8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good and not bad for you at all! I didn't use olive oil, just sprayed the pan with cooking spray. I used an orange pepper since that was all that I had left and seasoned the chicken with fresh-cracked pepper rather than the cayenne. The chicken came out so juice and flavorful and not at all over cooked, went well with the pasta and veggies and I didn't miss any sort of cream sauce on the pasta. Will be making this again! Made for Spring PAC 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH April 08, 2013

I enjoyed this recipe and the meal it made very much. DH thought it was good. It did seem like it was lacking some "something". I will make this again as the flavors with the pasta reminded me of a warmed summer pasta salad, fresh on the tongue. I think next time and there will be a next time, I will add some garlic or lemon, or something to it while cooking the veggies. The chicken was wonderful and I do have some left to make a nice lunch plate for tomorrow. Made for AUS/NZ Swap 48. Thank you ANDI!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie January 10, 2011

Great, easy, healthy. With so little seasoning, the flavors of the food are highlighted. I added more spinach and pasta, and added grape tomatoes, cut in half, after adding the spinach. I cut up the chicken and mixed it with everything. It was very good the next day, too. Thanks, Jan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stgmngrjan June 17, 2010

5 stars for a healthy meal that doesn't sacrifice on flavor. I confess that the write-up is what had me look at this recipe above the others that came up on my search. I used 1 lb. pasta to feed my family of 6 and added a can of mushrooms and a clove of garlic. I also cooked the chicken breasts in a covered frying pan instead of the oven. I was looking for a creamy pasta sauce using spinach and this definitely isn't creamy, but is delicious! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Savvy Sewlal March 11, 2010

Bf said this looked good and asked me what it was. He took a bite and said, "Hmm, pretty good." Then he took more bites and said, "Mm, this IS good!" My chicken breasts weren't large, but they did take an extra 6 mins after the original 7 mins. I followed this recipe exactly, using prepacked baby spinach and more penne. I had some leftover regular penne and cooked up some whole wheat penne too. The chicken was flavorful, tender and went so well with the rest. The combo of spinach, red onion and red pepper was awesome with the penne. Colorful and healthy dish! I served the chicken sliced on top of the penne mixture. Bf wanted more chicken! Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game. Thank you for sharing Andi, this was wonderful and I will make it again for sure! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage February 23, 2009

I absolutely love this dish. It is so quick and the taste is just outstanding. The combination of vegetables make this recipe so flavorful and it's good for you, too, which is a big plus. I followed the recipe exactly. I think I might add more fresh spinach next time cause I love it. I served this to one family member with the chicken on the side of the pasta. Then I added the rest of the chicken, cut into strips, and tossed it with the vegetables and pasta. I love how the flavors of the chicken seasonings combine with the pasta and vegetables. Thanks for another wonderful recipe, Andi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 20, 2009

Wonderful, not only in taste but preparation as well. The only change that was made, I used slightly more pasta than suggested to make it stretch a bit more. I also used fresh spinach. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama December 02, 2008

Another hit from Andi! This was really delicious and went together very quickly. I made a few really minor tweaks: yellow pepper for red (prefer the color & taste), more spinach (1 largeish bag) and less onion, mini-penne instead of large, and paprika instead of cayenne (last 3 were to make it more DS-friendly). Also, the directions didn't say what to do with the penne, so I tossed it with the veggie mixture when it was about done cooking, then served that alongside the chicken breast (I used 3 boneless skinless breasts). DS (age 4) was so-so on the veggie mixture--he really doesn't like onions at all! But he did very well with the chicken, and DH and I loved it all! Thanks so much for posting, Andi! Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve November 25, 2008
Chicken, Spinach, and Pasta