Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    349 Total Reviews

    Showing 321-340 of 349

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2006

      Wonderful! Broiled marinated boneless chicken thigh pieces after marinating - sauce was outstanding - substituted 2 seeded serrano peppers (no jalopenas in frig :() - resulted in delicious sauce with mild heat. Prep was incredibly easy! Served with cucumber & onion raita & toasted naan bread! We mooped up all the sauce from our plates - pooches looked on with sad eyes- they seemed to know no clean-up duty for them tonight! Will make again for friends!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      I made this last night. It was soooo good! I didn't have any lemon juice so I used a splash of rum instead and it still tasted good. Next time I'll use lemon juice. I also cooked the chicken in the oven on a baking sheet for about 15 minutes. The thing that was weird was when the chicken was done, it had tons of juice on the tray. I would have added the juice to the sauce but didn't want my sauce to be too runny. I can't say for a fact that this is the best chicken tikka masala I've ever had because I haven't eaten it in about a year but this is a great at-home recipe. I will definitely make this again! This was an easy recipe, the toughest part of deboning and slicing up the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      This is so good! If you're a fan of Indian food, you'll love this. There is so much flavor in this dish. It's nice be able to make it at home instead of going out to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      Off the charts!!!! The minor changes I made were to broil the chicken on a foil lined sheet pan, added chopped red and green peppers when I added the "cream," and sprinkled in some cayenne because my jalapeno was not very spicy. I used fat free half and half with marvelous results. We ate it with rice and chile paste because there is no such thing as too spicy for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      I've eaten alot of Indian food with my husband & kids. They loved this recipe better than the many place's we've been!!! I did use cream. Only variation needed was I added 1 chopped yellow onion(I doubled recipe), then I sauted it in the butter then added the jalepenos and garlic. I also used crushed tomatoes (roma style) instead of tomatoe sauce, this made the sause thicker (and better than last time I made it). It also make's a huge difference the longer you let the chicken marinate. If your going to the trouble to make it, let it marinate at least 2 hours, then I baked it on a pan in the oven on low broil. I bought Indian Basmati Rice at local grocery store, followed package directions and added peas. This is a recipe that everyone has liked so far, even friends who'd never had indian food before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Absolutely great great recipe!!!! I doubled it as guests were coming over. It was my first time making Chicken as I don't eat it myself. However, I added a bit of red color to make it look more appealing to the guests. Regardless of the color--it was just too appealing--even my mouth was watering..so I tasted the curry and whooooooosh--it was awesome! I marinated it overnight and cooked it for 8 mins at 200 and then shifted it to 350 till the chicken was cooked (it was certainly my first time making it). Kept the skewers on a brownie pan while it was cooking (someone told me it would be faster). Then moved the chicken to the broiler for 2-3 mins and then took them off the skewers and added to the curry that was on the heat while the chicken was being cooked. (Made the curry ahead of time as well--for the taste to set in well). All in all---it was a GREAT recipe. Everyone absolutely LOVED it. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      This was delicious. I'm craving more right now. I'm a beginner cook and a little afraid to grill or broil, so i just cooked it in the oven for about 10-15 mins and it worked out just fine.. it was really good! Lots of thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Amazing. Followed recipe exactly, except to broil on a baking sheet.Very authentic tasting. Will be a staple in our house for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      THIS IS EXCELLENT! I usually make it on Sundays for a meal during the week. Kind of like chili, better the second time around! The only thing that I did different was that I did not add cream (fat puposes) so I just added a little more of the tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      Really good, I didn't use the cream in the sauce just to keep down the calories. Instead I tossed the finished chicken with a little more yogurt. Even my DH who doesn't like indian food (or at least says he doesn't) asked for thirds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      I love Indian food--the hotter the better. This was fantastic. I'll be making this again and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      This dish comes out just fine....I cut down on the spices and it was just right for our taste buds...I too skipped cream and add coconut milk instead..and the end result is wonderful. So thanks for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      woooh spicy. made it according to directions and it was just a smidge too hot for an everyday meal but it was good. found the marsala spice at walmart up here so that was nice. i will make this again but i will cut back the jalapeno and cayenne to make it easier to eat at night for the big meal. but wow better than the indian food restaurant near me. thanks tgobbi for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      My husband and I cooked this together, and it's got to be one of the tastiest dishes we've ever made. I marinated overnight, and it seems that made all the pepper really seep into the chicken, so it was really spicy -- just how we like it! We also used a pan for broiling rather than skewers. Thanks so much for this recipe; it will be making a regular appearance in my house for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      OK, I can't even cook and this dish is amazing. I already regret letting my mom take the leftovers home with her. I'd recommend halving the jalapeno and cilantro if you're prone to heartburn, but it's delicious just like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      I can not tell you how good this recipe is! I could not stop "tasting" the sauce as it cooked, and as the chicken marinated! I did manage to save some for our guests, and everyone raved about it and I had to print off the recipe for two of my friends. My dh was in heaven! Me to! This will be on our list of top recipes from now on! I can't wait to make it again next week. (I also grilled the meat on a baking tray to save time, and added a bit of sugar to the sauce).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      This is excellent! I substituted fresh ginger with powder ginger, instead of jalapenos I used cayenne pepper, I also added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the sauce. It is so good! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      Very nice recipe! Like most other reviews I used coconut milk instead of cream, I thickened it up a little too. Used chilli powder instead of red pepper and it seemed to work fine. We enjoyed this very much, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This was great! My wife loved it and she always gets the tikka at the Indian restaurants. More subtle flavors was her comment. Ours was very spicy. But due to a change in plans it marinated for about 36hrs. The chicken was beautifully tender. I think next time I will marinate overnight but cut back on the red pepper in the marinade.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      Awesome! I used half and half instead of the cream, and it was delicious all the same. I can imagine how good it would taste with the cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites