Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Shawarma Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Shawarma

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2014

      When I mixed the seasonings, I was very afraid because the smell was not appealing at all. It smelle like dirty shorts to me. I went ahead and grilled the chicken anyway and was very surprised at the results. It was very good. I did not make the tahini, as we prefer tzatziki. I will still be searching for a shawarma recipe, however, as I want something more like the red chunks of chicken we get in local restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Omigod so good! I also made Baba Ghanouj (Roast Eggplant Puree) and some hummus to go with it. Thanks Lynn!<br/>Made for PAC Spring '13

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      This was good. I let the chicken marinate for a couple of hours first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      This is (by far) the best shawarma recipe we have tried. I didn't change a thing and it came out beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      Great reviews twice in a row! The flavors of the spices on the chicken, the peppers and the "sauce" sing in perfect harmony! My only deviation was slicing the chicken breasts up first, putting the seasonings in a ziplock bag to coat and cooking in a fry pan. Too cold to grill in Ohio in January. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Yum! DH and I really enjoyed this chicken shawarma for dinner last night. We made no modifications to the ingredients, but DH did grill the veggies instead of sauteeing them. This worked out well and that way he could just monitor all the food at once. We served with fresh grilled corn on the cob. I'd have this again. Thanks, Lynn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Wonderful! The flavors on the chicken were just delicious, and it was so easy to toss together. I used the recommended Montreal seasoning. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This was delicious! What a great and quick way to shake up chicken! Made for ZWT6 Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      A million stars! I love chicken in yogurt based marinade. It's so tender and juicy. Used a good nonfat Greek yogurt so it would stick well. THe grilling just made it better! Made for ZWT6 by a Looney Spoon Phoodie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I baked this instead of grilling (375*F for 40 minutes from frozen.) Delicious! I didn't make the yogurt sauce, but used Tzatziki instead (not a big fan of tahini.) This was so simple, and a nice change from just plain chicken breast. We will be making this again! For ZWT6 N.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      We really enjoyed this for supper tonight. I made the sauce up earlier in the day and just thinned it with a little water as it thickened up some in the fridge. I would smear the paste on the chicken a couple of hours before grilling just to get it to penetrate the meat more. The instructions were easy to follow and dinner was on the table in no time. Served with North African Carrot Salad and African Couscous Salad for a lovely meal. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Shawarma

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 714.2
     
    Calories from Fat 355
    49%
    Total Fat 39.5 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 465.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 40.7 g
    81%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning

    Greek yogurt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes