15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good, light and easy. I added garlic and pinch of red chili flakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 08, 2012

Very good recipe. It seemed to lack a certain zip, and I'm not sure if it needed more star anise or wine. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stella Mae May 30, 2003

Delicious! I read through all of the reviews and here's my version: I prepped the sauce first thing in the morning and pounded out to 1/2" thickness chicken thighs and cut into thirds. Used 1/4 of the sauce as a marinade for the chicken. Chinese wine instead of dry sherry, reduced the fresh ginger to 1 tablespoon so a seven year old wouldn't complain about being too spicy. Refrigerated the chicken for about five hours. In a wok heated up a little bit of sesame oil on medium heat and lightly sautéed baby spinach. Plated the spinach then poured the sauce into the wok and brought to boil. Added the chicken and cooked both sides about 6 minutes, adding one clove of garlic minced the final 20-30 seconds just until fragrant. Transferred the chicken to the platter. Garnished with fresh cilantro, scallions, black sesame seeds and a few drop of toasted sesame oil. Served with a simple steamed then fried short grain rice. Prepared for Culinary Quest/Family Picks. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 18, 2014

I added a clove of roasted garlic and cooked the bone in, skin on, thighs for 40 some minutes at 350 degrees. I did not have a cinnamon stick, subbed 1/4 teaspoon ground instead. The house smelled fantastic! We love this recipe, thank you so very much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka September 16, 2014

Really good dish. I only had one whole star anise, so used some broken points for the 2nd one, but probably added a little bit more. This was simple and very good. I made this with bok choy but over cooked mine a little. Not the recipes fault, but my own. Thanks Lori for sharing a nice keeper. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 13, 2014

We loved this dish! I used boneless thighs as well as breasts but otherwise made as directed. For our tastes the amount of Star Anise was spot on - definitely there in the flavour profile but not too assertive. I was serving another dish that included a lot of garlic so did not tamper with this at all. Will definitely make this again! Made for Culinary Quest 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned September 12, 2014

This was really good, but the star anise could have been a bit stronger, it was barely recognizable. I'll make this again and increase the star anise! Thanks for sharing :) Made for CQ 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany September 07, 2014

Yum! Made this for dinner tonight, just returned from holidays last night and the vegetables in the small supermarket in the next town didn't look good but the chicken was really fresh. So I used frozen spinach (next time I will use fresh greens). The meal was so quick and so yummy! Perfect for us. Thanks so much for posting your recipe Lauralie41

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer July 08, 2010

I added on a garlic clove and a bunch of spring onions. It tastes better. A quick and easy meal after a hard day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yumchef August 08, 2009

Thanks for this it is great. i had this recipe years ago but as it was only on a not pad i have lost it. Have been searching for ages. It was always my youngest sons favourite,now i can cook it for him wehen he is home

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyfull February 02, 2009
Chicken Simmered in Soy and Star Anise