Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    353 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 353

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2014

      My boyfriend and I were very excited to try this recipe! We followed the instructions to the "T"... well as they say, hindsight is always 20/20. We deeply regret adding that jalapeno. The food was so hot we were not capable of eating it (and he loves spicy food). It would have been nice to taste the flavors of all the different spices in this dish. We might try it again, but with no jalapeno, or maybe just a portion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      I made this with SHRIMP instead of chicken --- DELICIOUS. I marinated it the same exact way minus the yogurt and skewers. It was so easy, I would definitely make this again and will try using coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      Thanks to the many wonderful reviews, I dared give this recipe a try - my first attempt to cook Indian food! I cut back by 1/2 on the jalapeno, red pepper & black pepper to reduce the heat and it was perfect for us. I used Thai canned full-fat coconut milk and we liked the texture very much. We grilled the chicken on skewers and thought that added flavor and nice texture to the meat. When my husband as sopping up the last bit of sauce on his plate with Naan bread, I knew I had a winner! Thanks to the Food.com community for sharing your recipes & your suggestions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Fantastic! I did what another reviewer suggested and skipped the marinade process and sauteed the chicken cubes in ghee and sprinkled it with Tandoori spice. That gave the chicken a lovely red color. I removed the chicken from the pan and sauteed onion, green pepper and ginger/garlic paste for a few minutes and proceeded with the recipe. As a side dish, I made Coconut Ginger Rice (Recipe is here on food.com.) Since that uses only 1/2 cup of coconut milk, I used the rest of the can in this, rather than using heavy cream. Since I didn't use the yogurt in the marinade, I used that as a garnish since this recipe was HOT!! My kids loved it though, but my husband is afraid to take the leftovers to work tomorrow. LOL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      Excellent! This is one of my favorite Indian recipe. I like it with rumali roties or with idles/dosa. I'm going to try this at home and add coconut milk and the home made creamy & silky yogurt I regularly prepare in my MEC yogurt pot I got from mecware.US. Every time I cook chicken recipes in pure clay pots its always juicy and tender. It holds the nutrients in the food and the dishes taste fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      more butter and ginger would be nice....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This was my first time making an Indian dish. Tikka Masala is always my favorite when I go out. This recipe was pretty easy to follow. It turned out delicious and very flavorful. The sauce did seem to turn out pretty thick. I do prefer a bit more of a runny sauce that can coat my rice better. It would be nice to know what to do to thin it out without ruining the flavor. I thought maybe milk, but I wasn't really sure. Other than that we really enjoyed it. Thank you!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      This is my favorite in the Restaurant and it is my favorit at home. It cam out perfectly all three time I cooked it. Twice I cooked the marinaded chicken on the stove and it came out good but when I skewred the chicken and put in on the grill the flavors just seemed to pop and the marnade was not washed away but the fluids in the pan. Make extras because the left overs are just as good if not better. Makes a great cold sandwich filler to the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Wow! I am an American and enjoy all types of ethnic foods but Indian is both my husbands and my own favorite. We even had it overnighted from our favorite restaurant to us on our wedding day so we could have it the next day. I have attempted to make this dish many times and this is the closest I have ever come to if not better, restaurant quality. Ok about this recipe...I read many of the recipes and made these tweaks.<br/>1. Didn't want to grill and only wanted to use cook top method.<br/>2. Marinated chicken as directed and then tried to remove as much marinade as I could but found it difficult as it is thick, so the pieces were pretty much covered in it when I put them in the pan to cook.<br/>2. Heated the pan with butter, garlic, added all spices, added double the tomato sauce and then chicken. Mixed really well. Brought up the heat and then slowly started to add half heavy cream and half & half (save on calories...yea right). Turned down to low and simmered. Added a pinch more nutmeg but next time, will add even more.<br/><br/>I like my Tikka to be slightly sweet, so added golden raisins to sauce.<br/><br/>I used Jasmine rice and added golden raisins as well.<br/><br/>Yes this is very spicy, so next time I will cut back on black pepper or paprika. If you don't like "heat", do it your first time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      About a year ago I tried Indian cuisine for the first time and immediately fell in live with it. After eating out at local Indian restaurants on a regular basis I decided I have to try my hand at making some of those delicious dishes myself. This is the first recipe I've ever tried and it couldn't have been any more perfect! The taste and texture were spot on. The only change I made to the recipe was to withhold the red pepper as neither my wife nor I like our food too spicy. I will definitely make this recipe again and recommend it to anyone who wants to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2013

      Soooo Tasty!! <br/> Sooo easy to make!!<br/>We used the coconut milk too.<br/>I loved this dish and it has a real authentic taste that will WOW your friends and family. <br/> TIP !!!<br/>Don,t forget the fresh CILANTRO to garnish on top It kicks it up that extra notch. BAM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      As a fanatic of fine Indian cuisine, I beg you, do not 'dumb' down this recipe. Indian food is supposed to be spicey, afterall, it's Indian food! Also, as any grill fanatic will tell you, grilled meat just tastes better! It's worth the time and effort. I alternated chicken, oniion, red, and green pepper on the skewers. This recipe is simply outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I have never tasted Chicken Tikka Masala, but it always looked delicious in the magazine pictures, and I always look for new chicken recipes to add to our repertoire, so I decided to give this recipe a try and I am so glad I did. The recipe is 4 servings and there are 3 of us, so I thought we were going to have a leftover lunch portion for one of us for tomorrow. The entire family loved it and DH who usually is very tentative when I try a new recipe went back to the pot and scooped out everything to his plate before we even started the meal. I broiled the chicken and was not disappointed, it charred very nicely and we did not miss the grilled flavor. I will go back and marinate and broil another batch or two of this chicken and freeze, so that when we feel like having it in the middle of the week, all I have to do is make the sauce and reheat the chicken right in the sauce. I will also double the sauce next time, it was soo good. Thank you so much for sharing, this is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This wasn't what I was looking for. Maybe chicken tikka masala is just different around here. One of my guests liked the spiciness of it, while the other thought it was too spicy (but he really doesn't like spiciness). The rest of us were just ok with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

    • on June 19, 2013

      This is the BEST chicken tikka masala recipe I ever came across! <br/><br/>The only thing is that the cinnamon is a bit too much for people in my family, but I personally love it. Sometimes I lessen the amount and sometimes I keep it as it is. <br/><br/>Thank you for this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      This was excellent! After reading some of the other reviews I lowered the heat by using 1/4 tsp red pepper in the marinade and then reducing the amount of jalape?o in the sauce to 1/4 jalape?o. It still had plenty of heat but not overwhelming. I also used shrimp instead of chicken and just added it to the sauce and cooked a few minutes until the shrimp were done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I have been making this recipe for the past year & did'nt realize I had not given a review for it. So here it is... It's very rare that you find a recipe for something that you love to order when you go out that tastes just as delicious, but this recipe does just that. It is the best. I use about 2 1/2lbs. of chicken and double the sauce. Comes out perfect every time. Thanks for posting this great recipe. We make this at home all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      Loved it! Very tasty just like restaurant! V little left! Defo make again! 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Whew! Spicy :) but, good :) Left overs are just as spicy...almost too much. I had doubled the recipe and had only used one jalapeno... but it was a good sized one. I may take others advice and cut that and the cayenne in half next time. It is really good though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes