121 Reviews

This dish is a must try! I used full fat products due to the dislike of fat free. The flavor was a bit rich so go light when serving. We served over egg noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty W. September 17, 2013

Mmmmmm....so good. I have a confession to make though. I forgot to get these started in the crockpot, so I made this on the stovetop. Didn't hurt the recipe at all, it was still very flavorful and delicious. We served ontop of buttered and parsley noodles with some corn. We really loved this. Thank you for sharing this with us. I will make this alot, using both the crockpot and the stovetop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 18, 2012

This was very good,I totally enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherry1246 October 02, 2012

I'm giving this recipe 3 stars but by the time I finished it, it was probably up to 5 stars. As a basic starter this recipe is good.

I wasn't sure if the recipe meant to use condensed cream of mushroom soup? But that's what I used. It looked gluggy at the start but thinned out after a few hours in the slow cooker. I added a few shakes of thyme and mixed herbs. I also used fresh chicken thighs which I browned with a brown onion and chopped garlic cloves before putting it all in the pot.

I listened to other reviews and waited until I served to mix in the cream to avoid it curdling.
I also put in 3 sliced fresh mushrooms and frozen green beans an hour before I served it.

It lacked flavour so I put in a teaspoon of Vegetta and some black pepper.

By the time I finished with it, it was devine.
But it needs tweaking. Thanks for the great starting point!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judydeville July 08, 2012

Super quick and easy. I used cream of chicken soup, since that's what I had on hand. I meant to put in an onion, but forgot. It was a very "white" meal served over rice. Perhaps some peas and carrots would help with that. Cooked on low about 3 hours and high for an hour and a half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy May 27, 2012

Made this exactly as directions called for and the reviews in our house were mixed. It smelled great while it was cooking. My husband loved it and I did not like it at all. The sour cream had a curdled texture and onion soup imparted an odd flavor after cooking for so long. But maybe it is just me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cahallm_11887623 January 15, 2012

This was good, but it didn't taste like stroganoff. If you aren't expecting stroganoff, then you'll probably like it. It as SUPER easy to make. I like that I almost always have the ingredients on hand.

Things I did differently: I took the inside pot of my crock pot out the night before and put it in the fridge with all the ingredients. This allowed the chicken to thaw in the pot overnight. I also added onions, garlic, and green peas. I also used light sour cream instead of fat free.

I ate it on white rice the first night. The second night, I ate it over a pile of romaine lettuce. The romaine lettuce gave it a GREAT crunch without the extra calories of noodles or rice. I didn't miss the rice at all (which is weird because I LOVE rice).

Overall: simple, easy to make, quick, and low calorie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crafty jogger February 02, 2011

Okay, I am just not seeing what all the rave is about. I am a very experienced cook, and going into it, I had a feeling it would not be as good. I was right. I added fresh onion and mushrooms for extra flavor and texture, but the sour cream cooking all day produced a horrible, curdling flavor. I had to whisk the sauce to blend in the curdles, and added corn starch to take away the soupy consistency of the sauce. Needless to say, I will NOT make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Binobam January 24, 2011

We loved this, it is absolutely delicious! I used fresh chicken and cooked it on high for 4 hours. Then, I shredded the chicken and let it sit uncovered while finishing the sides, maybe 10-15 minutes. It thickened right up and was served over plain baked potatoes. Next time I might add some onions and pepper, but I would eat it again with out changing a thing. Thanks for this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jadelabyrinth January 15, 2011
Chicken Stroganoff - Crock Pot