32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe and have used it often, everyone seems to enjoy it everytime I serve it. This is a very adaptable recipe because you can add or omit the seasoning you like as well as add the vegetables you prefer in it (or add no vegetables) I make the whole recipe and freeze the rest when I dont need it all at once. I put the unused portions in zip-locked freezer bags and it keeps well.. I like to top this recipe with pepperidge farm puff pastry from the freezer section and I sometimes top it with a pie crust...it is also great with dumplings cooked on top of it..just make sure to thin the sauce a bit to allow for cooking the dumplings...and of course, this is great served over noodles or with the noodles thrown right in it (make sure to thin the sauce to allow for the noodles to cook, they also thicken it a bit. Enjoy ! Judy

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JUDY BODNAR July 26, 2003

Made this for supper tonight .WOW did it taste wonderful. You can be sure I will be making this again. Tweeked it a little and added some hot sauce, what can I say it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol in Butler,Pa May 10, 2010

I can see how this would be a great pot pie filling. I made it as a stew and it was not flavorful enough for our taste. I added some cayenne and that helped. Will probably dice peppers next time or find some other way to spice it up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdolmstead February 22, 2009

The picture is not the same as how the chef shared the cooking procedure . The picture has dough on top but her recipe didnt include that. The recipe procedure is we have to cook the chicken but how ? boil, saute or fry? not clear. But thanks anyway . I think it is very delicious. I will try it with mashed potato on top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dahlee_2002 December 03, 2008

I used cream of chicken soup as suggested, and peas and carrots in my pie this time. I used Pillsbury pie crusts and they worked great as always. We all loved it. This is a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic April 16, 2008

Loved this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wishin I. September 13, 2013

Easy recipe, and very diverse. I dediced to try shredded beef, I used cream of mushroom soup canned, no sodium added veggies. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsG4322 July 28, 2012

This is really easy and tastes great. For the roux, I used 1/4 cup flour with the butter (I also sauteed finely chopped onion here too) and added just over a cup of milk. I added 1/2 tsp of both garlic powder and basil. I only used 3 chicken breasts, cut them very small, put in a skillet with a little PAM and a good dash of garlic salt and put the lid on for about 10 mins. I used frozen peas, corn, carrots, broccoli and a little mushroom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scotland November 23, 2011

I finally have an easy and oh so yummy recipe for chicken pie filling! This is tremendously tasty! I used it to fill 'calzone' dough... I forgot I had some puff pastry in the freezer... could have tried that! And as other reviewers have said there are so many options with this recipe! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YnkyGrlDwndr July 24, 2008

I just used some left over chicken i had sitting in my fridge and made the fast version (cooked on a higher heat for like 20 mins) and it was still delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dona_k_ March 12, 2008
Chicken Stew or Chicken Pot Pie Filling