Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Taco Casserole (oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Taco Casserole (oamc)

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2010

      This was so good. It was exactly what I was looking for. We Put it on tortillas and added sour cream, guacamole and olives. YUM! It is going to become a favorite in out family for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Easy to make! I used turkey burger instead of shredded chicken, mashed pinto beans, in place of the re-fried beans, and added more cheese and rice then called for. Topped with lettuce, tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, and olives. Over all it tasted good, and even made a great version of a taco salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      Super easy and tasty. Used "Mexician Rice" from Rice a Roni for some extra flavor. Preferred using it in a burrito than eating it plain. Overall, a hit with the fam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      This recipe was delicious! I used rotisserie chicken. I also mixed the can of refried beans with the cooked rice for the bottom layer (it makes it easier to spread). This was very simple, and full of flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Quite tasty! I didn't make this ahead & freeze, but rather all in one day. I did add a can of black beans (drained) and about a cup of frozen corn (rinsed/thawed) into the chicken mixture before layering. One thing... the rice did stick to the bottom of my casserole dish so next time will oil spray first. Tasty comfort food! Can't wait to make it for a work Potluck. Think it will be eaten up quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Easy to make and very yummy! Hubby suggested I add some kind of veggies next time, like chopped bell peppers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      I added a layer of cream cheese between the chicken and beans, just melt a bit and spread. So yummy! It did come out a little dry but just a spoon of salsa on top made it amazing. My kids liked it served with cheese tortilla chips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Very good recipe - freezes well and my family really enjoyed it. I used instant rice because that's what I had and it worked well. I froze it after the rice and chicken layers and then thawed to add the beans etc. Turned out really good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Very good recipe... and very versatile. I had to substitute black beans for the refried beans since that is what I had on hand. Also, I used 2/3 c uncooked rice and 4/3 c chicken broth for the cooked rice. Then I just cooked 40 min to be sure the rice was done. Turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      I used all ingredients except guac and sour cream. I layered the ingredients into large tortilla shells, wrapped them and brushed them with butter. Then I baked it at 400 for 25 min. That made them the crunchy like fried chimichangas. It was a bit more bland than I expected, but that was a good thing for my kids! If you want it stronger I suggest adding another packet of taco seasoning and maybe cooking your rice in tomatoe sauce or something. Overall simple recipe and kid friendly. Another way to make it more of a meal is to place chips on all the plates and layer ingredients as desired onto chips. Kind of a neat layered nachos meal that everyone can personalize.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Very yummy and easy! I used more cheese than it called for, and I spiced my chicken when I was cooking it beforehand but I didn't find it bland at all. I served it with chips and guac and the rest of the optional ingredients on the side, and we ended up putting the casserole over tortilla chips as we ate it. This one is going in my recipe book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      After reading the reviews, I was disappointed when I made this, and it was very bland. I also agree with another reviewer who said that it's more like a dip vs. a meal, so it was a very strange dinner. What I would do differently with this recipe is cook the chicken after tossing it with some olive oil and black pepper and possibly some cayenne pepper. I would also add some chopped roasted red peppers and green chilis for flavor. Another idea for an ingredient/topping is to sprinkle frozen corn into the pan. Overall, the meal was easy to make, but the flavor just wasn't there.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Sorry I haven't rated this before now. Great to make a few for the freezer. My guys love this, and adding a fresh salad makes it a full meal. When chicken quarters go on sale for .39, I Crock them up and this is one of the top recipes I use them in. Thanks, Tish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      I chose this recipe because I had some leftovers to use and happened to have all the ingredients on hand. It was really good, not just ho hum leftovers! Any or all of the toppings are great; I had some corn salsa and guacamole. Nice meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      Very easy and delicious. I had to alter mine a little bit. I mixed 2 cups of steamed rice, 2 cups of chicken seasoned with seasoning salt, an 8 oz can of tomato sauce, 1/2 pack taco seasoning, and maybe a 1/4 c mild salsa all together. I had no refried beans, so I mashed up a can of pinto beans with more taco seasoning, a little salsa, and some spoonfuls of sour cream to make the second layer. Topped with cheese, popped it in the oven, and it was delicious. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      Family really enjoyed this one and, when you factor in the ease of preparation and quick prep, it's an easy 5 star recipe. I probably ended up doubling the cheese. While i did enjoy eating it with the the tortilla chips, i think it would rather eat it like a burrito, wrapped in a tortilla. Thanks for a great, go-to recipe that I will most definitely repeat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      This was a hit in our house. I made this Saturday for the game and we ate it with tortilla chips. It was so good. I served lettuce, tomatoes, onions, bl. olives, avacados, sour cream and salsa on the side. We loved it, its a staple here, for sure. Thank you for this "fun" and delicious recipe. Perfect for the game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Enjoyed this meal. We dipped with chips and topped with tomatoes and lettuce. Thank you for this easy tasty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This was a very good meal that everyone loved. I made two so that I could have one in the freezer for another night. We only used the chips from the optional list. I think this would probably be good with beef as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      super good and super easy. Makes a lot so I made it in 2 8x8's and we ate one that night and froze the other one for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Taco Casserole (oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.6
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    25%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 56.4 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1648.1 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 25.9 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites