11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome recipe. I added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the apple mixture, and it tasted perfect. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer March 05, 2013

lovely flavour! We enjoyed this chicken very much, but I was disappointed in the apples, they got burned all around the edges, any that were not under the chicken were unedible. When i saw this was happening I turned the oven temp down to 400f degrees and cooked them a littel longer, about 45 minutes. I will make them again, but at the lower temp. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf December 14, 2008

I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I used McIntosh apples and left the skins on, and I didn't even have to mash them! They were the PERFECT balance of sweet and tart, too. I was super skeptical that this was going to bake in the amount of time given, and in the right way, but it did indeed. Leave it uncovered -- it works! So easy, so fast, and so GOOD! I had faith this was going to be good and invited friends to share this with us and they were equally as impressed. I think this will be making an appearance at dinner time quite often throughout the fall and winter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m a n t e e g a September 25, 2007

I am giving this five stars because the family loved it, and there are no leftovers! I didn't love love it - it was good, but I prefer some of the other recipes I make with chicken thighs, but it was nice for a change. It's a little more work for a week night supper than I usually do with all the apple peeling and chopping, but once the chicken is in the oven, the rest is pretty easy. I made a few minor modifications. I added a sliced onion as some others had suggested, and I left out the nutmeg because we generally find it too strong. I dusted the chicken thighs with a combination of flour, salt and pepper, and some garlic powder - I thought this would give them a nice crust, but it didn't, so I'd probably skip that next time. This is a good recipe if you want to use up some apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three October 10, 2013

I really enjoyed this. I used a mix of Gala, Golden Delicious, and Granny Smith apples. I also cooked mine in an oven-safe pan. I heated oil with the garlic, removed the garlic, and browned the chicken quickly to help build the flavor then put the apples under the chicken and popped it in the oven. I baked mine at 425* and it went about 35 minutes. Chicken was done, but still juicy and the flavor on the apples was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen November 21, 2011

This was a great meal for guests! I did use pork chops instead of the thighs because that's what I had on hand. I used a mix of gala and golden delicious apples, and added about 1/4 of an onion (chopped) into the apple/garlic mixture. Everyone really seemed to like it. I left out the nutmeg and cinnamon as a personal preference, and I'm glad I did. The sweet and tart from the apples & garlic was plenty flavorful. I also cooked this on the stove-top rather than baking in the oven. Served with roasted potatoes and broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug October 20, 2009

Very good recipe, and as a bonus, it makes my Vidalia Onion Chopper worth the money I spent on it. It made chopping the apples very easy. My only issue is that the chicken took a bit longer to cook than stated, at least in my oven, closer to 35 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneEye June 28, 2007

This dish was very easy to make and it was very delicious! The apple mixture was very good with the chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barcode's Chef June 03, 2007

Excellent recipe! We all enjoyed this dish very much. This is a very easy dish to prepare yet tastes and look like a very complicated dish. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks Phil Franco for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot August 05, 2006
Chicken Thighs With Roasted Apples and Garlic