371 Reviews

I have made this recipe a number of times now and it is truly better than the chicken tikka at the local Indian restaurants. I completely agree with those who suggest halving the salt in the sauce however [you can always add more to taste as the sauce cooks down]. I have also made this recipe without the garam masala and it still tastes amazing. I will often add roasted root vegetable slices and bell pepper to the mix before serving. If you like your tikka really spicy like I do suggest adding 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper to the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwiikye October 02, 2012

Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
THE BOSS September 29, 2012

My husband likes Tikka Masala more than I do so I'm going by his rating. Thanks to all the comments, next time I will try coconut milk instead of cream. I may also try adding onion & green pepper to the sauce. We like spicy food so the spiciness was just fine for us. I found that my "simmer to thicken" time was about 25 min or more - not 5 min - maybe a typo?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kona763 September 07, 2012

Loved this Chicken Tikka recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it! A question though, could you replace the whipping cream with yogurt? Just looking for a little healthier option.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlondeGuru August 12, 2012

I didn't have cumin, but even without it this sauce is amazing. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.Luna June 23, 2012

This has become one of my favorites. Soooo delicious. I love to add sweet potatoes, peas, and sometimes bell peppers. I usually use a whole can of light coconut milk instead of whipping cream to cut a few calories and stretch out the sauce a bit. It still comes out fairly creamy if you use greek yogurt to marinade the chicken. Like others suggested, I simply saute the chicken with the jalapeno and garlic before adding the ingredients for the sauce. It turns out FABULOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turkeyrose June 14, 2012

Very similar to butter chicken, just a spicier version, really. Was very good and very very simple to make! Enjoyed it over some basmati rice. I'm the only one who enjoys Indian food in my family so I didn't get any opinions on it. I love cooking Indian dishes because the leftovers are even better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaylaketchup June 07, 2012

Excellent flavor and consistency!! After reading many reviews, I altered the process slightly and I think result was just as good. I DID create the marinade (but only half the amount), and marinated chicken chunks in it. Then just cooked chicken with garlic and jalapenos in a fry pan, with whatever marinade stuck to it; then adding remainder of sauce ingredients as instructed once chicken was cooked throughout. I cut back the cream to only 1/2 cup, since there was volume in the marinade. This IS SPICY, even with only 1/2 a jalapeno. If you have mild palate, lessen or omit the jalapeno and just add ground red pepper to the finished product as needed. EXCELLENT! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EppiRN May 28, 2012

The recipe turned out so well!!!! thanx

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabrina atttique April 19, 2012
Chicken Tikka Masala