Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tacos

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2012

      We've been enjoying this recipe since 2008! Kids love it, adults love it! If you can start with a pre-cooked chicken, it's super fast! Sometimes I use frozen cilantro cubes from Trader Joe's, to give it more cilantro flavor. And instead of 1 cup green salsa, I use a whole jar of Trader Joe's green salsa. Super good with cotija cheese too. This recipe keeps and reheats well too. My 3 boys love it!! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Delicious. I subbed the cilantro for 1/2 tsp of coriander powder and used the chicken to make fantastic enchiladas. Will use frequently.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I made this last night and it was very good! Followed the recipe except I didn' thave green chili salsa so I added a little bit of ortega green sauce and I used regular oregano because I didn't have mexican oregano. The lime added to the meat made it even better. Very easy to make...thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I have made these several time and my family loves them - don't forget the fresh lime squeezed over the meat before serving! Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      5 stars for flavor!

      2 things.. It take about 30 - 4 minutes to simmer away most of the liquid. 2) I HIGHLY suggest getting the mild salsa verde instead of the medium unless you like your tacos HOT. I used medium and halved the chili powder and it was still pretty spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Easy and excellent! I followed the instructions... except I couldn't find any green chili salsa in the grocery and subbed a regular salsa. I'm not so hot eating soft tacos neatly so next time, I think I'll do a taco salad instead. ;) There will definitely be a "next time" b/c this is very tasty and easy to prepare.... and a great way to use leftover cooked chicken (or turkey)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Soooooooooo Good! I had Chicken Tenders and lightly browned them in some EVOO.Addes some carrot, celery, onion and some Mexican Seas. Chicken broth and some white wine. Simmerd until chicken was tender enough to shredd. I had Green Tomatillo Salsa in my Pantry (not sure if it is like Green Chilli Salsa?)but It tasted good. LOL.Other than that all as listed. Will try the Salsa called for next time! Use regular/Greek Oregano. I realy cannot see much difference in the taste and would not use it enough. Thanks for this wonderful recipe, which I will use a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Ozman These were wonderful. Made them tonight and everyone loved them. I doubled everything hoping for leftover's but don't think that will happen lol Thanks for sharing, Will be in my keeper file. *p.s. I couldn't find the mexican oregano* can anyone help me for next time? Thanks again for a great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Super DELISH! The whole famn damily loved this, including the picky kids. I poached the chicken breasts in a little water w/ 1/2 sliced onion & garlic. Added some chicken bouillion seasoning. Saved the liquid cuz it was flavorful and browned. Dumped everything else as suggested into the skillet. The only adjustment I made was cutting back to 1t of chili powder. I didn't want to kill the kids. Served w/ sauteed sliced sweet red bell pepper, sliced onions, lettuce, pepper jack cheese, black olives. Warmed the soft flour tortillas on a grill pan. YUM! It's a keeper. Many thanks Ozman!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Better tacos than any Mexican restaurant! I use "El Pinto" green chile salsa. Made it once with Rotel tomatoes - DON'T! Stick to the original recipe! If I'm in a hurry, I buy a rotisserie chicken from the deli or boil some chicken breasts. My brother tried it at my house and now he makes this every Sunday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I used cooked, shredded chicken thighs for this recipe. I simmered the mixture uncovered to help evaporate some of the liquid. Very good tasting chicken filling with just the right amount of heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      We loved these tacos. Excellent blend of spices and so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      Very yummy! I cooked the chicken with the sauce and then shredded. We also added vidalia onions as a topping. It states it would serve 6-8, but it's really more like 4!! My hubby rated this a 7.5!! Thanks for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Very good tacos! We pigged out on these as the grandchildren really enjoy them! Made following the recipe and wouldn't change a thing on this one. Flavors are perfectly blended to make one awesome recipe! We had along with some Mexican style rice which went so well with it. Kids and I had a feast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      Very good! I used Herdez salsa verde. There was a whole lot of liquid left after 20 min. I cooked it on low way longer then the recipe called for. (Helped with the extra liquid and I figured the flavor would be better if it cooked longer.) My kids and husband all enjoyed it. I was very happy with this and will be making it again and passing on to family and friends. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      This was fantastic! I couldn't find green chili salsa so I used my fave, Jacks Special. I will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Great flavor. Definitely a keeper. I had too much liquid, though, even after 1/2 hour of simmering, so ate it over my Mexican rice with cheese and tomatoes on top. Wonderful!!!! Next time I'll cut back on the broth a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Made these last night for my husbands' Cinco De Mayo birthday dinner with home- made taco shells (well, puchased corn tortillas, cooked up on the stove in hot canola oil and shaped in to taco shells~ "recipe /method" on this site also. BIG HIT! I roasted a whole chicken the day before and shredded up 3 cups (maybe a bit more). Everyone just raved and went back for seconds and thirds. I will definately make these again and again! Thanks for the recipe! ~Patricia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I am rating this recipe on technique alone because I didn't have the ingredients exactly. That being said, I had cooked several chicken breasts earlier in the week in the crockpot and was looking for a way to use up the last 2.5 cooked boneless skinless breasts. I used this recipe with the substitution of regular salsa, and no green chilis. My tacos were wonderful!! This method/recipe brought the breasts back to life and made wonderful moist and tasty chicken tacos out of some lifeless cooked breasts. Thank you so much for posting this, it may seem obvious to some but for me it turned out to be a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.5
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    35%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 72.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1022.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 28.5 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites