Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Satay Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Satay

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2007

      Fantastic! I have a treasured family recipe, which was given to my mum in the 60’s by an Indonesian friend, but I still wanted to try this version as well. This was absolutely five star. The peanut and coconut sauce was a good mix - we did think the addition of a lime might have enhanced it - I use lime in my recipe, but that was not enough reason to take a star away!! The marinade for the chicken was excellent, I have never used whisky before & although I could not taste it, but I am sure it tenderised the chicken and "deepened" the flavour. The recipe was well written and easy to follow, an absolute winner kiwidutch, I am glad I tried it! FT:-) P.S. I still think lime juice might give the sauce just that bit of a "zing".....but that is purely personal taste!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Had this today and it was great. When putting it into the blender a pretty yellow bell pepper caught my eye so I threw it in and blended it up. I then realized it wanted the chicken bbq'd, which I dont have. So I put the mix in a frying pan, added the chicken and let it simmer for a while till the chicken was done. It made a yummy indian tasting meal over rice. I added cilantro and fresh lemon at the end. So... I did it a bit different but had a great meal that I wouldnt have thought of without your recipe as inspiration. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Great recipe! I used thin-sliced chicken breasts and didn't skewer them. For the peanut sauce I used 1/4 cup of chopped peanuts and a tablespoon of crunchy peanut butter; the sauce came out rich and creamy and delicious. As others, I didn't add the condensed milk. The chicken was flavorful and the sauce was nice and spicy - loved this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      The peanut sauce gets a five stars - easy, fragant and exactly what I was looking for in the taste department. The chicken gets three stars. I was very dissappointed, I was thinking that with all the exotic ingredients it would be more tasteful. Also, the turmeric took away that warm, nutty colour that you see when you order satay in a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I have made this countless times in the last four years and it always is a standby favorite for family and friends. I usually double the peanut sauce for the amount of chicken and I might suggest marinating the chicken beforehand for a while. Even our kids who are extremely picky eaters request this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Wow! I spent a bit of time accumulating ingredients that I don't normally use, but it was well worth it! Neighbors were a big help as they provided the whiskey AND the grill, as well as three additional bodies to help clean up the evidence! This was a new taste experience for all of us, & it was wonderful! Definitely a recipe to do again! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was just delicious! With the exception of not including whiskey, I made the recipe as printed. I did allow the chicken to marinate in the sauce for about an hour, and since it was so successful that way, I will continue to do so in future. Also, for leftovers tonight, I will follow another reviewer's suggestion of adding a squeeze of lime, just to try that out, not because I feel it actually needs it. I am going to add this recipe to my "sauces" cookbook too...the peanut sauce is perfect, and will go well with other meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I made this last night and loved it. My boyfriend wants me to keep it in heavy rotation. I did not have coriander seeds or tumeric and uses cumin powder instead of cumin seeds and it still came out delicious. I also used a little bit more coconut milk instead of condensed milk. I felt like it would be waste to open a can of condensed milk for just a tablespoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Oh, how I wish I had made this for someone besides myself and DD. It was absolutely delicious. I left out the condensed milk because I didn't have any and a previous reviewer had good results without it. I served with lime slices and the addition of lime juice was enjoyed by me but DD preferred it without. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This was one of the most authentic Thai Chicken Satay's I've tasted - with the exception of the missing lime. Coriander does add a "limey" taste, but nothing adds the acidity of lime except lime. So added lime juice both to the sauce and the spice paste. There really is no need for 1 tbsp condensed milk? amidst all that coconut milk so I left it out. I also left out the whiskey, which probably would've been great but I didn't have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

    • on November 18, 2005

      Fabulous - many thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Satay

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 463.4
     
    Calories from Fat 290
    62%
    Total Fat 32.3 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 845.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites