12 Reviews

Healthy and delicious! Used bulgur in place of brown rice. Which required cutting the bulgur to 1 cup and increasing the lemon juice to an 1/8 of a cup and increasing the cooking time to 17 minutes. Rubbed garlic all over the chicken about 10 minutes before cooking so the flavor would cook in. Like the way the garlic chicken and pan drippings accented the lemon and veggie base. Very good will be making again. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 09, 2009

Easy, healthy and delicious! I had 2 large chicken breasts that I cut into tenders, and used a extra clove of garlic. This had such great flavor and the lemon added a nice fresh touch. This came together quickly and all in one pot - loved it - thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 07, 2009

This was very good and healthy. I used frozen spinach so I omited about 1/4 c of liquid and cooked slightly longer. The lemon flavor was wonderful and I used fresh thyme from my garden. So good. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally May 12, 2009

Excellent dish, I used chicken thighs sliced in thirds, increased the garlic and added in some cayenne pepper for heat, also I doubled the complete recipe, so good, thanks for sharing bluemoon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 04, 2009

I made this but left out the mushrooms and lessened the amount of spinach. It was ok but I don't think I would make it again; it was pretty strong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmt425 September 22, 2009

We loved this so much!! Great flavors with the lemon etc. This will be made many times in the future! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 5/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen May 22, 2009

Well I wish I had made this earlier ~ absolutely wonderful! Great flavor and easy to make ~ LOVE the lemon. DH gave it a 5++ rating! Served with a salad of baby greens and citrus vinaigrette. A definite keeper. Thanks bluemoon. Made for PRMR, March/April 2009!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative April 14, 2009

Nice, simple light dish to dinner tonight. I left out the sea salt, added a pinch parsley flakes. The lemon flavor was excellent, per kids request they want me to try with white rice. Flavors were great, and a definate keeper for me. Made for 1-2-3 hit wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker March 21, 2009

Quick, simple, tasty, healthy...what's not to love? We are big fans of dark meat around here, so I made this with b/s thighs instead of breasts. We really enjoyed how the rice was flavored by scraping up the pan drippings into the broth mixture--mmmm. I have to admit I forgot to add the lemon zest, but the lemon juice on its own added a nice subtle flavor. I think the onlly thing I'll change next time is to salt and pepper the chicken before cooking instead of adding it to the finished dish. OH, and DH didn't get the memo about the platter so we just served this straight out of a cast iron skillet ;). Thanks for posting! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian March 11, 2009

I made this for DH's lunch last night. He really liked the light taste of lemon with the other spices. Very quick and easy for me to put together! I think this would be great with broccoli as well as the spinach. Thanks bluemoon! Made for 1.2.3 Hits

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom March 09, 2009
Chicken Tenders With Lemon-Spinach Rice