Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    342 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 342

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2010

      Oh my goodness... we loved this so much. Indian food is a recent discovery for us and I am so happy to be able to make this at home!! The chicken alone was fabulous and the sauce was to die for. The only thing I did different was to use coconut milk for the cream. It's very spicy, next time I might leave out the extra jalapeno to cut the heat a little. We served it with brown rice and paratha bread to dip in the sauce... YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Delicious for sure. I didn't bother with skewers just marinated the pieces then cooked them. Turned out perfect thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Awesome recipe. To cut fat, I reduced the sauce a little and skipped step 7, then stirred in fat-free yogurt before serving. Also skipped the salt and didn't miss it. This masala is so good, you could use it on plain chicken and it would still make an excellent meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      I love Chicken Tikka Masala and had not yet found a really good recipe... until this one! It was incredibly easy and delicious! I will defiinitely add this to my regular recipe roataion. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      My husband loved this! I used reduced fat coconut milk and 2 peppers. We always get "hot" when we order out. THANK YOU for this GREAT recipe. I will be making this for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Awesome recipe! It tastes and looks just like one would get it from an Indian restaurant but it is more spicy. My grandmother couldn't eat it for that reason but I've always liked spicy foods so it was good for me. I also replaced the cream with coconut milk but I ended up adding more than just a cup. The sauce was too tomato-y (and a bit acidic) so I diluted it with more of the coconut milk. I also accidentally bought peach yogurt instead of plain but I used it anyway and it turned out fine with no hint of peach flavor at all. I suspect it might have lent a sweetness to the sauce that it otherwise wouldn't have had. Also, the cilantro was a great addition -- really enhances the overall flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Holy Toledo! Look, mom! I'm a cook!!!! If you didn't know better, you would really think I knew what I was doing! Great recipe. My husband calls this a real 'keeper'. I'm pretty impressed with myself...who knew? Thanks for this recipe! It makes us all look good..even us novices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Yummy! Used coconut milk as I didn't have any cream. Also, skipped the skewers and broiled the chicken. It was delicious - will be making it part of our regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I didn't rate because I didn't make the whole recipe. I was just looking for the marinade. I chunked up my chicken, marinated and broiled it. Then I froze it in single serving bags for easy weeknight meals for myself with jarred tikka masala sauce to make a single serving. But I have to say how wonderful the seasonings are on the chicken! Wow... YUMMY! I'm going to HAVE to try the full recipe now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Delicious, I baked the chicken for convenience. I used the coconut milk as well. A definite keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Awesome! I used half and half instead of cream. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

    • on March 08, 2010

      My family loved it! More than enough for a family of 4, and we eat...I used 3/4 of the spices called for in the marinade. The kids-9 and 11-liked it too. Said spicy but good. I only had half the cream, so I substituted sour cream for the rest. Still, just tasty and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      The taste was great! Next time though I will follow the directions and use the cream instead of the coconut milk that another user suggested. Just a personal preference. I think the recipe directions should be clarified though. After soaking the bamboo skewers. It should call for the marinade to be mixed and then chicken skewed and marinated for one hour. Right now if you didn't read it through carefully, you would start your sauce an hour ahead of when you needed too. Just a suggestion for the beginner cooks that might not be as experienced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This recipe tastes identical to the one at our favorite restaurant. This is my husband's favorite meal to eat out. Now we can make it at home for about 1/10 of the price. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I was really pleasantly suprised by this recipe, definitly will use coconut milk instead of the heavy cream next time but delcious! I don't know how hot this dish is originally but I added to ghost chili's to it. Next time I think if I add anything it'll just be one, but really good! For sure going to do this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I made this recipe with a few tweaks and it was yummy! I used Quorn Chik'n Tenders in place of meat (I'm a vegetarian). I couldn't find plain yogurt, so I used vanilla. I was afraid that 2 tsp of red pepper would be too much, so I only used about 1/4 tsp and it still had a kick. I didn't have whipping cream and happened to come across the suggestions to use coconut milk, so I used that (light version). It was great on Jasmine rice. Will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      My son has made this three times and promised to make it for our dinner tonight but hot sun and cold beer spoiled THAT plan ! I ended up making it and found it so simple for such amazing results. I chopped up the chicken, marinated it, made the sauce and just slid the raw chicken into the sauce. It worked perfectly although my son (the critic) said it would be better if I fried the chicken next time. It's delicious and so authentic tasting and I'll be making it again. Feb 16th 2010 I made this again and seared the marinated cubes of chicken in a hot pan before finishing them in the sauce. Like my son said-this is MUCH better and worth the few minutes extra work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      this is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      My family loved this! It's pretty close to the Chicken Tikka Masala at our favorite Indian restaurant. Even though the flavors were right on, it lacked a certain depth of flavor. I think next time I will toast the spices in a dry pan before adding them to the garlic/jalapeno mix. Also, I think my Garam Masala might have been past is prime. I followed the recipe except I cooked the chicken on a cast iron pan on the stove (due to weather) and used light coconut milk instead of cream. I served it with Basmati rice and naan. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites