57 Reviews

I now have a new love of oven baked chicken!!! I have always cooked my fried chicken on the stove top, but this is so much easier and taste the same way my Mother made it!!! Less time being in the kitchen over looking and flipping!!! Thanks BK for another great recipe!! Made and reviewed for the "Best of 2010".

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 13, 2011

I made this on 11/28/10 for me and my Christopher. Twas super easy and super yummyful. :) I followed the recipe as it was, except I changed the bread crumbs to Frosted Flakes and the half and half to milk. I also only baked them for 35 minutes at 400F,since they were pretty thin. Will totally make again. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelissaPookie November 29, 2010

You don't need the farm to tell you how glorious this is, nor do you need the farm to say this is one easy recipe, you don't need the farm commenting on the excellent taste for so little prep and so little work. No you don't need it, but you are getting it anyway. This is an awesome recipe, simple to make, but certainly not a simple taste. I added paprika to the seasoning part, as suggested, by the author, and it was as grand as grand itself. Go ahead, make this. You will be euphoric you did! Made for *Herb and Spice Month Paprika* French Forum March 2010

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm March 01, 2010

I have made this recipe several times and I always get rave reviews. The only variation I made to the recipe was to use 1/2 seasoned crumbs and 1/2 panko crumbs...but it's the potato flakes that makes it really crispy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virginiabeachkb June 22, 2011

I quartered a whole chicken and allowed an hour too cook at 180C fan forced oven and cooked on a rack to allow the hot air to circulate around the chicken and it was nice and crispy and must admit the flavour of the instant potato was different (normally would not touch instant potato but in this case as part of the crumbing mix is was different and enjoyable), I did up the amount of the breadcrumbs and potato to 3/4 of a cup but honestly the extra was not needed and I did omit the garlic salt for garlic powder. Would like to try with just the thighes on the bone when the DH is on night shift as he really only likes breast meat (and the only way on the bone is to quarter a chicken) and thankfully the DS and the DM like the maryland (drumstick and thigh intacked). Overall an enjoyable chicken but one I would need to tweek just a little suit us better but would be happy to recommend. I must admit I really really enjoyed the wing part of the breast that was crumbed and wondered how the recipe would go as crumbed wings as a change from marinated wings - food for thought I think. Thank you Baby Kato, made for Everyday A Holiday.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 20, 2011

I made this recipe on 11/7/10 for mine and SO's dinner. Since there was only two of us, a few changes were made to the recipe. I only used two large thighs,1 egg, 1/3 cup each of the bread crumbs and potato flakes were used. I did use the seasonings called for in the recipe,also a 3/4 teaspoon of Hungarian Sweet Paprika was added.As for the butter/oil mixture it remained the same. For me, the baking time was " right on the money ". We both thought the chicken was very moist and tasty. Thank you for posting this recipe and, " keep Smiling :) "

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 08, 2010

This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe other then I didn't use the egg and milk. I just made the chicken wet with water and then added the coating. I also cooked mine at 350 for an hour and fifteen minutes. We all enjoyed this. I just wish I would have made a double batch. I loved the crispy crust but the chicken was very tender.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 16, 2010

It's about time I made this GF, all I can say is that it was very worth the wait. Crisp and flavorful on the outside while very moist and tender on the inside. In all honesty I can say that this is better than "real" fried chicken. I added some Greek seasoning to the coating mix but that was my only alteration. I truly just couldn't be happier with this recipe and it's yummy outcome. 5 stars all the way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 24, 2013

Delicious!! I used the seasoned bread crumbs from E-Z Seasoned Bread Crumbs. The baking time was perfect and the whole family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetjr October 16, 2013

Wonderful! The breading was crispy, delicious, and stayed on for me. Definitely in the weekly rotation. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samcakemom June 27, 2013
Chicken Thighs Oven Fried