47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DELISH!!! I used Enchilada Sauce for the enchilada sauce and Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat for the corn muffin mix. I also added about a cup of canned black beans to the chicken and mixed them with the enchilada sauce instead of just spreading it on top of the baked corn bread mixture. A definite keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katdi January 01, 2012

My suggestions, based on other reviews: -I used 1 egg instead of the substitute -Cook the cornbread mix until it starts to get golden brown on the top (longer than 15 minutes) -Next time, I'll use a rotisserie chicken (even better if they have a southwest flavored one) for ease and for better chicken flavor. It was REALLY tasty - my husband and I ate most of the casserole dish that night and all that was left was only enough for lunch the next day! I liked it with plenty of Cholula on top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siren Chef April 20, 2010

This was simple & yummy. Used regular canned corn instead of creamed, and it worked out fine. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 November 06, 2010

So delish! I use this the day after I've made chicken taco meat in the crockpot, such a good way to use up those leftovers and it gives it an extra spice in the flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhathaway May 17, 2010

DH and I liked this recipe a lot. He said, however, that SW chicken pot pie was still his favorite... Trust me if you like this recipe try: 82276. We will be making this again, though, seeing as I'm in charge of the ol' kitchen.... Couple of important notes. Per other reviewers definitely cook your first layer of corn bread for longer than 15 minutes. I thought it would cook more on the second round in the oven and was a bit less cooked than I would have liked. (next time!) I also added slightly cooked onion, and a seeded jalepeno, roasted red pepper and roasted pablano onto th second layer with the chicken. It was great! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 April 13, 2010

Deconstructed tamales! Very good and came together quite easily. I used green enchilada sauce, since that was what our supermarket had in stock -- but then I like green sauces, so that was no hardship. The only thing I wished was that the corn muffin mix was a little less sweet -- but that may have been the particular brand I used (does anyone happen to know whether/which brands are less sweet?).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole March 21, 2010

Excellent recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 27, 2014

Very good and east to do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 16, 2013

Good and quick to fix! Used Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat and my own enchilada sauce from the freezer. Also some leftover smoked chicken. Next time I'd cut the sugar in the corn muffin mix to 1T. Will definitely make this again. Love CL recipes! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama August 03, 2013

Very good and so easy to make! I used one egg instead of the egg substitute ( just like a reviewer before suggested) and it worked just fine. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
countrycowgrl10 February 10, 2013
Chicken Tamale Casserole (Cooking Light)