118 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The first time I made this recipe, it was very bland and boring. But it definitely makes a great base recipe, as other reviewers have suggested. The second time I made it, we added:

- Double the sauce
- 2 tablespoons of brown sugar
- 2 tablespoons of Spicy Oyster Sauce (which is not actually spicy but adds a lot of flavor)
- bok choy (cut the stems on diagonals and add with the rest of the veggies, cut the leaves across the grain and add at the very last minute of cooking just to wilt them.)
- asparagus
- red bell pepper
- baby corn (from a can)
- sliced water chestnuts (2 cans)
- sliced mushrooms (stems and pices from a can)
- bamboo shoots (strips, from a can)

This is a LOT of extra veggies, so it makes a large dish. Either pick the veggies that are your favorite, or invite a crowd! :) Because of the amount of extra veggies, you'll have to double or even triple the sauce, but you want to make sure the veggies are FRIED, not boiled, so add the sauce in parts and then add more as it cooks down. You may need to add additional cornstarch at the end to thicken it. I also used peanut oil for frying and then I sprinkled sesame seeds over the top at the end.

My husband gave the initial recipe 3 stars, the final revision got 5 stars. So thanks for a good base recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael May 08, 2011

I fixed this tonight and my entire family was impressed. This is really a yummy meal that is quick and easy. The ginger is what really makes the stir fry....I never knew that. Thanks for a great recipe. ~~The Guzmans

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juangela93 July 29, 2002

I've not had much luck with stir-fries before, but this one turned out perfect. I used veggies that I had on hand and added water chestnuts for a little extra crunch. Next time I'm going to add a small amount of hot pepper flakes - we like food extra spicy! Thanks for sharing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rather be at the barn... July 02, 2010

Wow, this is tasty and easy to put together. Even the kids who normally moan and groan when stir fry is served ate this up. I used a bag of frozen stir fry veggies and used up some broccoli and last two stalks of celery. Oh, and I used a thai soy sauce (which is a tad sweeter than traditional soy sauce.) ***just an update. I've found the texture of the chicken is perfect when I cook the chicken in a skillet on high (don't have a wok...so had to experiment a little.)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marissa Genta Pineda April 26, 2010

YUMMY! Made this recipe and only made a few modifications. I added a little bit of fish sauce to the water and bouillon mixture and added a little bit more cornstartch, chicken bouillon, 1 tbsp more of soy sauce and 1/2 c more water for extra sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabrinabina April 21, 2010

Very good. I really like the chicken: tender and tasty. Next time I'll add more brocolli. The only change I made this time was adding a can of water chestnuts.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blueberry February 01, 2003

Easy recipe but sauce needs more flavor. May add soy, garlic, ginger and cornstarch to thicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 15, 2012

Delicious! I made some changes though - I omitted the ginger as my husband doesn't like it. I also used frozen green beans instead of fresh veggies and added minced garlic when I added the beans. I used chicken broth in place of water and boullion and I used Ponzu sauce in place of soy sauce in the beginning and then added soy sauce at the end with the broth. Overall, very delicious!!! My husband really enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridgettels April 26, 2011

This is the second time I am making this recipe and it came out just as delish as the first. I used broccoli, carrots, red onions, red and green bell peppers and celery. I also used fresh ginger this time and fresh garlic, as well as a touch of black pepper and red pepper flakes. The flavour was explosive! Thank you for this recipe I will return to again and again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodScientist September 10, 2008

I made this for dinner and it was really easy. Since I am not eating carbs, I did not use the cornstarch or carrots. I did add in some fresh garlic and colored peppers. The sauce of course wasn't thick, but very tasty, very colorful and my kids ate it too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale May 15, 2003
Chicken Stir-Fry