Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Scampi Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Scampi Risotto

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2009

      A good recipe with some tweaks. I used seasoned croutons and crushed them as my breadcrumbs. I also used more garlic added the garlic about 1-2 mins before the rice so it didn't burn. The lemon in the broth seemed to make it taste a bit sour while I was tasting, so I added some sugar to balance it out. Perhaps low sodium chicken brother should be used, because I used normal broth. I would not add the chicken to the risotto after the 4th serving as instructed in the recipe, but just serve on top of risotto to give a different texture of crunch from the chicken. The chicken is delicious on it's own! The dish is very monotone with just one color so I would add vegetables to it - perhaps red bell pepper and peas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Great recipe! Very comforting and hearty. We ended up using close to 7 cups of broth (crazy, I know). I did use Better than Boullion, but next time will use homemade or a high quality stock because the stock really is what dominates the flavors in the recipe. I used 2 large chicken breasts which was a good amount and just right for the breading, but three would have been good if we had more people eating with us (would need to increase breading). I made sure to save all of the wonderful crispy topping that fell off of the chicken while frying it and I added it back in - try this because it adds a delightful texture contrast to the creamy risotto. We tasted the risotto at the end and felt that it was plenty rich without adding the extra butter, so we left it out to shave off a few calories. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      We loved this. Like other reviewers I thought the lemon juice added such flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This was my first time making risotto and it came out amazing. It came out perfect. We will definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      WOW--what a wonderful main dish risotto. We make risotto often, and the lemon in the broth is such a wonderful addition and the reggiano on the chicken scampi brings everything together. We followed the recipe as is and will add more garlic the next time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This was a really nice, very creamy, flavorful risotto dish. I found it easy to make. I thought the flavor of the lemons (having had been heated with the broth) really came through nicely without overpowering the dish. I would make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      We enjoyed this very much. It was my first attempt at risotto and I wasn't sure if I should constantly stir through the entire cooking process so I opted to err on the side of caution and did stir constantly. The flavor was very good and it was a lot creamier and richer than I had expected it to be. We'll definitely be having it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      wonderful mix of flavors. I used lime juice instead of lemon as this was all I had in the house. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I LOVE this dish! So creamy and delicious... The only changes I made was to bread the chicken in cornmeal & parmesan (due to BF's dietary restrictions) and add the garlic right before the rice (so it wouldn't burn). Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing! Thank you so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This is one of my first risottos I've made and it turned out delicious. I chose this for the Risotto Challenge in Zaar World Tour 4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers. This really was simple to make and the flavors are just wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Wonderful! I have always been intimidated by risotto but this recipe made it sound approachable. DH and golfing buddies scarfed it up in no time flat. Will definitely make again! Next time I may leave out the lemon and add more garlic. Made for the Risotto Challenge ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I made this for dinner for the risotto challenge in ZWT. Myself and my family loved this dish!!! I didn't have regular breadcrumbs, so I substituted panko (Japanese breadcrumbs), other than that made as directed. I liked that is was all cooked in one pan and made for easier clean-up. Thanks Charmie for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Very good! The only change I made was to add the lemon juice directly over the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      We liked this recipe very much. I had to use long grain rice since no one had arborio (guess I'll have to go to the big city for that). Had to add about 1 cup more liquid than it called for, but that could have been due to the rice. I used juice of 1/2 lemon (since hubby doesn't like alot of it) and grated the rind into it too. MMMMMMMM. Creamy with just a hint of lemon. Thanx for sharing Charmie777 !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This is a wonderful risotto. The directions were great in regards to getting the rice the right consistancy...my last risotto came out a tad crunchy. I skipped the wine and just added more chicken broth and used homemade breadcrumbs (pulverized hard french bread). I also found that I only needed about half of the chicken, but I had already fried it all up, so I'm going to use it in another recipe that calls for cooked diced chicken. I loved the lemony flavor...definitely use real lemons and add it to the simmering chicken broth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Scampi Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (480 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 886.9
     
    Calories from Fat 426
    48%
    Total Fat 47.3 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 159.2 mg
    53%
    Sodium 870.6 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.1 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 45.2 g
    90%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites