Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    353 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 353

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2010

      This was my first time cooking any sort of Indian food & it was delicious! Also, very easy for a beginner cook like myself. I did change a few things with the recipe. After marinating, I cooked the chicken on the top of the stove instead of grilling. I also subbed a few things based on what I had on hand: coconut milk for cream & diced tomatoes instead of paste. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is a reliably awesome recipe. I, too, use boneless, skinless chicken thighs because they are more tender after stewing. I also have come to skip the step of grilling the chicken. I just put all the chicken pieces, along with the marinade, in the sauce, and then simmer slowly for an hour or two. That method ups the spiciness and thickness of the final productm as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Very good. A little thin and not as flavorful as the one at my favorite Indian restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      definitely needs tikka paste for more intense flavour and wheres the handful of crushed cashews?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Great1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I made masala before but it wasn't near as good as this! So tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I used yogurt in the sauce as well... and it didn't turn out very tasty. :( Unfortunately it ended up feeling like more work than it should have been... I'll update and give some stars once Ive tried the recipe with the cream instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Do yourself a huge favor and double or triple this recipe and freeze a portion for a rainy day. This is an amazingly, unbelievably, stupendously good dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I'm not sure why I didn't review this earlier. Maybe I was too busy eating the leftovers and telling anyone who would listen how good it is. This is one of the best dishes I've ever had. Period. I've made it for two other people, and they feel the same way. YUM! The first time I made this it seemed to have a lot of steps and took me awhile to get my head around it. My only recommendation is reading through the recipe a few times to make sure you understand what happens when. Bear in mind that it DOES take awhile to prepare (so worth it). I used chicken tenderloins instead of breasts. The skewers and broiler pan sounded like way too much work, so I marinated them in a glass pie pan. After the marinating period I removed some of the marinade (but definitely not all) and put the pie pan under the broiler, and it turned out great. When I went to buy the "minced ginger" I ended up with what I assume is a ginger paste. It has the consistency of mustard although it called itself "Minced Ginger". I used 1 tablespoon of that in place of the actual minced ginger root.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      I made this tonight for my fiance who was coming down with a cold as I know that he loves Indian food, to make him feel better. As soon as he took his first mouthful, his eyes became like saucers, and he couldn't stop raving about how amazing it was! I'd never made Indian food before, but I liked the 'easy to prepare' marinade and grilling idea for the chicken. I didn't have the skewers, but lined a baking tray and grilled them under a medium grill, turning 1/2 way through for about 15 minutes. Completely forgot to go out to the store and pick up coconut milk, but the whipping cream turned out just fine. When I first added the cream, I was concerned that the sauce was a little pale, so I think I compensated by adding a bit more tomato sauce/additional chile powder/cumin to colour it up a bit, so it probably turned out a little spicier than the original recipe. Picked up yoghurt which had a little honey in it by mistake, so the marinade smelt quite yummy, too. All in all, a wonderful recipe that has my fiance purring like a kitten. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Wow, wow, wow! I have been a regular visitor to Recipezaar for a long time now but this is my first time to review. I must add my two cents worth and say FANTASTIC, tasted like my favourite Indian restaurant dish... but with the inclusion of 99% fat-free yoghurt I suspect it's also a lot healthier to boot!! Served it with "Bhindi (ladyfinger) Masala" and homemade garlic naans..... OUTSTANDING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Great recipe and very easy to put together...everyone enjoyed it. I used boneless chicken thighs, but next time will try it with chicken breast. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Great, we all loved it. Its a little spicy for the kids though, i guess we will just have to toughen them up to it. I did find the recipe a little difficult to follow the first time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I did everything as written except I substituted coconut milk for both the yogurt in the marinade and the heavy cream in the sauce. This *really* is delicious. Don't forget the fresh cilantro as garnish; it really adds a nice element to the final product. Think of using the cilantro as you might use parmesan on pasta dish: just have a bunch of it out for people to add to their liking. Thank you for the recipe! Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Absolutely amazing! After reading reviews I used coconut milk in place of the whipped cream at the end, and it was great. I had never used coconut milk before and did not realize it was not sweet. Next time I may use plain yogurt as I typically have that on hand and the taste is similar. I can't wait to make this again. I did add extra cayenne and shakes of hot pepper sauce, so next time I may double the jalapeno as we like it very hot. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Wow, this was amazing...the depth of flavor from the spices was amazing. Cheaper than indian restaurant by far! Only thing I would change is maybe try a lighter cream sauce..it was a tad too rich (lite coconut milk like others seemed to prefer might work) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      This dish was FABULOUS! My boyfriend devoured it and we are having the left overs tonight. Everything was perfectly spiced (if you don't like spicy stay away from this dish!). The only thing I did differently was double the sauce because we like to dip naan in it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This is great! We like a lot of sauce so I doubled the tomato sauce and the whipping cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Oh yum! This was delicious! Nice and spicy, but not too spicy. Though I did give the little ones a bit of chicken after it had been grilled and before it simmered in the sauce and it was too spicy then for them. They cried. But after it had simmered, they had no problem. We served it up with Naan (20361) and Jeera Rice (230158). Perfect meal!! And, and we used goat yogurt, olive oil instead of butter and goat milk instead of whipping cream because of allergies. The guests did not complain! Too yummy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      The chicken by itself, without the sauce, tastes amazing. I used a jarred masala sauce from TJs but my family was ready to eat the chicken without the sauce, it was that good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 18

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes