356 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very, very tasty! The change I made -- and I wouldn't do it again -- was to reduce the red pepper to 1.5 tsp. I would have liked this just a bit spicier, so next time I will follow 100%!<br/><br/>The marinade on the grilled chicken was superb, and would be fabulous all on it's own. With the grill hot, we placed some naan on for a few minutes until a bit toasty with the bubbles in the bread starting to brown. Yum!<br/><br/>I plan on measuring out and combining the spice ingredients in small packages to have on hand for a put-together-quick meal. <br/><br/>Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitan August 31, 2014

Hands down, best Chicken Tikka Masala recipe out here! Only thing I do different is....I don't use the jalepeno. That way, the whole family can eat and enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary D. June 26, 2014

Anyone who says this is 5 stars as written lacks taste buds. This was so bland I had to summons some sort of black magic to make it edible. While what I did made it really good - it called for several rounds of adding stuff so I can't even share what it is I did. Do not make this if you're used to having quality tikka.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimlal June 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I were very excited to try this recipe! We followed the instructions to the "T"... well as they say, hindsight is always 20/20. We deeply regret adding that jalapeno. The food was so hot we were not capable of eating it (and he loves spicy food). It would have been nice to taste the flavors of all the different spices in this dish. We might try it again, but with no jalapeno, or maybe just a portion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeaberish June 16, 2014

I made this with SHRIMP instead of chicken --- DELICIOUS. I marinated it the same exact way minus the yogurt and skewers. It was so easy, I would definitely make this again and will try using coconut milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veronicafaubert May 07, 2014

Thanks to the many wonderful reviews, I dared give this recipe a try - my first attempt to cook Indian food! I cut back by 1/2 on the jalapeno, red pepper & black pepper to reduce the heat and it was perfect for us. I used Thai canned full-fat coconut milk and we liked the texture very much. We grilled the chicken on skewers and thought that added flavor and nice texture to the meat. When my husband as sopping up the last bit of sauce on his plate with Naan bread, I knew I had a winner! Thanks to the Food.com community for sharing your recipes & your suggestions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasGal #2 March 31, 2014

Fantastic! I did what another reviewer suggested and skipped the marinade process and sauteed the chicken cubes in ghee and sprinkled it with Tandoori spice. That gave the chicken a lovely red color. I removed the chicken from the pan and sauteed onion, green pepper and ginger/garlic paste for a few minutes and proceeded with the recipe. As a side dish, I made Coconut Ginger Rice (Recipe is here on food.com.) Since that uses only 1/2 cup of coconut milk, I used the rest of the can in this, rather than using heavy cream. Since I didn't use the yogurt in the marinade, I used that as a garnish since this recipe was HOT!! My kids loved it though, but my husband is afraid to take the leftovers to work tomorrow. LOL.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN February 25, 2014

Excellent! This is one of my favorite Indian recipe. I like it with rumali roties or with idles/dosa. I'm going to try this at home and add coconut milk and the home made creamy & silky yogurt I regularly prepare in my MEC yogurt pot I got from mecware.US. Every time I cook chicken recipes in pure clay pots its always juicy and tender. It holds the nutrients in the food and the dishes taste fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Safecook February 13, 2014

more butter and ginger would be nice....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spice_queen101 January 22, 2014

This was my first time making an Indian dish. Tikka Masala is always my favorite when I go out. This recipe was pretty easy to follow. It turned out delicious and very flavorful. The sauce did seem to turn out pretty thick. I do prefer a bit more of a runny sauce that can coat my rice better. It would be nice to know what to do to thin it out without ruining the flavor. I thought maybe milk, but I wasn't really sure. Other than that we really enjoyed it. Thank you!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexandria W. January 06, 2014
Chicken Tikka Masala