22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This review is for the sauce only. I had 1/2 of a frozen rotisserie chicken that needed to be used. This was JUST the sauce to spruce it up! Even tho the chicken was cooked, I cut into pieces and stuck it in the pan with 2 T. olive oil for about 5 minutes. Proceeded to make the sauce, then added the chicken back in, only to warm it up, about 10 minutes. I did end up stirring a bit of flour, butter and chicken broth (shaked in a jar) to thicken it up at the end. Moist and juicy, this was a big hit! Can't wait to try it with an uncooked chicken. Thanks for posting, Jane.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie March 24, 2010

This was fabulous! It christened my kitchen in my new apt, and provided a first dish for BF and his visiting mom! Very light and flavorful, easy to make, and the chicken stayed very moist. I also used boneless, skinless breasts, and it was very tasty! Definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PianoCook March 19, 2010

Delicious! This was WONDERFUL! I would definitely serve this at a dinner party! We used chicken thighs, but I think I would use boneless, skinless breasts next time to keep it a bit lighter in calories and fat. Thank you SO much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms.susan December 15, 2009

This is delicious and simple. I have about 30 lbs of chicken parts( mostly back and thighs) in my freezer due to sales at the grocery and have been looking for different ways to make what can be a boring meal fun and delicious. I have made this 2 or 3 times now and it has become a favorite in our house. I cut back the amount of oil and butter as it is really more than is needed. I also used Gluten free all-purpose flour. I tried it the first time using chickpea flour since I usually use chickpea flour for breading/dredging things and while it tasted wonderful my gravy was clumpy and disgusting looking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ames0325 December 10, 2009

Yay! A chicken recipe that isn't 'blah'! I had a bunch of thawed out dark chicken parts (bone in/skin-on) in the fridge and I wondered what I'd do with them this afternoon... luckily I found this recipe and had everything on hand. The only changes I made were that I chose to cook this on the stove top rather than finish in the oven (sort of braising the chicken in the sauce). I also added 2 dried bay leaves after replacing the chicken into the pan, and I squeezed only one lemon wedge into the dish and threw in the lemon wedge with the dish to cook (of course, remove it after cooking), this way I didn't have to be excessive with the lemon juice but I got a subtle, infused lemon taste throughout the dish. I normally discard the skin when it's time to eat, but I couldn't resist how tasty it looked (check out my pic to see :)... I served this with lightly, buttered egg noodles. Me and my 2 yo daughter loved it... can't wait till the hubby gets home :) Thanks for the simple and yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlao77 September 10, 2009

I made this dish last night b/cause the recipe contains all the herbs I have in my garden. Not to be too critical, I felt that this dish was labor intensive and quite unhealthy. The sauce was tasty but I feel that this dish could be simplified and made much more healthy. I wouldn't make it in this form, but I would use the combo. of herbs and wine again. Thanks for the recipe though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jklein8962 September 09, 2009

Loved all the way around the table! What a great chicken recipe Janet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunny In Florida April 09, 2009

This was really different, I really liked it I didn't have any fresh parsley so I used cilantro instead and it was great. Its a keeper. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef Nic November 03, 2008

I used b/s chicken breasts and added a bit of lemon zest to the sauce. I have made it twice now, and the second time I put about half of the lemon juice in the sauce before replacing the chicken which gave it more lemon flavor in the end. Oh, I added some fresh mushrooms to the sauce at the end and served it over brown rice. Great new chicken recipe - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlchavez77 June 25, 2008
Chicken Scarpariello (Roast Chicken in Lemon&wine)