Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    351 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 351

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2010

      This recipe is my favorite Indian recipe so far... it tastes authentic! It's just like the Chicken Tikka Masala at my favorite Indian restaurant, and that's a first. I've made this recipe several times and found that instead of the marinading step, you can stir fry the chicken cubes in 2 tbsp of Tandoori Masala and it tastes just as good (if not better) and speeds up this recipe by quite a bit. Some other changes I've made to tweak it to my liking: I add small a white onion, one green pepper, 1tbsp of cayenne, and I substitute the 1 cup of whipping cream for 3/4 cup of half and half and 1/2 cup of plain yoghurt (still comes out very creamy). I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who craves a taste of India without having to go to a restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I've made this several times now and have learned a few things. 1) Grilling the chicken is an unnecessary step. Broiling is easier or you could just saute the meat with the garlic and jalapenos. 2) If you're using coconut milk instead of cream, go with the REAL high-fat milk, not the lite stuff. The difference in texture and creaminess is worth it. 3) I make this with sweet potatoes sometimes instead of chicken. Cube the taters and marinade, then grill in foil until they're nice and soft (but not mushy). Add them to the sauce once the sauce is almost done. 4) Halving the cayanne in the marinade is a good idea unless you are insane and really want to blow your head off. This is fantastic and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      I make this recipe once a month. It is my standard Chicken Tikka Masala recipe. I recently made it for the family. Friends of mine have often mentioned that this is their favorite Chicken Tikka Masala. It's better than many dishes I've had at restaurants. I agree with another reviewer who bakes and broils the chicken. I rarely grill it, unless there's someone I'm cooking for who loves to have chicken grilled. Don't worry about being too picky about certain creams/yogurt. I've used whipping cream, milk, yogurt, half/half, etc. People can never tell the difference. It's more noticeable if you don't use the right spices. Doing this review has made me crave some more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      This was SOO yummy! I used coconut milk, and about 1/2 a cup of fresh cilantro. This is definitely a recipe that is going into the books!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Very tasty! I found the jalapeno overpowered the other ingredients, and made the dish much hotter than the milder tikka masalas I'm used to. Next time I'll leave the jalapeno out and I think it will be perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Amazing! I doubled the sauce, added sliced onion and green pepper, and stir fried, the chicken instead of grilling. It was a HUGE hit! I cannot wait to make it with coconut milk!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      Pretty surprised this recipe got such high marks across the board--it's REALLY spicy. Most of you must have palates with a higher threshold for heat. Having eating chicken tikka masala dozens of times from a wide variety of restaurants, in both location and quality, this was the spiciest I'd ever had, hands down. I nearly quadrupled the tomato sauce and doubled the cream and it's still got a kick. I used cayenne for the crushed red pepper. Could that be it? What other types of crushed red pepper are there? It's a good recipe, but it needs tweaking to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      A delicious recipe!! I agree with the previous reviewer.... I just sauteed the chicken in the garlic and jalapenos as suggested.
      I didn't want mine so creamy, so I used 1/2 c half and half instead of 1 c whipping cream and I thought that worked out great!
      I left the cayanne and jalapeno quantities alone, but I love spicy food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Very impressed! I used 3 boneless, skinless thighs with half the marinade. Sub'd milk for cream. Also used my toaster oven to broil - very easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Loved it! Made it exactly as described. Don't let the long list of ingredients deter you. It is easy list and you'll be thankful once you taste the wonderful way all the flavors meld together!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM! I am a chicken tikka masala SNOT and this was so delicious. I have been trying to recreate this dish at home for alot of years and this is the best yet! THANK YOU!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2014

      Who needs a restaurant when you can make this fabulousness at home? This is by far the best recipe for chicken tikka masala that I've tried. I made it per the instructions - if you're not afraid of spice, this is excellent. I served it over brown rice with a little saag paneer on the side. Best meal I've had in a long time. I will absolutely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2014

      I made this exactly as directed. I did have to go to an Indian grocer to get garam masala. While I was there I picked up some Tandori naan. I served it with multi grain and wild rice, coleslaw, and the naan. It turned out very well. Next time I will leave in the seeds and membrane from the jalapeno to kick it up more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      How can you be a Tikka Masala snob about a dish that's considered peasant food? This recipe is a good one, though - we've made it several times over the years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      This was very, very tasty! The change I made -- and I wouldn't do it again -- was to reduce the red pepper to 1.5 tsp. I would have liked this just a bit spicier, so next time I will follow 100%!<br/><br/>The marinade on the grilled chicken was superb, and would be fabulous all on it's own. With the grill hot, we placed some naan on for a few minutes until a bit toasty with the bubbles in the bread starting to brown. Yum!<br/><br/>I plan on measuring out and combining the spice ingredients in small packages to have on hand for a put-together-quick meal. <br/><br/>Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      I have made this recipe about 1/2 a dozen times and love it. After making it exactly as written twice, I now add 1 teaspoon of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. It seems to enhance the flavor of the sauce and soften the finish. I also make this recipe with fat free milk rather than cream which significantly cuts down on the fat. Using the fat free milk rather than cream leaves the sauce pretty thin. To counter this, I have tried two methods. The first method I have tried is simmering the sauce on low heat for about 2 hours. This definitely helps. The 2nd method I have tried is to create a basic white sauce (1 T butter, 1 T flour. Melt butter and flour in pot together for about 2 minutes. Add 1 cup fat free milk. Stir/whisk frequently. Will thicken in 5-7 minutes) Add sauce ingredients to the white sauce. In order not to add additional fat to the recipe, I saute the garlic and peppers with a squirt of non-stick spray. Making these changes cuts the fat down to about 33% of total calories and the calories down to about 310 per serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      Hands down, best Chicken Tikka Masala recipe out here! Only thing I do different is....I don't use the jalepeno. That way, the whole family can eat and enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Anyone who says this is 5 stars as written lacks taste buds. This was so bland I had to summons some sort of black magic to make it edible. While what I did made it really good - it called for several rounds of adding stuff so I can't even share what it is I did. Do not make this if you're used to having quality tikka.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      My boyfriend and I were very excited to try this recipe! We followed the instructions to the "T"... well as they say, hindsight is always 20/20. We deeply regret adding that jalapeno. The food was so hot we were not capable of eating it (and he loves spicy food). It would have been nice to taste the flavors of all the different spices in this dish. We might try it again, but with no jalapeno, or maybe just a portion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      I made this with SHRIMP instead of chicken --- DELICIOUS. I marinated it the same exact way minus the yogurt and skewers. It was so easy, I would definitely make this again and will try using coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 499.0
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    58%
    Total Fat 32.2 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.8 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 206.3 mg
    68%
    Sodium 1425.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 41.2 g
    82%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    minced ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites