Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    351 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 351

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2009

      so delicious! i didn't have any garam masala so left it out and ended up marinading the meat for 2 days. i used coconut milk instead of whipping cream. very very authentic tasting (and I"m so picky about copy-cat dishes)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      This was amazing and easy. I love Indian food, but can't afford our local Indian restaurant very often. This was very authentic. I took someone's suggestion of broiling the chicken and I marinated overnight. Thanks for a new favorite! Update: Made this again and again and have found it is very versatile. We had catholic friends in town, so I had to make a meatless version. I marinated paneer cheese instead of chicken (broiled it just like chicken) and added chic peas to the mix. It was very filling and we didn't miss the chicken at all. My friend raved and raved about it. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      This is absolutely amazing. We love it so much that the fiance' & I don't go out when we crave tikka masala anymore, we just included this into our weekly meal rotation! It really doesn't need any changes but I make a few for personal preference; no jalapeno or pepper (due to ulcer) & I replace the cream w/coconut milk like a few others have stated. Also, for the sake of convenience I skip the skewers & just cube the chicken, toss it in frying pan in butter or olive oil till brown (just a couple of minutes), drain, then add to the sauce just after the tomato sauce. I also have taken to adding a summer veggie mix (zucchini, cut green beans & carrots) at this stage too. This way the chicken (& veggies) can absorb a bit of the flavor as it simmers. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Not much new to be said with all the great reviews, except this is awesome with no changes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This tikka masala recipe is awesome! Tastes almost like the dish I get from a local Indian restaurant. Served with some naan bread from Whole Foods and basmati rice. SO GOOD! I did add a little more tomato sauce because the heavy cream can dampen the vibrant spices a bit. Plus I love extra sauce for dipping the naan bread. If you really like chicken tikka masala, try this. You will not be disappointed! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This was really good, be be warned it is VERY spicy as written. I like usually hot food and it was too much for me. Didn't even put the jalapenos in the sauce because I didn't have any. I will definitely make this again but tone the heat way down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

    • on March 14, 2009

      Simply amazing. I went through all the comments and made some changes to make it lower fat. I used plain nonfat yogurt and lite coconut milk. I also marinaded over night and broiled the chicken (technically I used turkey breast) in the marinade in a glass dish before I removed any excess liquid. It all turned out wonderful. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Holy Crap! Now I never have to go to my local Indian Restaurant again. Fan(freekin)tastic! Ok, now I did make a couple of changes... I subbed unsweetened coconut milk for the whipping cream because I know they use it in the tikkal masala at my local restaurant, then added 1-1/2 Tbls. sugar and 2 Tbls. finely chopped fresh cilantro. These minor changes made this dish an exact duplicate of the one at the resaurant. No more spending $16 for a single serving! Yeah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Excellent! The only change I made was to use table cream instead of whipping cream to lighten it up a bit. It was SO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

    • on February 25, 2009

      I usually give out 5 stars under 4 conditions- If the recipe is 1) easy 2) quick 3) delicious and 4) not in need of major alterations for taste. This one met all these conditions and I couldn't believe how authentic it tasted and how right on point the recipe was! This is coming from someone who grew up on Indian food. I think I finished cooking and eating within an hour, as I prepared the marinade before I left for work. Since it's cold outside, I just used a stove top grill pan- I do recommend not skipping the grilling part. Mind you, I am watching my weight so I subbed in the light coconut milk, used nonfat yogurt for the marinade and sauteed the garlic/jalapeno in nonfat cooking spray. Also threw in a dash of cardamom. Even with these low cal modifications, it was a hit! Can't wait to try the full fat version (smiles). Next time I make it, I plan to throw in some freshly cut tomatoes and have that simmer with the tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      I've never tried making an Indian dishes at home and haven't had this type of dish when I've eaten out so I have nothing to compare this with. Having said that, we loved this chicken! Since my husband's stomach can't handle really spicy foods anymore, I only use half a jalapeno and it was just right. The chicken was so tender and moist and the sauce was delicious. Because this dish was so good, it's given me the confidence to try other Indian dishes. I'm fortunate to live where there are many Indian markets and many fragrant fresh spices to try. Thanks for a really easy and flavorful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I made this dish last night and I don't think we expected it to taste like it did. It was pretty much the exact dish that we order when we go out. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This recipe was tastier than most versions I've had in Indian restaurants. I used ground serrano peppers instead of jalapenos and it was extra spicy, just how we like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This recipe was delicious! I did make a few minor changes as follows... Instead of Minced jalapeno I used Some whole thai chili's also I added about a teaspoon of sugar to the sauce and to thicken up sauce at the end i used about a 1/4 cup of water mixed with a tablespoon of cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This recipe was GREAT! I made this dish for my annual MLK dinner and my friends loved it. The one thing that I didn't add was cinnamon. I used 2 teaspoons of ginger that was already grounded. I used heavy whipping cream. I sure will make this dish again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      It was too cold tonight to grill, so I just baked the chicken. Also made a separate version with califlower and zuccini for my vegetarian daughter. Did a side of peas to add some greenery, a bit of plain rice and yummy!! I would say this dish could be much hotter - more jalepeno and red pepper and still be excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      this tasted just like my favorite restaurant, although the creaminess did even come close to what I'm used to. i used whole milk though, instead of cream, most likely my mistake. to compensate, i added plain yogurt to the sauce and a sprinkling of flour to thicken things up a bit. VERY DELICIOUS and hard to stop eating this!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This was fantastic! To lighten it up a bit, I used 0% fat plain Greek yogurt instead of whipping cream. The marinated chicken was great on its own, and is a nice recipe to have on hand to add to salads. When it's combined with the sauce, it's even better. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 18

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites