Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Thighs With Sweet Onion Balsamic Relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Thighs With Sweet Onion Balsamic Relish

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2008

      Delicious recipe. We cooked the chicken first then the onions, then put the chicken back in and did the rest. Was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      This is a great dish! I love that you can throw the chicken in raw, some days I need as few steps as possible :) I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      The whole family RAVED about this meal! I had a package of boneless skinless chicken thighs that I had thawed out unsure of exactly what I intended to do with them. This recipe was so incredibly easy and quick that it was on the table with some oriental noodles (they cook faster than regular pasta) and a garden salad in no time. As my 10-year old son said, "Mom, this one's a keeper!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      The simple and few ingredients in this recipe combine to make a powerfully flavoured dish that is quick and easy to throw together. Both the chicken and the onions are moist and tender. It's perfect after a long day, as the dish pretty much takes care of itself. Yum! Thanks Toni!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      This is a five star recipe all the way! I used bone-in, skinless thighs, browned them and then added the onion, vinegar, herbs and lots of black pepper. Turned out so good. This recipe will be repeated over and over in our home. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      So simple and sooo yummy one of the family's favs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      This was amazing! We used 3 skinless chicken thighs and added 1/2 lb chopped asparagus about 15 minutes before it was done. We had this on top of rice, but next time would just let it stand alone, or maybe serve it on top of a kohlrabi or celery root puree. Deeeeelicious!!!!!Thank you so much for posting! We'll eat this one often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      i wanted more than anything for this to turn out. i love balsamic anything, i love onions, and i loves me somes chicken. but this was bland and mediocre at best. it smelled wonderful on the stove, they all came running "whats that smell" and that was the end of that. blah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      make this all the time! easy and yummy. I add some chopped asparagus to the mix toward the end of the cooking time for a nice added crunch then serve over brown rice or cous cous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Very good. I made the chicken exactly as the recipe stated and served with buttery garlic noodles. My family liked it very much. This is going into my recipe file for future use. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I really enjoyed this dish. I added a twist. I added 3 finely chopped habanero Peppers and a bit of white wine. The sweet and the hot was great. It got warmer as the meal went on...Nice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Wonderful flavor and so easy to do. I used Apricot flavored Balsamic Vinegar. Even my DH who is not a fan liked this dish a lot. Since there was no amount or place to add I choose to omit the salt. I will be making this dish many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Love this way of preparing chicken thighs. I like to caramelize my onions for quite a bit longer than suggested, an extra 10-15 min. I also add extra balsamic. I like to serve it with couscous or quinoa and roasted broccoli. Thanks for a great, inexpensive staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Absolutely fabulous!! I didn't use the parsley, and I forgot the last teaspoon of balsamic, but it was still fabulous. I used thighs with bones. So after done cooking, I took the meat off hte bones and stirred it into the relish. Then I mixed this sauce with the "Lemon Pasta Lemon Pasta".. I used all the juice of a lemon accidently, and I made sure the lemon juice boiled for 30 seconds before whisking in the half and half so it wouldn't curdle. After mixing up the lemon pasta, I poured the Chicken sweet onion balsamic relish over it and stirred it and it was amazing! The sweetness of the chicken helped balance out the tartness of the lemon juice. I loved this. Thank you! UPDATE: Have made this several times. I usually serve with rice. We dont' eat a lot of meat but my kids love this one! They even eat the onions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Very tasty and easy to do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Great recipe...I was surprised how much sauce I ended up with....we really liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Thanks for this yummy recipe! I used a large yellow onion, boneless skinless chicken thighs, and forgot the salt & parsley - it still turned out great. This dish will be served in our house many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      We LOVED this!! Very easy to make, and YUMMY!! My hubby rated this an 8.5, which is a HUGE compliment! Thanks so much for sharing~~will definitely be making again! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Very easy to make & excellent! The onions were beautifully carmelized & the chicken was moist & delicious. I thought the Balsamic (sauce) may be too sweet - but was pleasantly surprised - definately recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This recipe is a winner! When the meat was cooked, I reduced the sauce over a higher heat - everybody loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Thighs With Sweet Onion Balsamic Relish

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.9
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    29%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 141.1 mg
    47%
    Sodium 152.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes