Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    353 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 353

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2012

      Wow, great guide.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      Tried the recipe and it turned out so authentic. Except that mine was a little bit less sauce but the flavour was there. My husband said it was perfect. I will cook this again. Thank you for the recipe! And I'm taking some tips from other reviewers. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      I have made this recipe a number of times now and it is truly better than the chicken tikka at the local Indian restaurants. I completely agree with those who suggest halving the salt in the sauce however [you can always add more to taste as the sauce cooks down]. I have also made this recipe without the garam masala and it still tastes amazing. I will often add roasted root vegetable slices and bell pepper to the mix before serving. If you like your tikka really spicy like I do suggest adding 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      My husband likes Tikka Masala more than I do so I'm going by his rating. Thanks to all the comments, next time I will try coconut milk instead of cream. I may also try adding onion & green pepper to the sauce. We like spicy food so the spiciness was just fine for us. I found that my "simmer to thicken" time was about 25 min or more - not 5 min - maybe a typo?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Loved this Chicken Tikka recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it! A question though, could you replace the whipping cream with yogurt? Just looking for a little healthier option.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I didn't have cumin, but even without it this sauce is amazing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      This has become one of my favorites. Soooo delicious. I love to add sweet potatoes, peas, and sometimes bell peppers. I usually use a whole can of light coconut milk instead of whipping cream to cut a few calories and stretch out the sauce a bit. It still comes out fairly creamy if you use greek yogurt to marinade the chicken. Like others suggested, I simply saute the chicken with the jalapeno and garlic before adding the ingredients for the sauce. It turns out FABULOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      Very similar to butter chicken, just a spicier version, really. Was very good and very very simple to make! Enjoyed it over some basmati rice. I'm the only one who enjoys Indian food in my family so I didn't get any opinions on it. I love cooking Indian dishes because the leftovers are even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

    • on May 28, 2012

      Excellent flavor and consistency!! After reading many reviews, I altered the process slightly and I think result was just as good. I DID create the marinade (but only half the amount), and marinated chicken chunks in it. Then just cooked chicken with garlic and jalapenos in a fry pan, with whatever marinade stuck to it; then adding remainder of sauce ingredients as instructed once chicken was cooked throughout. I cut back the cream to only 1/2 cup, since there was volume in the marinade. This IS SPICY, even with only 1/2 a jalapeno. If you have mild palate, lessen or omit the jalapeno and just add ground red pepper to the finished product as needed. EXCELLENT! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      The recipe turned out so well!!!! thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Very yummy, will make again and I'm not even a huge fan of indian food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Seriously fantastic recipe! My hubby has told me NO MORE going to Indian restaurants cos this is even better! Thanks tgobbi for a really lovely dish! I didnt have enough time to marinate it as long as required but it still tasted wonderful...put in 4 chicken thighs for just the 2 of us so there were some left overs which tasted even better the next day! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      I liked this and my husband loved it! He said it was "A List" which he doesn't say too often. I cut the cayenne in half, but it was still too spicy for me and the kids... so I will have to cut back on it again or the jalepeno when I try it again... and I will be trying it again! I did make some changes, all based on previous reviewers, but I think it probably tasted pretty much as the original recipe would have! I will continue to use this recipe as a base for getting a recipe both me and my husband love. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Not quite what I was looking for in a Tikka Masala, but not horrible. I found that I needed to add more butter, Garam Masala and even some ginger to get a bit more flavor out of it. I think I'll poke around and try some different recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      I have tried countless Chicken Tikka Masala recipes and they never tasted quite right - until now. This is suberb! I only put 1Tsp of cayenne in the marinade, and subbed red pepper for the jalepeno in the sauce but otherwise made as given.

      I'm marinading the chicken to make it again right now, can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Absolutely amazing. I've made this recipe 4 times so far, and it is wonderful. I have tried to grill and broil the chicken and found that both taste about the same. I will stick with broiling because grilling is too hard to clean up for me and the outside blackens too quickly and the inside doesn't cook as thoroughly. I have tried various levels of heavy cream or half and half, and my favorite is only use half the cream and use half and half for the other half. The cream really helps balance out the spice, so I won't skimp on the cream because my husband doesn't like it too spicy. I always make 50% more sauce than chicken, because I like the sauce so much on my rice.
      I eat this with basmati rice (I use the rice cooker and put the basmati rice in like any other rice, except I add a pinch of whole cumin seeds.
      I recently made this for a potluck and my Indian coworker says it's better than hers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      I don't own a grill & the boyfriend & I really like having extra sauce so once I marinated the chicken I dumped it all into the pan to cook together & OMG it is AMAZING. Just as good as eating at the local Indian restaurant. Now I just have to perfect naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      I am the only person in my family that likes Indian flavors so whenever I have a weekend by myself I make this just for myself! One year I made it for my birthday meal and forced others to eat it because i could - it was my birthday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes