121 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent easy and yummy crockpot recipe! I used Light sour cream since we don't care for the texture of fat free things, and it was great. I'll make this again, and when I do, I'll throw in a chopped onion. Thanks!

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy November 30, 2006

I fixed this tonight and we really liked it. Very easy and readily fixed with most of ingredients on hand. Since we are moving I'm trying to use up my kitchen staples, so used celery soup instead of mushroom; garlic & herb seasoning instead of the onion soup and added fresh, sliced, sauteed mushrooms toward the end of cooking time. It was great, will try it with the "right" ingredients again.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Dillard March 08, 2002

This was very tasty and it smelled wonderful while cooking. A little too much liquid but everything I make in the crockpot is. We enjoyed this!!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH March 04, 2002

Tried this dish last night. It was great! DH liked it too. I used full-fat soup, never-frozen chicken, 8 oz. of regular sour cream, and added a drained can of sliced mushrooms. Cooked it in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. The chicken pretty much fell apart. I served it over egg noodles. I'll make it again and will probably add some sliced onions. Very good and rich as is.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipewrestler March 04, 2002

WOW!!!!!!! This was easy and delicios. I did quite a few modifications. I used regular sour cream and mushroom soup. I didn't use the crockpot, I browned the chicken in butter on the stove top,(added) sauteed onions and mushroom in a seperate pan, mixed remaining ingredients then added soup mixture, onions and mushrooms to the chicken. Simmered 20 minutes and voila a quick easy delicious dinner!!!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Chandler February 20, 2002

We loved this! I had 5 minutes to put something in the crockpot before I had to leave. We came home to a Fabulous Meal. Now that's easy! I did use regular mushroom soup & sour cream, and in the last half hour of cooking I added sliced fresh mushrooms. DEFINITE KEEPER, 5 stars!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M May 13, 2002

My family, every last one of them loved this recipe. I even tried adding chopped spinach to it for a few extra vitamins and they liked it even more. Great with brown rice.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Gaab April 09, 2002

It took me less than 5 minutes to throw everything into the crockpot and then went out to play all day. When I came back, a gourmet meal was ready, waiting for me. Taste too good to be a calories counting recipe. I used 3 chicken breasts, 1 can of reduced sodium cream of mushroom and 1 can of reduced sodium cream of chicken. The chicken was so tender and the texture of the sauce was just perfect over my wide noodles. A very satisfying meal with no guilt attached. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan May 19, 2002

I'm sure you don't need another rave review, but you are getting one anyway. This was easy and extremely good, although I did change stuff a bit. I used golden mushroom soup (like someone else) which added a really pleasing visual apperance, I didn't have 16 oz of fat free sour cream so I used 8 oz regular and 8 oz yogurt. And, like another someone else, I threw in a can of mushrooms. This really is a very pleasant and tasty dish. And again, so very easy. Thanks for sharing it Sisty.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbaraK April 24, 2002

This was a wonderful, and quick recipe to pull together. The taste was great. I shared this with co workers before I even tried it, and two of us tried it this weekend, and both thought it was great. For variations, next time I will add mushroom pieces, and fresh onion. I like my sauce a little thinner so I will add just a little chicken broth. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right April 22, 2002
Chicken Stroganoff - Crock Pot