361 Reviews

Not like this recipe needs another rave review, but I want to be able to find it to make it again! This turned out really well for us. I used half and half instead of the cream. I also reduced the ground red pepper to just a sprinkle so that everyone could enjoy it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen December 12, 2014

I love this recipe! I didn't have fresh jalapeno, so I subbed chipotle (smoked jalapeno). A teaspoon is enough to lend a subtle, smoky flavor that is wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmuller435 November 03, 2014

Who needs a restaurant when you can make this fabulousness at home? This is by far the best recipe for chicken tikka masala that I've tried. I made it per the instructions - if you're not afraid of spice, this is excellent. I served it over brown rice with a little saag paneer on the side. Best meal I've had in a long time. I will absolutely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
takagi September 22, 2014

I made this exactly as directed. I did have to go to an Indian grocer to get garam masala. While I was there I picked up some Tandori naan. I served it with multi grain and wild rice, coleslaw, and the naan. It turned out very well. Next time I will leave in the seeds and membrane from the jalapeno to kick it up more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith September 20, 2014

How can you be a Tikka Masala snob about a dish that's considered peasant food? This recipe is a good one, though - we've made it several times over the years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rockamama September 12, 2014

This was very, very tasty! The change I made -- and I wouldn't do it again -- was to reduce the red pepper to 1.5 tsp. I would have liked this just a bit spicier, so next time I will follow 100%!<br/><br/>The marinade on the grilled chicken was superb, and would be fabulous all on it's own. With the grill hot, we placed some naan on for a few minutes until a bit toasty with the bubbles in the bread starting to brown. Yum!<br/><br/>I plan on measuring out and combining the spice ingredients in small packages to have on hand for a put-together-quick meal. <br/><br/>Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitan August 31, 2014

Hands down, best Chicken Tikka Masala recipe out here! Only thing I do different is....I don't use the jalepeno. That way, the whole family can eat and enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary D. June 26, 2014

Anyone who says this is 5 stars as written lacks taste buds. This was so bland I had to summons some sort of black magic to make it edible. While what I did made it really good - it called for several rounds of adding stuff so I can't even share what it is I did. Do not make this if you're used to having quality tikka.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimlal June 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I were very excited to try this recipe! We followed the instructions to the "T"... well as they say, hindsight is always 20/20. We deeply regret adding that jalapeno. The food was so hot we were not capable of eating it (and he loves spicy food). It would have been nice to taste the flavors of all the different spices in this dish. We might try it again, but with no jalapeno, or maybe just a portion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeaberish June 16, 2014

I made this with SHRIMP instead of chicken --- DELICIOUS. I marinated it the same exact way minus the yogurt and skewers. It was so easy, I would definitely make this again and will try using coconut milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veronicafaubert May 07, 2014
Chicken Tikka Masala