188 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was my first time to make Jambalaya and I am sur glad I used your recipe! Wonderful flavor. I used Mennonite sausage instead of andouille (can't find it here) and 3/4 tsp cayenne. Used prawns sausage & cooked chicken chunks WOW thanks SueL I'll cook this again. Served it with Fried Okra and Collard greens

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy May 20, 2002

I just made this the other night. My first jambalaya experience. I used hot italian sausage. My husband has requested it again already. Great recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeAnn November 06, 2002

I've made this jambalaya at least a half dozen times and every time it turns out delicious! I use long grain brown rice and boil it for just about 10 minutes more than suggested and leave it in the oven for about 15 minutes longer due to the longer cooking time of the brown rice. DELICIOUS! Thanks, Sue!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassie A September 13, 2009

The recipe sounds great, however, I'm not a rice lover. For those pasta lovers like myself, try using spaghetti instead of rice. Jambalaya w/spagheti is great. The meal is prepared the same, however you use spaghetti. This dish (spaghetti jambalaya) is great and I would rate this particular dish 5 stars. Try it, I'm sure you'll like it, those in New Orleans do.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeone July 18, 2002

I myself don't care for jambalaya, but I made it for a family get-together and they rated it 5 stars. I made it as specified, although I used homemade chicken stock and crushed tomatoes instead of chopped. I also made it in the crockpot, on low for 7 hours. The shrimp I held off adding in until 15 minutes prior to serving. One mistake I made was to add the rice at the beginning of the cook time, by the time I served it you could not visibly discern most of the rice. Next time I will add in 3 hours prior to serving and it should be good. Hope this helps someone! Thanks for the recipe :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies April 03, 2009

i added hot sauce and a several dashes of worcestershire sauce. Otherwise, hubby loved it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icandoit185 January 18, 2011

We love this! We aren't rice people either, and we LOVE sauce... The first time I made this the liquid, without the rice, was too soupy. Last night I substituted tomato sauce for the chicken stock, which made it about perfect ( in our house at least) to go over pasta! Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dyan August 10, 2010

This was good! I added chopped garlic in with the sauteeing veggies and did not add the extra salt (didn't think it needed it!). I sprinkled the chicken thighs with Cajun seasoning but next time I wouldn't use them at all- why get a pan dirty- and would just saute chicken breasts in with the veggies. I served this with Louisiana hot sauce and it was great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa in CO June 04, 2010

Great one pot meal. Cut the recipe down to serve two and cooked on top of the stove instead of the oven. Substitued chicken breast for the thigh. Also added some hot sauce. Thanks for sharing Sue. Made for ZWT 5.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench May 28, 2009

Pretty good. I think it's missing some flavor. I needed to add more liquid as well. I also would double the tomato. That would probably be enough extra liquid. My husband and I really like spicy stuff. It's a great recipe and very versatile. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenisinchina June 30, 2010
Chicken, Shrimp and Andouille Jambalaya