15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A good recipe with some tweaks. I used seasoned croutons and crushed them as my breadcrumbs. I also used more garlic added the garlic about 1-2 mins before the rice so it didn't burn. The lemon in the broth seemed to make it taste a bit sour while I was tasting, so I added some sugar to balance it out. Perhaps low sodium chicken brother should be used, because I used normal broth. I would not add the chicken to the risotto after the 4th serving as instructed in the recipe, but just serve on top of risotto to give a different texture of crunch from the chicken. The chicken is delicious on it's own! The dish is very monotone with just one color so I would add vegetables to it - perhaps red bell pepper and peas.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vusandra July 29, 2009

Great recipe! Very comforting and hearty. We ended up using close to 7 cups of broth (crazy, I know). I did use Better than Boullion, but next time will use homemade or a high quality stock because the stock really is what dominates the flavors in the recipe. I used 2 large chicken breasts which was a good amount and just right for the breading, but three would have been good if we had more people eating with us (would need to increase breading). I made sure to save all of the wonderful crispy topping that fell off of the chicken while frying it and I added it back in - try this because it adds a delightful texture contrast to the creamy risotto. We tasted the risotto at the end and felt that it was plenty rich without adding the extra butter, so we left it out to shave off a few calories. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz November 16, 2011

We loved this. Like other reviewers I thought the lemon juice added such flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwagner3 July 07, 2009

This was my first time making risotto and it came out amazing. It came out perfect. We will definately be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danyell #3 June 18, 2009

WOW--what a wonderful main dish risotto. We make risotto often, and the lemon in the broth is such a wonderful addition and the reggiano on the chicken scampi brings everything together. We followed the recipe as is and will add more garlic the next time. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sodak1951 April 25, 2009

This was a really nice, very creamy, flavorful risotto dish. I found it easy to make. I thought the flavor of the lemons (having had been heated with the broth) really came through nicely without overpowering the dish. I would make this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny March 13, 2009

We enjoyed this very much. It was my first attempt at risotto and I wasn't sure if I should constantly stir through the entire cooking process so I opted to err on the side of caution and did stir constantly. The flavor was very good and it was a lot creamier and richer than I had expected it to be. We'll definitely be having it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann January 16, 2009

wonderful mix of flavors. I used lime juice instead of lemon as this was all I had in the house. I will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 December 19, 2008

I LOVE this dish! So creamy and delicious... The only changes I made was to bread the chicken in cornmeal & parmesan (due to BF's dietary restrictions) and add the garlic right before the rice (so it wouldn't burn). Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing! Thank you so much for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BadgerLuv December 09, 2008

This is one of my first risottos I've made and it turned out delicious. I chose this for the Risotto Challenge in Zaar World Tour 4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers. This really was simple to make and the flavors are just wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 10, 2008
Chicken Scampi Risotto