361 Reviews

We are HUGE Indian food fans and this is one of our favorites, I have tried to make this for many years and its always good but just not quite right! This was by far the best I've done so far! It was great! Thank you for this, I will be using it over and over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissFit13 August 24, 2009

This was spectacular! I made almost as written and it turned out wonderful. The only thing I did differently was saute the chicken instead of grill, because we don't have a grill, and it was just great. I was a bit surprised how the marinade congealed a little when I sauteed the chicken, but I just threw it in the strainer when it was done cooking to get rid of the excess liquid and congealed bits. That was entirely my own doing, so just a word of warning if you saute instead of grill! The only reason I can't give it five stars is because my local Indian restaurant makes the best tikka masala in the world I think - but this is as close as I'm ever going to get to recreating it at home, and it was amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thus CW Spake August 20, 2009

Though I've only made it once so far, this wonderful recipe already wins the title of "favorite." Why? Because it's cheap, easy, and just plain fantastic. I let the chicken marinate overnight. We don't have a grill at present, so I just baked the chicken in the oven for about 15 minutes, then tossed it in the sauce to simmer. Per other reviewers' suggestions, I doubled the sauce and used coconut milk rather than half-and-half. I also substituted crushed red pepper flakes for jalapeno. Finally, I added a little sugar to sweeten it up. I served this over basmati rice with Pattikay's Naan (#203261), and it was just fantastic! My fiance loves this chicken tikka masala recipe even more than the one we usually orders at our favorite Indian restaurant. You guessed it--we'll be saving our money from now on. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elabby August 09, 2009

Amazing flavor! The marinade for the chicken makes it so flavorful in such a short time. I used much less red and black pepper as I don't like things spicy and it was perfect for us. The sauce is also incredible. I used all fat-free half & half for the cream and it was super rich and delicious. I also think the cilantro is what makes it. This is a new favorite! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 04, 2009

update! i made a video blog about how to make this.. and about how much i love this recipe! videos and pictures, check it out: http://legallyeating.com/2009/07/16/tikka-masala-a-long-and-winding-road/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melewen July 16, 2009

I'm giving this only 4 out of 5 because I only made the marinade for the chicken and did not finish with the sauce. The marinade was excellent - the cinnamon really added great flavor and aroma!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillianm18 July 06, 2009

absolutely WONDERFUL! I've never had Indian food before, and I really loved this dish. I didn't include the jalepeno or cilantro for personal preference, and it still turned out awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweet tooth 23 June 24, 2009

This was DELICIOUS! I was leary when I started the marinade because of the yogurt but I shouldn't have been worried. The only things I did differently was to use half the chicken and 1/2 the marinade and to omit the jalapeno because my grocery store didn't have any. I made the full amount of sauce. I'm astounded that I made something that tasted so much like it does at a restaurant the first time out. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann June 10, 2009

I made half the marinade for two chicken breasts but the entire sauce recipe. It is GREAT! Served it with Naan Bread and Lentil Sambar for a wonderful meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 08, 2009

Quite time consuming for not a large quantity. The taste was a little too spicy for me as well, and that was after cutting out half of the red pepper! Thanks for posting, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny June 07, 2009
Chicken Tikka Masala