370 Reviews

This is delicious. Made it as stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes June 13, 2011

My husband and I LOVE Tikka Masala. Going out for dinner can be pricey, so this is just wonderful to have found this recipe! It is EXACTLY what we were looking for. It has all the flavor you will find in a restaurant quality. Really, Really good recipe! Thanks!!!
- We marinated the chicken for 3 hours and used Plain yogurt in place of the cream and you would never tell the difference except for the calories. Very good! Oh, and it's plenty spicey without the jalapeno too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R8chymomma May 24, 2011

My husband loves Indian food, so he kept requesting Tikka Masala dish. So I look over this recipe, and it came up super delicious! I made few changes though, I didn't add the chicken in skewers either grilled it. For the sauce, I added the following ingredients in a blender: 3/4 of an onion (cut in pieces), 2 tomatoes (cut in pieces), and 3 cloves of garlic peeled. Then I added the mixture into the pan along with the tomato sauce or paste- then the rest of the ingredients.... it came out incredible! The plain yogurt makes the flavor. I didn't add jalapenos. My kids loved it! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mytsygi May 14, 2011

Followed the instructions exactly, subbing only red pepper flakes for the jalapeno. It truly is restaurant quality - even my kids ate it. Practically a miracle. Making it again tonight but with tofu instead of chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodid April 25, 2011

Made this tonight and followed the recipe exactly. The chicken marinated in a few hours, and actually broiled the chicken on the skewers instead of sauteing like i did last time - it DEFINITELY tastes better when you grill or broil. The char-taste on the chicken really makes a difference. It's PERFECT! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick April 24, 2011

This recipe was delicious! We omitted the jalapeno so our toddler could eat it. We will make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alauranoelle April 07, 2011

Finally, a recipe that actually tastes like restaurant chicken tikka/butter chicken! I made it with a few changes: didn't have yogurt, so didn't use it. I definitely will use it next time, though. Omitted the jalapeño, which ended up being a good thing. The sauce was so hot that I added almost an entire can of evaporated milk (my cream substitute) to tone it down. I also added-and I know this sounds odd-about a teaspoon of sugar and maybe half a teaspoon of vanilla, which seemed to mellow the sauce slightly without taking away the spiciness. I will make this recipe again, and again, and again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lymac7 March 31, 2011

I made this last night following the recipe to the T. Came out great! It's a little on the hot side as some other reviewers have reported, however, if you like heat, it's definitely not too hot where it may ruin the dish. I think most of the heat was in the Marinade between the red & black pepper and the cinnamon, so if you want to cut some heat I would start there. I tasted the sauce before adding the chicken and it wasn't very spicy at all so if you're thinking about cutting the Jalepeno, don't (Jalepenos aren't that spicy compared with some other chilis). Maybe use a smaller jalepeno if you're very concerned. If you can get 2% or whole milk yogurt, go for it. Also, the Garam Masala can be picked up at Whole Foods for only $4. McCormick also makes it so you may find it in some supermarkets but for $4, Whole Foods is the way to go!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MilkyTech March 28, 2011

I made this recipe for the first time and it tastes just like our favorite Indian restaurant but without the excessive heat. In the marinade I cut the red pepper in half. In the sauce I eliminated the jalapeño as I didn't have one but added a pinch of red pepper. I doubled the sauce recipe based on other reviews. This recipe is awesome. I can't wait to make it again. If you can't access your Grill, use your broiler it works just as well

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindasarus February 08, 2011

AMAZING. My SIL made tikka masala from a jar, and it was very good, but I make everything from scratch. I tried this recipe tonight, and it just sings in your mouth! I thought I didn't like Indian food. This is going into the regular rotation. It's so easy too! I halved the cayenne in the marinade, and my jalapeno mysteriously vanished from the fridge, so I didn't have that, but I didn't miss it. It was just spicy enough for us (we're wimps) and our young children. So so so good. I served it with basmati rice and fresh naan. I also doubled the sauce bc we like extra for the rice and naan. When my SIL made it, she used yogurt in the sauce instead of cream to save on calories, and it was still fantastic. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamagrow February 03, 2011
Chicken Tikka Masala