Lori February 05, 2010

Si, si this is muy bueno! Not your mother's chicken noodle soup either. My men are not too crazy about cilantro, so appreciated that you used it for the broth and then discarded it-very mild tasting that way-sort of fooled DH. Also, liked the pureeing technique for the tomato onion mixture. I was a bit confused when I saw "remaining onion" show up in steps 12 and 16, I had already used them up in step 12. I could not buy a poblano pepper (what else is new here in northern WI) so subbed in banana pepper from my mother's garden otherwise made as posted. I think this would freeze well as it has no potato or pasta in it. Thanks Galley Wench for a keeper. Made for Theirs, Yours, & Mine tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal September 22, 2009

i would just like to say that this recipie needs alot more than 10 reviews, and i gurantee that if more people tried it, it would have the most reviews. Everything is perfect, texture is awsome, flavors are out of this world. Just about every single ingredient is made from fresh, and there is a different flavor in every bite. I like to use chicken thighs, and i roast them on my Traeger. But i still make the broth with all the other ingredients and i make it all in a dutch oven. Anyone that tries this soup and doesnt like it shouldnt be in the kitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mondisaqt June 23, 2009

My husband and I have been searching for the perfect tortilla soup recipe since returning from a vacation to Mexico. I read a review that it was similar to a soup from Puerto Vallarta. So true! This is an authentic, delicious soup recipe and I followed it exactly except that I blended all of the vegetable chunks at the end so the only chunks in the soup were the chicken and toppings. Our search for the perfect soup is over! Thank you for your fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsfernie May 06, 2007

This is the closest thing to what my DH and I had in Puerto Vallarta. I've also tried replacing the chicken w/ black beans and it was awesome! Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
froti April 19, 2007

Overall very good. I never made a version quite like this... usually corn tortillas are added to the soup during cooking so that they "dissolve" and give it a nice texture. This was a very brothy chicken soup texture, colored and flavored with a hint of tomato & chipotle with adobo. Tomatoes are blah this time of year, so I used half a can of Ro-Tel Tomatoes instead. Worked great and gave it some spice. The tablespoon of oil is too much IMO, I found myself scraping some of the oil from the surface of the soup. I'd say that 1 teaspoon is plenty. You are only cooking a slurry with it, you don't need much. Also, I made the chicken broth and shredded chicken the night before to save time. Good, and I'll keep this recipe and make again. MUST have the cilantro & avocado with this. No exceptions. Also, use good corn tortillas. Our favorite are El Miagro (they come in a paper package).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet January 31, 2007

Excellent soup, authentic flavor. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. January 29, 2007

Can I give this recipe more than 5 stars please?? As a born and raised San Diegan now in the midwest (by the way of KY,WA, & TX) courtesy of the US Army, I have really missed real authentic Mexican flavor...this totally has it! Is almost exactly like the tortilla soup the old boyfriend used to make...and he was a chef that was born, trained and lived in Mexico. Outstanding! A lengthy list of ingredients but TRY IT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 January 14, 2007

Awesome! Perfect amount of spice and TONS of flavor depth! I used MJ cheese as I had some that needed to be eaten and I left out the avocado- family wont eat them! More for me! :) thanks for a wonderful recipe GW! You ROCK!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) December 12, 2006

AWESOME! Be careful b/c the chipolte(s) can make it spicy...I added 2 thinking no biggie (I'll only use one and follow your directions exactly next time) and it was muchos caliente, but so so so good. We loved it and will be our Tortilla Soup standby from now on...thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com November 17, 2006
Chicken Tortilla Soup