Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Thigh Spareribs(well, sort of, lol) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Thigh Spareribs(well, sort of, lol)

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2004

      This is fantastic, and even if the list of the ingredients is long, you probably have it all in your kitchen. I cut up a whole chicken, as that is what I had and made it with that, bones in, because I was too lazy to take them out! Fantastic! Makes a lot of really tasty sauce too, plenty to put over rice and maybe broccoli. Tastes rather Asian to me, no doubt because of the ginger. This is a definite, easy, winner! Would be good with just a heap of wings too, or any other pieces you would have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      5 Stars all the way - so easy to make! And next time I'm going to make rice to go with this because the sauce was so so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      This was fantastic, I made it true to the recipe, perfect. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Yummy, yummy, yummy! I doubled the sauce... other than that I followed the recipe. Did I say yummy?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      This is a new favorite at my house. I make extra sauce to serve with brown rice, and it's great with green veggies of any kind. It also freezes well. Thanks for a super recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This recipe is a winner. I made it exactly as stated using boneless, skinless chicken thights. The recipe is so easy and tastes so good. I will be making again. Thanks for posting this recipe. Do you have any more worn pieces of paper in your recipe box!!!!!!! I also want to add that the leftover sauce is absolutely delicious the next day on oven barbecued chicken wings recipe 20960.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was really delicious and easy to prepare. It reminds me a little of General Tso's chicken or something of that sort. I used half white wine and half apple juice and kept everything else the same. Even my picky 2 1/2 year old daughter said, "More please!" after she finished her piece. Thank you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      i have made this a monthly, almost weekly dinner at my house... i love it!! husband loves it too! which is pretty amazing. it's simple and easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      This was so great!!! I made it for the crockpot!! I will use boneless chicken thighs next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This was a WONDERFUL blend of flavors and made a sweet/tangy sauce that stands on its own. I used low carb ketchup and brown sugar splenda blend to lower the calories and noone was the wiser.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Absolutely fantastic. The kids loved it too. I didn't change a thing and don't see any reason to. We will be enjoying this dish frequently! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This was wonderful! I used fresh ginger and added more garlic and crushed red pepper. I also used the Splenda brown sugar mix, to try and cut calories. My sauce did not thicken up like I would have liked (maybe because of the splenda mix), so next time I will increase the cornstarch at the end. But the taste of the sauce was wonderful. I highly recommend trying this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, using the bones to give you something to hold on to. The red peppers were just enough to leave a nice taste. I agree with others about the oriental flair. Plenty of sauce for rice, mine did thicken up nicely. I made tri- colored peppers with it along with long grain rice. Superb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2004

      Very nice recipe with an Asian flair. I made the recipe a little different, but I'm sure the results are similar. I substituted apple sauce for the apple juice, tomato sauce for the ketchup, and eliminated the cornstarch and water called for at the end of the recipe. I seared my thighs on my stovetop grill, just to brown. Then I put them in my crockpot, made up the sauce with my substitutions, and poured it over the thighs. I let it all simmer on high in the crockpot for around 4 hours. The sauce thickened up nicely without the cornstarch. Will use this recipe again. Would be lovely over just about any type of meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      oh my YUM! all gone between me and my hubby. I roasted potatoes and maple glazed carrots and it just came out ab fab! it's a keeper:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This is a very simple recipe to prepare and the family enjoyed it. I used drumsticks and thighs and a couple of boneless breasts for the white meat lovers. Thx for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I have been cooking for my very fussy husband for about 5 years and this is the first time he ever enjoyed something that I made. I would give it 10 stars if I could just because of the rarity. I am not a big fan of thighs but they were tender and better than times I have had them baked int he oven. I thought there was plenty of sauce. it didn't cover the chicken while cooking but I just flipped the chicken half way through to make sure it all touched the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      The whole family enjoyed this. We used skin on and bone in thighs and cooked the directed amount of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Our new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Thigh Spareribs(well, sort of, lol)

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.7
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    33%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 68.0 mg
    22%
    Sodium 869.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 20.0 g
    80%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites