Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Shawarma Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Shawarma Recipe

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2007

      I used chicken tenders and had to skip the cardamom because I didn't have any and it is about 10 bucks a bottle. It was still good w/o it! I was really worried at first because when I took the chicken out of the bag it was marinating in, it smelled horrible (mostly b/c of the vinegar)! But once it started cooking, it smelled great and turned out wonderfully. The marinade made a tasty coating on the chicken. I didn't cut the tenders before cooking them, and they only cooked for about 15 minutes on medium heat before they were done (flipped halfway through). I used roasted garlic hummus instead of the sauce. I topped the wraps (I used tortillas) with chopped red onion, sliced cucumbers, halved grape tomatoes, and feta cheese. It was so yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I quadrupled the recipe and made this for a Middle Eastern themed party, and it was a huge hit! Almost everyone asked for the recipe, and there was none left. I made my own tahini, and the sauce was amazing. It looked like someone had licked the bowl clean! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      The recipe is not written in a good way and the proportions seem to be totally out of place.<br/><br/>1 cup of Tahini with 2 tbsp of yoghurt does not make a sauce, it is concrete!<br/>You definitely don't need 45 minutes to cook a chicken that has been marinated and in thin cuts. it takes more like 5-10 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I absolutely love this recipe! My boyfriend is from Saudi and he couldn't believe how much it tastes like the Shawarma he grew up with. I usually shred the chicken and it absorbs the flavor much better. Garlic mayo and warm pita are a must for this dish. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      this was a wonderful Shawarma recipe! a friend from out of town introduced us to a fantastic Mediterranean deli near where she lives that serves it and ever since I've been trying to replicate it at home. this comes the closest to what i know it should taste like. i used a mix of chicken thighs and breasts and wrapped the cooked chicken up in warmed pitas with garlic mayo, pickles, lettuce, onion, tomato and cucumber. my family devoured every drop, nothing left over at all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      This was soo yummy!!! I wasn't really sure with the yogurt but it turn out wonderful!! and was pretty quick to make!.. Would reccomend this to all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Everyone enjoyed this! I was so happy to use the sumac that was sent to me, lol. The sauce seized up like concrete when I combined the tahini with the yogurt & lemon juice so it was more like a spread than a sauce. DH thought it needed more garlic. But hey, there are NO LEFTOVERS!!! Thanks, Ann! Made for ZWT3 NA*ME Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Really good! Even my 7 year old downed two helpings of this. I thinned out the tahini sauce with a bit more yogurt, but that's just personal preference. Seasonings were very pleasant and chicken nice and tender. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Shawarma Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 721.7
     
    Calories from Fat 304
    42%
    Total Fat 33.8 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 107.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 738.6 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 57.4 g
    114%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cardamom pods

    sumac

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes