11 Reviews

When I mixed the seasonings, I was very afraid because the smell was not appealing at all. It smelle like dirty shorts to me. I went ahead and grilled the chicken anyway and was very surprised at the results. It was very good. I did not make the tahini, as we prefer tzatziki. I will still be searching for a shawarma recipe, however, as I want something more like the red chunks of chicken we get in local restaurants.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pasharain December 11, 2014

This was good. I let the chicken marinate for a couple of hours first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 May 27, 2012

This is (by far) the best shawarma recipe we have tried. I didn't change a thing and it came out beautifully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krista m. July 10, 2011

Great reviews twice in a row! The flavors of the spices on the chicken, the peppers and the "sauce" sing in perfect harmony! My only deviation was slicing the chicken breasts up first, putting the seasonings in a ziplock bag to coat and cooking in a fry pan. Too cold to grill in Ohio in January. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mj2trip January 23, 2011

Yum! DH and I really enjoyed this chicken shawarma for dinner last night. We made no modifications to the ingredients, but DH did grill the veggies instead of sauteeing them. This worked out well and that way he could just monitor all the food at once. We served with fresh grilled corn on the cob. I'd have this again. Thanks, Lynn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 30, 2010

Wonderful! The flavors on the chicken were just delicious, and it was so easy to toss together. I used the recommended Montreal seasoning. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews June 27, 2010

This was delicious! What a great and quick way to shake up chicken! Made for ZWT6 Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B June 16, 2010

A million stars! I love chicken in yogurt based marinade. It's so tender and juicy. Used a good nonfat Greek yogurt so it would stick well. THe grilling just made it better! Made for ZWT6 by a Looney Spoon Phoodie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field June 14, 2010

I baked this instead of grilling (375*F for 40 minutes from frozen.) Delicious! I didn't make the yogurt sauce, but used Tzatziki instead (not a big fan of tahini.) This was so simple, and a nice change from just plain chicken breast. We will be making this again! For ZWT6 N.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 09, 2010
Chicken Shawarma