Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Scarpariello (Roast Chicken in Lemon&wine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Scarpariello (Roast Chicken in Lemon&wine)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2010

      This review is for the sauce only. I had 1/2 of a frozen rotisserie chicken that needed to be used. This was JUST the sauce to spruce it up! Even tho the chicken was cooked, I cut into pieces and stuck it in the pan with 2 T. olive oil for about 5 minutes. Proceeded to make the sauce, then added the chicken back in, only to warm it up, about 10 minutes. I did end up stirring a bit of flour, butter and chicken broth (shaked in a jar) to thicken it up at the end. Moist and juicy, this was a big hit! Can't wait to try it with an uncooked chicken. Thanks for posting, Jane.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This was fabulous! It christened my kitchen in my new apt, and provided a first dish for BF and his visiting mom! Very light and flavorful, easy to make, and the chicken stayed very moist. I also used boneless, skinless breasts, and it was very tasty! Definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Delicious! This was WONDERFUL! I would definitely serve this at a dinner party! We used chicken thighs, but I think I would use boneless, skinless breasts next time to keep it a bit lighter in calories and fat. Thank you SO much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This is delicious and simple. I have about 30 lbs of chicken parts( mostly back and thighs) in my freezer due to sales at the grocery and have been looking for different ways to make what can be a boring meal fun and delicious. I have made this 2 or 3 times now and it has become a favorite in our house. I cut back the amount of oil and butter as it is really more than is needed. I also used Gluten free all-purpose flour. I tried it the first time using chickpea flour since I usually use chickpea flour for breading/dredging things and while it tasted wonderful my gravy was clumpy and disgusting looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Yay! A chicken recipe that isn't 'blah'! I had a bunch of thawed out dark chicken parts (bone in/skin-on) in the fridge and I wondered what I'd do with them this afternoon... luckily I found this recipe and had everything on hand. The only changes I made were that I chose to cook this on the stove top rather than finish in the oven (sort of braising the chicken in the sauce). I also added 2 dried bay leaves after replacing the chicken into the pan, and I squeezed only one lemon wedge into the dish and threw in the lemon wedge with the dish to cook (of course, remove it after cooking), this way I didn't have to be excessive with the lemon juice but I got a subtle, infused lemon taste throughout the dish. I normally discard the skin when it's time to eat, but I couldn't resist how tasty it looked (check out my pic to see :)... I served this with lightly, buttered egg noodles. Me and my 2 yo daughter loved it... can't wait till the hubby gets home :) Thanks for the simple and yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I made this dish last night b/cause the recipe contains all the herbs I have in my garden. Not to be too critical, I felt that this dish was labor intensive and quite unhealthy. The sauce was tasty but I feel that this dish could be simplified and made much more healthy. I wouldn't make it in this form, but I would use the combo. of herbs and wine again. Thanks for the recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

    • on April 09, 2009

      Loved all the way around the table! What a great chicken recipe Janet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This was really different, I really liked it I didn't have any fresh parsley so I used cilantro instead and it was great. Its a keeper. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I used b/s chicken breasts and added a bit of lemon zest to the sauce. I have made it twice now, and the second time I put about half of the lemon juice in the sauce before replacing the chicken which gave it more lemon flavor in the end. Oh, I added some fresh mushrooms to the sauce at the end and served it over brown rice. Great new chicken recipe - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Chicken tasted good. Bold rich flavor. A little different than what I am use to. Never the less good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Very flavorable and delicious! Everyone here really enjoyed it! I used boneless chicken breasts and it worked fine. This is a repeater in our house. Thanks Janet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This is a great dish. I used all thighs bone-in, but next time I will use boneless instead. There is a local restaurant that makes this dish with boneless chicken and a few sliced mushrooms. I will post again with updates. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      This was so good and easy. My picky 10 year old came back for seconds. That's high praise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This was really delish. Did the whole thing in an electric frypan. Prob would have been 5 stars except I drank a glass of that wine while I made it...got a bit slap happy with the lemon so it was a bit strong. Also, here in Fiji many ingredients are not readily available...I couldn't find rosemary OR oregano so used Mixed Herbs instead. Prob would have been better with the right stuff, but it still did the job. Used lemon granules instead of juice? great stuff, just don't drink at the same time : )) This is a great recipe and we loved it. Skipped the parsley, (parsley in Fiji? maybe somewhere) Used fillets, used marg instead of unsalted butter and chicken stock powder in water...and it was really nice. Served with honeyed carrots. Actually it's the best thing I've eaten in the three months we've lived here! So what the heck, I'll give it 5 stars anyway... : ))) And yes. We'll have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I will give it a 5 if I can find a way to make it off the bone or in smaller boned pieces. So far best recipe Ive gotten off of zaar I think

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This was awesome, I made it for my Dad's birthday and everyone loved it! The only thing I did different was I used chicken tenderloins and added some fresh cheese ravioli my mom made earlier in the week. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      4 out of 5 of my family loved this chicken.The sauce made a very rich gravy. I have one "mikey" who hates everything with flavor. This would definitely be a good guest pleaser with a mushroom risotto and steamed asparagus.It is very quick to get ready for the oven,also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      We accidently added a little too much lemon juice (a mis-communication between me and my beau) But the texture and the tenderness of it was very, very nice. We used boneless chicken breasts and cut them into smaller pieces as well, it still works. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      It was good. My sweetie really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Scarpariello (Roast Chicken in Lemon&wine)

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 761.5
     
    Calories from Fat 467
    61%
    Total Fat 51.9 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 156.5 mg
    52%
    Sodium 318.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 36.6 g
    73%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh rosemary

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites