Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Stew or Chicken Pot Pie Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Stew or Chicken Pot Pie Filling

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2003

      I love this recipe and have used it often, everyone seems to enjoy it everytime I serve it. This is a very adaptable recipe because you can add or omit the seasoning you like as well as add the vegetables you prefer in it (or add no vegetables) I make the whole recipe and freeze the rest when I dont need it all at once. I put the unused portions in zip-locked freezer bags and it keeps well.. I like to top this recipe with pepperidge farm puff pastry from the freezer section and I sometimes top it with a pie crust...it is also great with dumplings cooked on top of it..just make sure to thin the sauce a bit to allow for cooking the dumplings...and of course, this is great served over noodles or with the noodles thrown right in it (make sure to thin the sauce to allow for the noodles to cook, they also thicken it a bit. Enjoy ! Judy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Made this for supper tonight .WOW did it taste wonderful. You can be sure I will be making this again. Tweeked it a little and added some hot sauce, what can I say it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I can see how this would be a great pot pie filling. I made it as a stew and it was not flavorful enough for our taste. I added some cayenne and that helped. Will probably dice peppers next time or find some other way to spice it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      The picture is not the same as how the chef shared the cooking procedure . The picture has dough on top but her recipe didnt include that. The recipe procedure is we have to cook the chicken but how ? boil, saute or fry? not clear. But thanks anyway . I think it is very delicious. I will try it with mashed potato on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      I used cream of chicken soup as suggested, and peas and carrots in my pie this time. I used Pillsbury pie crusts and they worked great as always. We all loved it. This is a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2013

      Loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Easy recipe, and very diverse. I dediced to try shredded beef, I used cream of mushroom soup canned, no sodium added veggies. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      This is really easy and tastes great. For the roux, I used 1/4 cup flour with the butter (I also sauteed finely chopped onion here too) and added just over a cup of milk. I added 1/2 tsp of both garlic powder and basil. I only used 3 chicken breasts, cut them very small, put in a skillet with a little PAM and a good dash of garlic salt and put the lid on for about 10 mins. I used frozen peas, corn, carrots, broccoli and a little mushroom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I finally have an easy and oh so yummy recipe for chicken pie filling! This is tremendously tasty! I used it to fill 'calzone' dough... I forgot I had some puff pastry in the freezer... could have tried that! And as other reviewers have said there are so many options with this recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I just used some left over chicken i had sitting in my fridge and made the fast version (cooked on a higher heat for like 20 mins) and it was still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Very tasty! I added additional veggies, and topped with Bisquik biscuit dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Turned out great. A big hit with everyone. I made a Bisquik type pie crust. Baked it for about 20 mins at 375*. Thanks for sharing Leanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I added celery and sweet onions which made it name brand good. This recipe is great and easy. I also used the no fail pie crust. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      This was absolutly wonderful! My whole family loved it.. thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      I made this with the no fail pie crust and it was GREAT!!! I used fresh veggies instead of frozen and used the broth from the chicken to make the sauce thinner because it was very thick. The end result was fabulous and the whole family loved it even the kids. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      This was a wonderful meal and very simple. Will do again and it's perfet for giving a meal to another family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Everyone in my house loved this except for my pickey eater who only eats buffalo fingers. Step 1 I boiled two whole chix breast then cut into pieces and set aside with broth. Step 2 and 3 I followed trubrit's instructions. After the sauce thickened, I added only the seasoning and a little bit of the reserve broth I had until I was satisfied w/the taste. Then I added the chicken, fresh parboiled baby carrots, and frozen baby peas. Followed trubrit's cooking instructions down to the No-Fail Piecrust, Recipe ID#105545. Thanks Leanne and trubrit for a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Very good. Nice consistency. I used a little too much garlic, but now I know (a tsp is too much) Will definitely make again since hubby can't wait for it to be in potpie form.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I thought I had rated this already but aparently I haven't. This recipe is delicious!!!!!! We have made it over and over and over again. I made it for my in laws one night and they to absolutely loved it!!! This is definately a keeper. I have made it just as a stew and as chicken pot pie. For chicken pot pie for the crust I just use the bisquick mix recipe. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I made the stew. We thought it was very good. Will be making it again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Stew or Chicken Pot Pie Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.6
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    55%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 77.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 120.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 25.2 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cream soup

    frozen vegetables

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites