354 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is my favorite Indian recipe so far... it tastes authentic! It's just like the Chicken Tikka Masala at my favorite Indian restaurant, and that's a first. I've made this recipe several times and found that instead of the marinading step, you can stir fry the chicken cubes in 2 tbsp of Tandoori Masala and it tastes just as good (if not better) and speeds up this recipe by quite a bit. Some other changes I've made to tweak it to my liking: I add small a white onion, one green pepper, 1tbsp of cayenne, and I substitute the 1 cup of whipping cream for 3/4 cup of half and half and 1/2 cup of plain yoghurt (still comes out very creamy). I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who craves a taste of India without having to go to a restaurant!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimdtran80 October 12, 2010

I've made this several times now and have learned a few things. 1) Grilling the chicken is an unnecessary step. Broiling is easier or you could just saute the meat with the garlic and jalapenos. 2) If you're using coconut milk instead of cream, go with the REAL high-fat milk, not the lite stuff. The difference in texture and creaminess is worth it. 3) I make this with sweet potatoes sometimes instead of chicken. Cube the taters and marinade, then grill in foil until they're nice and soft (but not mushy). Add them to the sauce once the sauce is almost done. 4) Halving the cayanne in the marinade is a good idea unless you are insane and really want to blow your head off. This is fantastic and delicious!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa in CO April 24, 2010

I make this recipe once a month. It is my standard Chicken Tikka Masala recipe. I recently made it for the family. Friends of mine have often mentioned that this is their favorite Chicken Tikka Masala. It's better than many dishes I've had at restaurants. I agree with another reviewer who bakes and broils the chicken. I rarely grill it, unless there's someone I'm cooking for who loves to have chicken grilled. Don't worry about being too picky about certain creams/yogurt. I've used whipping cream, milk, yogurt, half/half, etc. People can never tell the difference. It's more noticeable if you don't use the right spices. Doing this review has made me crave some more!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpatel02004 September 02, 2012

This was SOO yummy! I used coconut milk, and about 1/2 a cup of fresh cilantro. This is definitely a recipe that is going into the books!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
levy8 January 13, 2013

Very tasty! I found the jalapeno overpowered the other ingredients, and made the dish much hotter than the milder tikka masalas I'm used to. Next time I'll leave the jalapeno out and I think it will be perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffeecat2150 May 19, 2010

I have made this recipe about 1/2 a dozen times and love it. After making it exactly as written twice, I now add 1 teaspoon of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. It seems to enhance the flavor of the sauce and soften the finish. I also make this recipe with fat free milk rather than cream which significantly cuts down on the fat. Using the fat free milk rather than cream leaves the sauce pretty thin. To counter this, I have tried two methods. The first method I have tried is simmering the sauce on low heat for about 2 hours. This definitely helps. The 2nd method I have tried is to create a basic white sauce (1 T butter, 1 T flour. Melt butter and flour in pot together for about 2 minutes. Add 1 cup fat free milk. Stir/whisk frequently. Will thicken in 5-7 minutes) Add sauce ingredients to the white sauce. In order not to add additional fat to the recipe, I saute the garlic and peppers with a squirt of non-stick spray. Making these changes cuts the fat down to about 33% of total calories and the calories down to about 310 per serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
php July 04, 2014

Amazing! I doubled the sauce, added sliced onion and green pepper, and stir fried, the chicken instead of grilling. It was a HUGE hit! I cannot wait to make it with coconut milk!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kit in NO February 17, 2013

Pretty surprised this recipe got such high marks across the board--it's REALLY spicy. Most of you must have palates with a higher threshold for heat. Having eating chicken tikka masala dozens of times from a wide variety of restaurants, in both location and quality, this was the spiciest I'd ever had, hands down. I nearly quadrupled the tomato sauce and doubled the cream and it's still got a kick. I used cayenne for the crushed red pepper. Could that be it? What other types of crushed red pepper are there? It's a good recipe, but it needs tweaking to me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Boy Named Sue Chef November 28, 2012

A delicious recipe!! I agree with the previous reviewer.... I just sauteed the chicken in the garlic and jalapenos as suggested.
I didn't want mine so creamy, so I used 1/2 c half and half instead of 1 c whipping cream and I thought that worked out great!
I left the cayanne and jalapeno quantities alone, but I love spicy food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael Chrin September 03, 2011

Very impressed! I used 3 boneless, skinless thighs with half the marinade. Sub'd milk for cream. Also used my toaster oven to broil - very easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AD #2 February 06, 2011
Chicken Tikka Masala