Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    347 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 347

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2010

      This is an excellent recipe! Instead of putting the chicken on bamboo skewers and cooking it on the grill, I opted to boil it on the stove top in the marinade. It was delicious. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      This recipe is AWESOME. Just absolutely awesome! This is actually better than we've had in restaurants. We make our own Garam Masala, double the sauce, and add a dash of coconut milk - replacing the cream entirely with it was too much for it. Making it again tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Wow, 5 stars for sure!! I made a couple of small changes. I halved the amount of red pepper- we love love love heat in our food, but I thought that 2 tsp might be a tad too hot. And for the sauce, I forgot to buy a jalapeno, so I put in some regular old bell pepper and added a dash of red pepper to the sauce instead. My husband grilled the chicken, and we thought it was wonderful. I would like to try using coconut milk as some others have suggested. Thanks for posting this recipe, we will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

    • on April 14, 2010

      I've tried making Indian dishes before and this one turned out the best so far! It was very tasty. I also like Kiwi Girl didn't bother with the skewers and just cooked the chicken, then added it to the sauce after it was cooked. Also, because my DD is allergic to dairy, I used soymilk as a replacement for the yogurt in the marinade. It turned out just fine. Also, used coconut milk in place of the whipping cream. It was easy and yummy to make. The cilantro really adds to the flavor too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Oh my goodness... we loved this so much. Indian food is a recent discovery for us and I am so happy to be able to make this at home!! The chicken alone was fabulous and the sauce was to die for. The only thing I did different was to use coconut milk for the cream. It's very spicy, next time I might leave out the extra jalapeno to cut the heat a little. We served it with brown rice and paratha bread to dip in the sauce... YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Delicious for sure. I didn't bother with skewers just marinated the pieces then cooked them. Turned out perfect thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      Awesome recipe. To cut fat, I reduced the sauce a little and skipped step 7, then stirred in fat-free yogurt before serving. Also skipped the salt and didn't miss it. This masala is so good, you could use it on plain chicken and it would still make an excellent meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      I love Chicken Tikka Masala and had not yet found a really good recipe... until this one! It was incredibly easy and delicious! I will defiinitely add this to my regular recipe roataion. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      My husband loved this! I used reduced fat coconut milk and 2 peppers. We always get "hot" when we order out. THANK YOU for this GREAT recipe. I will be making this for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Awesome recipe! It tastes and looks just like one would get it from an Indian restaurant but it is more spicy. My grandmother couldn't eat it for that reason but I've always liked spicy foods so it was good for me. I also replaced the cream with coconut milk but I ended up adding more than just a cup. The sauce was too tomato-y (and a bit acidic) so I diluted it with more of the coconut milk. I also accidentally bought peach yogurt instead of plain but I used it anyway and it turned out fine with no hint of peach flavor at all. I suspect it might have lent a sweetness to the sauce that it otherwise wouldn't have had. Also, the cilantro was a great addition -- really enhances the overall flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Holy Toledo! Look, mom! I'm a cook!!!! If you didn't know better, you would really think I knew what I was doing! Great recipe. My husband calls this a real 'keeper'. I'm pretty impressed with myself...who knew? Thanks for this recipe! It makes us all look good..even us novices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Yummy! Used coconut milk as I didn't have any cream. Also, skipped the skewers and broiled the chicken. It was delicious - will be making it part of our regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I didn't rate because I didn't make the whole recipe. I was just looking for the marinade. I chunked up my chicken, marinated and broiled it. Then I froze it in single serving bags for easy weeknight meals for myself with jarred tikka masala sauce to make a single serving. But I have to say how wonderful the seasonings are on the chicken! Wow... YUMMY! I'm going to HAVE to try the full recipe now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Delicious, I baked the chicken for convenience. I used the coconut milk as well. A definite keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Awesome! I used half and half instead of cream. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

    • on March 08, 2010

      My family loved it! More than enough for a family of 4, and we eat...I used 3/4 of the spices called for in the marinade. The kids-9 and 11-liked it too. Said spicy but good. I only had half the cream, so I substituted sour cream for the rest. Still, just tasty and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      The taste was great! Next time though I will follow the directions and use the cream instead of the coconut milk that another user suggested. Just a personal preference. I think the recipe directions should be clarified though. After soaking the bamboo skewers. It should call for the marinade to be mixed and then chicken skewed and marinated for one hour. Right now if you didn't read it through carefully, you would start your sauce an hour ahead of when you needed too. Just a suggestion for the beginner cooks that might not be as experienced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This recipe tastes identical to the one at our favorite restaurant. This is my husband's favorite meal to eat out. Now we can make it at home for about 1/10 of the price. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites