Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Simmered in Soy and Star Anise Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Simmered in Soy and Star Anise

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2012

      Very good, light and easy. I added garlic and pinch of red chili flakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      Very good recipe. It seemed to lack a certain zip, and I'm not sure if it needed more star anise or wine. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2014

      Delicious! I read through all of the reviews and here's my version: I prepped the sauce first thing in the morning and pounded out to 1/2" thickness chicken thighs and cut into thirds. Used 1/4 of the sauce as a marinade for the chicken. Chinese wine instead of dry sherry, reduced the fresh ginger to 1 tablespoon so a seven year old wouldn't complain about being too spicy. Refrigerated the chicken for about five hours. In a wok heated up a little bit of sesame oil on medium heat and lightly sautéed baby spinach. Plated the spinach then poured the sauce into the wok and brought to boil. Added the chicken and cooked both sides about 6 minutes, adding one clove of garlic minced the final 20-30 seconds just until fragrant. Transferred the chicken to the platter. Garnished with fresh cilantro, scallions, black sesame seeds and a few drop of toasted sesame oil. Served with a simple steamed then fried short grain rice. Prepared for Culinary Quest/Family Picks. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      I added a clove of roasted garlic and cooked the bone in, skin on, thighs for 40 some minutes at 350 degrees. I did not have a cinnamon stick, subbed 1/4 teaspoon ground instead. The house smelled fantastic! We love this recipe, thank you so very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      Really good dish. I only had one whole star anise, so used some broken points for the 2nd one, but probably added a little bit more. This was simple and very good. I made this with bok choy but over cooked mine a little. Not the recipes fault, but my own. Thanks Lori for sharing a nice keeper. Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      We loved this dish! I used boneless thighs as well as breasts but otherwise made as directed. For our tastes the amount of Star Anise was spot on - definitely there in the flavour profile but not too assertive. I was serving another dish that included a lot of garlic so did not tamper with this at all. Will definitely make this again! Made for Culinary Quest 2014

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2014

      This was really good, but the star anise could have been a bit stronger, it was barely recognizable. I'll make this again and increase the star anise! Thanks for sharing :) Made for CQ 2014

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Yum! Made this for dinner tonight, just returned from holidays last night and the vegetables in the small supermarket in the next town didn't look good but the chicken was really fresh. So I used frozen spinach (next time I will use fresh greens). The meal was so quick and so yummy! Perfect for us. Thanks so much for posting your recipe Lauralie41

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      I added on a garlic clove and a bunch of spring onions. It tastes better. A quick and easy meal after a hard day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Thanks for this it is great. i had this recipe years ago but as it was only on a not pad i have lost it. Have been searching for ages. It was always my youngest sons favourite,now i can cook it for him wehen he is home

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      We all loved this! Bok choy was unavailable so I successfully used broccoli. Had I read *parsley*'s review, I would also have added garlic & I prefer boneless thighs over breasts as well. I served this with steamed brown rice. Thank you, Lauralie for a delicious, quick & easy dinner! Made for the Asian Forum's Chinese/Vietnamese New Year Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I loved this! I loved the flavor and how quick and easy it was to make. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and I highly recommend using the thighs over breasts. The only thing I added was a clove of minced garlic. Bok choy is such a great choice of Chinese veggie for this dish. Thanx for sharing. This is a keeper! Happy New Year of the Rat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Very easy recipe, and quick, too. I used 4 star anise and crushed them a bit to get more of that flavor I like. I also cut the chicken up into small cubes. I thickened the sauce a little with some arrowroot so it would cling better. Still needs a little something, maybe some minced garlic simmering in the sauce... Thank you for sharing your recipe, Lauralie41.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      Good; but there's another version in which the chicken is stir-fried first with ginger and scallions--then you add soy and sugar and boil them down to a sticky paste. Afterward the broth and other ingredients are added. That gives it "zing."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2003

      Easy and delicious. My whole family said this was a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Simmered in Soy and Star Anise

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.9
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    24%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1280.1 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 30.2 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese wine

    star anise

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes