21 Reviews

AMAZING flavor! I didn't have the courage to put the biscuits on top the chicken stew, I knew my family wouldn't go for it. DH isn't fond of "pot pies". I didn't have time to make Ina's biscuits, so I made a can o' biscuits and served on the side, just perfect for us. Oh, and I let it simmer on the stove top, it never made it to the oven. YUM! Thanks Queen!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour November 07, 2013

all I can say is fabulous!, except for just a few very minor amount adjustments I really made no changes to this recipe which is extremely rare lol! everything about this recipes was wonderful, thanks for shaing hon!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 08, 2007

Wow! This is another Ina Garten masterpiece. I even used frozen biscuits and it was still the best pot pie I'd ever made. Thanks for sharing with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef January 18, 2011

This was fabulous! Everyone loved it, even my picky eaters that complain about peas--not a single complaint. I did use the Pillsbury frozen biscuits for a time thing, but plan to make these biscuits the next time. Great for a cold night! Thank you! Cathy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazelruthe December 10, 2009

I just made this for Christmas Supper for the whole family...and it was a hit! Everyone raved about it, and some of them aren't normally fond of this type of meal. I served it with some homemade mashed potatoes and my Mom's whipped cream & fruit salad! I would definitely make it again...maybe without the pearl onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hangup_and_drive December 26, 2008

We made this one following the directions but cut it in half for just the 3 of us. We used whole wheat for the flour and they came out so good! What a tasty meal we had. My DS went for his third plate he liked it so much, and I wasn't far behind him :) He said he wants to make it next time, and I'm looking forward to it already! Tony

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonythurston51 September 28, 2008

This was a really nice chicken stew. Loved the biscuits. They were so soft and flaky. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn March 22, 2008

AMAZING. I'm dairy free so I made makeshift heavy cream with ricemilk and margarine. I used marg instead of butter and only 1/4 cup DRIED parsley in the stew and another 1/4 in the biscuits(it's what I had) I had trouble getting the sauce to not be lumpy when I added the flour to the butter but it turned out fine. I used bisquick to save time on the biscuits and my boyfriend HATES onions so I snuck some dried chopped onions in there. Everything is so yummy I will make this again and again. Thanks Barefoot Contessa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kikiloveshercop January 19, 2008

This is a great recipe. My whole family loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ROBIN 7 November 28, 2007

Hmmmm....some people do not like you to post their reviews unless you made it the exact way so I will start by saying I didn't make it exactly as directed BUT IT CAME OUT GREAT!! I cooked my chicken in water, made my own broth, didn't need the bouillion cubes, everything else was the same EXCEPT I did not have any heavy cream so I made my own with milk and butter, I also added potatoes to ours as it is our preference AND I then put it in the crockpot all day...YUMMY, thanks for posting...it was even the better the 2nd day!!! mmmmmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ami & Paul September 28, 2007
Chicken Stew With Biscuits