Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Stock Using Carcass Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Stock Using Carcass

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      This recipe was just what I was looking for. It smelled delicious and I can't wait to make some soup with it. BEWARE, though... if you boil your liquid while making the stock, the fat will emulsify and it will turn out cloudy and not very tasty. (Trust me, I did it.) After searching ehow, I found that you can add 2 egg whites (lightly beaten) and shells, 2 T water, 1/2 t vinegar per qt of stock and simmer for 5 minutes. Surprisingly, this clears the stock right up. (I was very skeptical... especially about the shells but it worked like a charm!) I know I'll be using this recipe over and over again (hopefully without the clarifying step next time!). Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      Very nice and day. I used a grease separator to skim off the grease. That made it very easy. My bird must not have been very flavorful so I ended up adding some Better Than Bouillon chicken paste at the end before making soup. Because of the ginger in the stock, I decided to turn this stock into an Asian soup Tom Yum Gai (Thai Hot & Sour Chicken Soup) . It turn out perfect. Thanks for posting, Peter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Followed the recipe. Next time I will double the veggie amounts for more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Peter I loved this! I make my own chicken stock at least monthly and in the cold months like now I do so bi-weekly as soup is a staple in our house for lunches or dinner. I used the bones from a quartered chicken and the scraps of meat from it as well. As I said when I picked this recipe I had never used ginger to make chicken stock before so was intrigues to see/taste the difference. I used ginger from the organic coop. YUMMY! I followed directions exactly and was blessed with the smells. Who knew the addition of ginger and the subtraction of garlic (which I use freely) could change the construction and scents so much. I froze all but 1 cup of the broth for future use as I HAD to taste this. So I cut up a 1/2 carrot, 1/2 celery stalk, added in 1/4 onion, and some ditalini to make a very small pot of soup for 1. MMMM MMMMM Thank you for a refreshing and different broth for chicken soup. I plan to use the stock to make chicken and rice. I like the hint of giner not overpowering but at the back of the tongue where it reminds one to thibk.hmmmm. Made for AUS/NZ Swap Feb 12

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      After striping the meat from a rotisserie chicken I was left with the carcass. What better than to make stock. In place of the celery seed, I used 2 small celery ribs cut into thirds and the stock was simmered all night in my crock pot. The stock is now cooling in the refrigerator for skimming before separating into 2 cup portions to freeze. Great recipe and a wonderful way to get all you can from a chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Good stuff. This smelled delicious while simmering which I don't find with my usual stock! (Was the celery seeds) This seemed like it would be great used in chicken noodle soup. I used half a whole baby chicken with all it's meat. I brought the water to a simmer without the celery seeds and skimmed as required then added the celery seeds and partially covered and simmered the stock for 1 hour 15 minutes. I would make this again if making chicken noodle soup. Made for RECIPE SWAP #38 - Iced Vo vo's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      GREAT chicken stock!!!! Very easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand (including the carcass, as my neighbor will only eat white meat and gives me a carcass full of dark meat about once a week). Gonna make some soup out of it!!! Thanks so much for a winner of a recipe, Peter! Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap Feb 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I love making homemade stock from the carcass although DH would prefer I didn't as he hates seeing it simmering away in the pot. Anyway, I decided to give this recipe a try because of the addition of grated ginger. Will be using this recipe whenever a whole chicken or turkey is cooked from now on. Made and reviewed for the 37th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Found this recipe just in time. MIL gave me the remains of our two Christmas day chickens and I now have a great container of yummy stock. Easy to make and now I just have to turn it into some chicken soup. This was my first time ever making stock by the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Great full flavor in this chicken stock. The recipe was so simple and I had everything on hand. It made exactly 4 cups, which I then used to make homemade chicken noodle soup. I will be using this stock recipe often. Thank you! ~Made for the Dec. Aussie/NZ Swap~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      first attempt at stock, thought it went well. had to move from a pot on the stove over to a crock pot when i realized i wouldn't have enough time to simmer before bed. i was missing the bay leaf and ginger, was still really good. used half to make potato soup, the other half is cubed and frozen. awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      was my first time making homemade chicken stock. Was Very Impressed!! My homemade chicken corn noodle soup came out amazing.. thanks to this flavorful stock! Great was to use the chicken to the fullest!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I use this every time I make a chicken. I strain out the bits of chicken and veggies and add them back in to the broth along with some noodles and have a great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Mm Mmm Mm Incredible! This stock was so tasty, fragrant and super easy to make. To the recipe, I added 1 tbsp of dill, 1 tsp of ground cumin, 2 tsp of salt, 2 tsp black pepper, another carrot cut into 12 pieces, 3 pressed cloves of garlic, and 1 Persian lime juice and rind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I love this recipe, I use it constantly! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This works very well. I used the carcass of a roast and added two fresh frames from butcher. so used 8 cups of water. For our taste it needed salt to lift flavour but that's a personal choice. Simple and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      This is my first time making chicken stock. I had a carcass and I didn't want to just throw it away. I also wanted to make some chicken soup. Found this recipe and decided to give it a try. Glad I did. It has a wonderful flavor and was easy to prepare. I used it in Easy Chicken Noodle Soup. Came out excellent. Thanks Peter J for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      o.k..... Peter I give you a triple "A" rating on this one..... I also used roast chicken left over carcass (I used 3) I gotta say I had my doubts Peter, but you were spot on !!! I did taste a distinct roast type flavour from the roast chicken, maybe It's just me, but whatever it tasted very good !! Next time I will use fresh chicken to see if there is a difference or whether it was just me, even if it is half as good it will be still fantastic! I will be freezing this for later use ! Thanks Peter, I am looking no further........ this one will do me !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Peter, this is excellent. I had a leftover BBQ chicken and rather than put it into the crabpot I made your stock. There is none left for the freezer as I've already used it all for some chicken noodle soup that we had for dinner tonight. This will be made again and again in my house. Great recipe, thanks for creating and posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      This worked great - the first time I've made homemade stock. I used a leftover carcass from a roast chicken, and left out the ginger. I froze the stock in 2-cup increments, and am reviewing now as I've just thawed/used it for the first time (for Tortellini Tomato Spinach Soup).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Stock Using Carcass

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    17%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken carcasses

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites