Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tamale Casserole (Cooking Light) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tamale Casserole (Cooking Light)

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2012

      DELISH!!! I used Enchilada Sauce for the enchilada sauce and Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat for the corn muffin mix. I also added about a cup of canned black beans to the chicken and mixed them with the enchilada sauce instead of just spreading it on top of the baked corn bread mixture. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      My suggestions, based on other reviews: -I used 1 egg instead of the substitute -Cook the cornbread mix until it starts to get golden brown on the top (longer than 15 minutes) -Next time, I'll use a rotisserie chicken (even better if they have a southwest flavored one) for ease and for better chicken flavor. It was REALLY tasty - my husband and I ate most of the casserole dish that night and all that was left was only enough for lunch the next day! I liked it with plenty of Cholula on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      This was simple & yummy. Used regular canned corn instead of creamed, and it worked out fine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      So delish! I use this the day after I've made chicken taco meat in the crockpot, such a good way to use up those leftovers and it gives it an extra spice in the flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      DH and I liked this recipe a lot. He said, however, that SW chicken pot pie was still his favorite... Trust me if you like this recipe try: 82276. We will be making this again, though, seeing as I'm in charge of the ol' kitchen.... Couple of important notes. Per other reviewers definitely cook your first layer of corn bread for longer than 15 minutes. I thought it would cook more on the second round in the oven and was a bit less cooked than I would have liked. (next time!) I also added slightly cooked onion, and a seeded jalepeno, roasted red pepper and roasted pablano onto th second layer with the chicken. It was great! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Deconstructed tamales! Very good and came together quite easily. I used green enchilada sauce, since that was what our supermarket had in stock -- but then I like green sauces, so that was no hardship. The only thing I wished was that the corn muffin mix was a little less sweet -- but that may have been the particular brand I used (does anyone happen to know whether/which brands are less sweet?).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2014

      Excellent recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Very good and east to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Good and quick to fix! Used Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat and my own enchilada sauce from the freezer. Also some leftover smoked chicken. Next time I'd cut the sugar in the corn muffin mix to 1T. Will definitely make this again. Love CL recipes! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Very good and so easy to make! I used one egg instead of the egg substitute ( just like a reviewer before suggested) and it worked just fine. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      Love! This is so good and so easy! I made it just like the recipe said and will be doing so again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      Very yummy and eqsy! I liked the sweetness to ease up the spicy. I topped with some fresh cilantro from my garden

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Mmmm. This stuff is great! If it's even possible for this to taste better than it already does, the leftovers are even better the next day...if you have leftovers! Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      I enjoyed this recipe very much. My husband's one complaint was that it was a bit too sweet. Then he ate 3 pieces. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      I made this with a few small modifications. I added green bell pepper and diced fresh jalapenos in place of the green chili's. I added one small can of whole corn in addition to the creamed. Then I made as stated and I felt that it was WAY too mushy for my taste and I cooked for an additional 10 minutes. I will not make again...the concept is yummy tho!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      So stinking good! I cooked the cornbread mixture longer, about 25 minutes, after reading reviews. This turned out wonderful! Would taste good with some garnished green onions. Much thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Outstanding... everybody in my family had seconds! I used the 16 oz can of enchilada sauce and it was still wonderful. My cornbread set great in 15 minutes, but my oven runs hot. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Thanks, seesko! We LOVED this recipe! It was the perfect combination of sweet, spicy and savory. My BF commented that it was surprisingly flavorful for a "light" recipe, which is a huge complement from him! We enjoyed the leftovers as well! Thanks, again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Very good recipe! I split this into 3 separate casseroles - 1/2 was made with chicken, and two other individual casseroles were made - one with chicken and the other with leftover refried beans for the resident vegetarian. The flaor was mild, but very tasty. I made it ahead, and cooked it as needed. I think it would freeze well too. It is very flexible - you could add anything you'd like to make a mexican casserole - shrimp, black beans, olives, salsa, anything! I used an egg in place of the egg substitute. I originally gave this four stars, but have changed it to five stars because my husband, gave this rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tamale Casserole (Cooking Light)

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.8
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    31%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 48.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 946.5 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes