368 Reviews

I made masala before but it wasn't near as good as this! So tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bri #2 December 16, 2009

I used yogurt in the sauce as well... and it didn't turn out very tasty. :( Unfortunately it ended up feeling like more work than it should have been... I'll update and give some stars once Ive tried the recipe with the cream instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omJane December 12, 2009

Do yourself a huge favor and double or triple this recipe and freeze a portion for a rainy day. This is an amazingly, unbelievably, stupendously good dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glitterik November 24, 2009

I'm not sure why I didn't review this earlier. Maybe I was too busy eating the leftovers and telling anyone who would listen how good it is. This is one of the best dishes I've ever had. Period. I've made it for two other people, and they feel the same way. YUM! The first time I made this it seemed to have a lot of steps and took me awhile to get my head around it. My only recommendation is reading through the recipe a few times to make sure you understand what happens when. Bear in mind that it DOES take awhile to prepare (so worth it). I used chicken tenderloins instead of breasts. The skewers and broiler pan sounded like way too much work, so I marinated them in a glass pie pan. After the marinating period I removed some of the marinade (but definitely not all) and put the pie pan under the broiler, and it turned out great. When I went to buy the "minced ginger" I ended up with what I assume is a ginger paste. It has the consistency of mustard although it called itself "Minced Ginger". I used 1 tablespoon of that in place of the actual minced ginger root.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MilliMoMo November 23, 2009

I made this tonight for my fiance who was coming down with a cold as I know that he loves Indian food, to make him feel better. As soon as he took his first mouthful, his eyes became like saucers, and he couldn't stop raving about how amazing it was! I'd never made Indian food before, but I liked the 'easy to prepare' marinade and grilling idea for the chicken. I didn't have the skewers, but lined a baking tray and grilled them under a medium grill, turning 1/2 way through for about 15 minutes. Completely forgot to go out to the store and pick up coconut milk, but the whipping cream turned out just fine. When I first added the cream, I was concerned that the sauce was a little pale, so I think I compensated by adding a bit more tomato sauce/additional chile powder/cumin to colour it up a bit, so it probably turned out a little spicier than the original recipe. Picked up yoghurt which had a little honey in it by mistake, so the marinade smelt quite yummy, too. All in all, a wonderful recipe that has my fiance purring like a kitten. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squirrelscomehither November 14, 2009

Wow, wow, wow! I have been a regular visitor to Recipezaar for a long time now but this is my first time to review. I must add my two cents worth and say FANTASTIC, tasted like my favourite Indian restaurant dish... but with the inclusion of 99% fat-free yoghurt I suspect it's also a lot healthier to boot!! Served it with "Bhindi (ladyfinger) Masala" and homemade garlic naans..... OUTSTANDING!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammy J November 12, 2009

Great recipe and very easy to put together...everyone enjoyed it. I used boneless chicken thighs, but next time will try it with chicken breast. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet'n More! November 08, 2009

Great, we all loved it. Its a little spicy for the kids though, i guess we will just have to toughen them up to it. I did find the recipe a little difficult to follow the first time though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter M November 07, 2009

I did everything as written except I substituted coconut milk for both the yogurt in the marinade and the heavy cream in the sauce. This *really* is delicious. Don't forget the fresh cilantro as garnish; it really adds a nice element to the final product. Think of using the cilantro as you might use parmesan on pasta dish: just have a bunch of it out for people to add to their liking. Thank you for the recipe! Will make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJBG November 03, 2009

Absolutely amazing! After reading reviews I used coconut milk in place of the whipped cream at the end, and it was great. I had never used coconut milk before and did not realize it was not sweet. Next time I may use plain yogurt as I typically have that on hand and the taste is similar. I can't wait to make this again. I did add extra cayenne and shakes of hot pepper sauce, so next time I may double the jalapeno as we like it very hot. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oelkesm October 31, 2009
Chicken Tikka Masala