Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken thighs with olives and basil Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken thighs with olives and basil

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2011

      Tried this recipe last night for supper...fabulous! I added capers, near the end of the main simmering stage (had them on hand and needed to use them up!), and that added a nice touch. I also substituted basil paste (the minced kind in a tube, found in the fruit & veg section of the refrigerated produce section of the grocery store) as I had no fresh basil available. All in all, wonderful and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      this is great - use kalamata olives ..every time I bring this to work for lunch everyone wants the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This recipe is Phenomenal! The chicken was very moist. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. The garlic was great in that it was like a roasted garlic that was soft and really good tasting. I simmered the chicken for longer -- 1 hour. But I put it on low and added more broth, wine so the taste will permeate throughout. Next time I will make it with rice to soak up more of the juices. My husband talked about this chicken dinner all night. THANK YOU! Definitely a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      This recipe is really, really good; the chicken turned out perfectly moist and tender, and even though the chicken thighs simmered for the last 25 minutes of the recipe, the skin retained much of its crispiness from the browning. The sauce in this recipe has such depth of flavor and I love the fact it uses whole cloves of garlic. When served, they were nice and soft; I just crushed them with my fork and mixed them into the sauce. I didn't have any white wine, so I used white grape juice. I agree with the other reviewer, Jan, this tasted like a gourmet dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Excellent recipe. Very easy and so good over rice. I didn't have the white wine so I skipped it and the dish was still wonderful. Tasted like a gourmet dish. This is definitely a keeper recipe for me. Thanks JustJanS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Since I used leftover Stewed Tomatoes Jefferson, Stewed Jefferson Tomatoes in place of canned tomatoes -- which already had lots of seasoning, I will just comment. This chicken was very tasty and easy to prepare. I had 4 enormous chicken thighs, so I let them simmer covered for almost 1 hour. The flavors were all complementary and DH and I enjoyed the first of 2 prepared meals !! Thanks, Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2004

      Great flavor,we love this dish.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      Stupendous, Jan S. I used 1/4 c dried basil since I didn't have fresh. Sounds like a lot but it was great. Also, because I like the saltiness & bite I used oil-cured olives split & pitted. Next time I'll serve it on brown rice; this time my wife decided she wanted some sweet potatoes that needed to be used. Delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      Yes this was delicious! it was a very tasty dish, and the olives gave it such a nice taste...I added 1 heaping Tbsp fresh garlic, I don't know weather that was 12 cloves or not, I did not have any white wine, so I subbed with red wine, we enjoyed this with home-made French fries on the side....this is a very good chicken recipe, highy reccomended...I will be making this again, thanks Jan for posting...Kittencal :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe, especially the olives and spices combination - very delicious. When I served it, I added mashed potatoes and salad to make it a rounded dinner. Also, I used less chicken and cut them into cubes which turned out quite well. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken thighs with olives and basil

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.7
     
    Calories from Fat 303
    59%
    Total Fat 33.7 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 157.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 825.3 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 35.1 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites