Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2008

      AMAZING! I cannot believe how flavorful my chicken was w/ just those 4 spices plus lemon! I used skinless, bone-in thighs that marinated 24 hours. I grilled whole, over medium-high heat, 8 min. per side, to internal temp of 175F. Drizzled w/ 1/8 cup of lemon juice and 1/8 cup oil. Served w/ Tzatziki Cucumber Dipping Sauce, Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad, Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!), and grilled lemons. This was one of the best meals I have ever served! Can't wait to make again. Thank you for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      What a beautifully simple and fabulously tasting recipe! My husband does not like things that are too "lemon-y" , but he LOVED this recipe. We ate ours with hummus, tzaziki sauce and pitas- that is it!! Thanks so much for posting. We cooked ours indoors on the cast iron skillet and it turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      One of two recipes we tried on the grill last week. This was definitely the better of the two. Moist, flavorful chicken. Definitely a keeper. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Awesome recipe! Going in the keeper file. We had it in pitas, with toms, cukes, red onion, tzaziki and hummous, Yum!! Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      This is truly an amazing recipe. Quick, easy, and totally authentic tasting. It is definitely going in my recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      These are so good. I made them and we put them on pitas with tomatoes, lettuce and onions. I also had a yogurt sauce in the fridge that we used on some of them. So good. The chicken was very moist and flavorful. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      I used less garlic powder and good olive oil. The drizzle of lemon and olive oil at the end really makes this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      I cannot get over how delicious this was. It sounds too simple and plain but it is juicy and packed with flavour. I will be making this often. Thank you so much for this easy and scrumptious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      Fantastic!!!!!!!! So quick and easy. Make ahead, or last minute (well, last hour) meal. Kids and adults enjoyed it at our house. We cubed the chicken and used metal skewers, which worked great! Yum. Definitely something we will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      I left my chicken breasts whole and cut into cubes after marinating all day and grilling. Made mini kabobs on toothpicks (cube of chicken and a cherry tomato) for my daughters Greek themed school day project. Served some up in pasta and also used in a naan sandwich with feta and cucumber and tomato. Very versatile and tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Yum! We all loved this recipe - even my 7-year-old, who isn't picky, exactly, but is usually suspicious of new foods, especially foods with unidentified bits of green stuck to them. But she gobbled up the few pieces I initially served her, and asked for seconds and thirds! We had it with Tzatziki (#50336), and she loved that, too. I used 6 boneless thighs, cut into bite-sized pieces, and ended up cooking it inside in a large saute pan instead of on the grill (long story). I dumped the chicken and marinade into a pre-heated pan, and sauteed it until nearly done. Then poured off most of the remaining marinade, added a little straight olive oil and cooked it on high a bit longer until nicely browned, and removed it from the pan to a plate with paper towels to drain the excess oil. Moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Quick and easy, i let it marinate for an hr and the flavor was prefect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      First trip to the grill this spring and these were delicious! This could very well become a favorite around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      I marinated the chicken and herbs overnight and it was very tasty.I grilled this on my indoor grill for 10 minutes.A very quick and easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      This recipe was amazingly delicious, and I was able to convince the kids that the strips of grilled chicken were really rattlesnake meat that tastes like chicken. That was an added bonus. We served it with Tzatziki (59336) and Frizzled Cabbage (83524) both of which made for an unforgettably tasty meal. Wow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      The chicken came out really tender, which I liked but it lacked any distinct flavor. I cut my chicken into pieces, added all the ingredients together, put in a ziplock, shook and made sure everything was covered and let it sit in the fridge overnight.

      I thought this would be long enough to let the flavor set in, but after grilling, it really didn't taste like anything but moist chicken. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Wonderful! We loved the flavor of this chicken and will certainly be making it again. Next time we may put the seasoning on the chicken for a longer period of time so that the flavor goes a bit deeper into the meat. This would probably be good on pork too. Thanks Graybert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Great recipe! Restaurant quality! I served this with Naan and tzatziki! Thanks will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Yummy!! Our picky little 3 year old even loved these! I have made them twice now, and found that marinating them over night makes them taste even better!! I have made them wrapped and baked in philo-pastry. Soooooo good! Thanks for such a great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This was perfect for greek wraps. I sliced the chicken breasts horizontally into thin cutlets and then pounded until rather flat. Marinated and grilled on the Foreman. Perfectly and mildly seasoned. Next time I'll freeze some of the grilled chicken for quick meals later. Thanks Graybert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.7
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    47%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 92.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites