Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Stew

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2002

      This was such a delicious meal!! So easy to prepare and all in one pan. I kept to the ingredients exactly although I whizzed the tomatoes in the procesor(son doesn't like lumpy! tomatoes). Didn't need to add cornflour, it was thick enough. Thanks so much for posting. This is one that will be cooked again and again and again......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      I found this to be a top rate recipe. My DH and I thought it to be an incredible mix of flavors. Will make again for sure. I did add cornflour for thickness and it went well with crusty rolls. Next time I may add celery. Well done, Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2002

      The BEST chicken stew I have ever had. I added some rutabaga and parsnips to it. Excellent:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2002

      A very nice stew indeed. The aroma of bay leaf and thyme took me back to when I was a kid. My mum used to make something similar. I let it simmer for longer as I do with all stews. They seem to have a richer flavour that way. My two year old doesn't like stews but I put it in a blender for him and turned it into soup. He loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2002

      DELICIOUS!!!!! And oh soo easy!!!!!! I doubled the Thyme, garlic and Bay Leaf, and used a can tomato's with garlic and onion (it was all I had). This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2002

      Excellent recipe - I modified it a bit to include two cans of diced tomatoes and two cans of chicken broth. My family loved it! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      Another keeper Inez!I added about 1/2lbs of fresh green beans and I simmered it a little longer than 30 min.Whole family loved it.I was planning to serve over homemade biscuits,but I burned them so we had to do with white rice,it was still nummy,nummy.Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      Delicious! I added garlic when sauteing chicken and I added frozen mixed veggies and mushrooms. Everyone raved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2002

      The thing I like about this recipe is that you can make it a little different every time and it will still be delicious. This is a good one to clean out the frig with. I used about 3 cups of chicken meat because I needed to get rid of it. Just made the soup a little chunkier. I also threw in some chopped zucchini and frozen English peas at the last. Very yummy and a great flexible recipe. Thanks Inez.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      This was a quick, easy meal that was a hit with my picky husband and even pickier One and Four Year Olds. Great on a snow day like today. Had to substitute Italian Seasoning b/c I was out of Thyme - but didn't affect taste. I will keep it in my 'comfort food' stash - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      My family loved this. Definitely a keeper! I did add cream of celery soup and turkey instead of chicken. Wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      I sauteed the chicken first with a little ginger and it added a whole new flavor to an already spectacular dish. The second time I made it, I threw in a little of every veggie in the house and was more generous with the spice... What a hit!!! Everyone's asking for more! This one is definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      A 3 1/2 star rating would be more accurate. I will definitely make some changes the next time I make this. I only used half the thyme as that is not my favourite spice. I think a pinch of tarragon would be a great addition. I would definitely add chopped celery and rutabaga as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This is delicious! I made this for a friend who isnt in real good health and cannot get to the store real easily and I havent talked to him since I took it to him but before when I was putting it in a bowl to take there was a about 2 cups left over that would not fit in the bowl so we ate it and It is great. I am going to keep this recipe for the winter monthes. YUM! Thank you for posting it. Definitly a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      This is so easy and very yummy. I used a can of tomatoes with herbs in it and left out the oil as I sprinkled in some dehydrated onions rather than saute fresh onion. I also added a sliced zucchini. I was surprised that this simple recipe was so good. I'll be keeping this one to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      MizzNezz, you sure are an awesome chef! This is simple and healthy as well, thank you! I followed the lead of some of the reviewers and put fresh chopped tomatoes, the chicken broth I got the fat free sodium free (just to cut out the sodium)....but I have to admit that it needed a tad of salt, but I'll leave that to the individual at the table. The stew is so comforting, very simple to make, and I will be enjoying this in the future as I am tonight! I am getting over a nasty virus and this hit a home run with me, thanks again. It looks like a recipe that would be good to 'add what you have' and it will be just as good. Thanks again for another wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Very simple and easy to make. The only issue I had was the prep having to dice potatoes, but no big deal. The taste is fairly mild, but delicious nonetheless. I added some corn starch to thicken it up and served it over rice. I'm going to try a variation and add some curry to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Fabulous, in a word! I used chicken thigh meat because it has so much more flavor than breast, and with the following tweaks - the stew was perfection. Coated meat in 1/4 c. flour 1/2 t. each salt and pepper and sauteed in the oil on med. heat with the chopped onion and 2 chopped celery stalks for about 5 min. Added the garlic during the last minute. Then dumped in the tomatoes, chicken broth, seasonings and veggies (plus fresh green beans) and simmered on low for an hour. It was cold and rainy yesterday and this, with some french bread, this was a most wonderful meal. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      Very delicious! My husband has been fighting cold so his appetite isn't that great. I made this as instructed, but used butter/vegetable oil combination to cook onions (& garlic), added cooked ground turkey, oregano & parsley. Rather than using buillion, I used 4 cups of homemade chicken stock. I thickened the stew with 3 tablespoons of wheat flour. Rather than using canned diced tomato, I added 3 small hot house tomatoes. Added green bell pepper, carrot, and 5 small red potatoes instead of pasta/rice. Very delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      This recipe was great!!! I followed the recipe exact with the exception of adding 8 oz of sliced fresh mushrooms and about a half a pound of fresh green beans I had on hand. I also added cornstarch for added thickness. I will definately make this again. Thanks Mizznezz.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.9
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    42%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1003.5 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken breasts

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites