57 Reviews

This dish was ok, but I had some issues with it. First, you put the baby spinach in with the onions, then cook it for 12 min with the wine and cream. By the time the dish is done, you have cooked the heck out of the baby spinach and you may as well have used a frozen box of spinach. I may try this again, putting the spinach in at the end of the reduction time. Also, after 12 min, this was still pretty watery. It needs more reduction time, or, a little flour or something to thicken the sauce. I also think it needs some mushrooms to make it a step up. But saying all of that, I think this recipe has potential to be really good with a little tweeking.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melmom45 February 15, 2010

Even though I beat them my chicken breast were thick and not done after browning. I made the sauce and then put everything in the oven and cooked for 25 minutes on 350. The sauce didn't thicken in the oven as I had hoped, so I thickened it back on the stovetop and added some diced tomato. This was DELICIOUS!!! My husband LOVED it!!! That means many many many stars! Thank you Boca Pat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie September 26, 2011

This is excellent. Used quite a bit of cayenne pepper and salt and its really good! I reduced the sauce before adding the spinach because otherwise the spinach turns really mushy. I like my spinach more when its just barely wilted. I also sauteed fresh sliced mushrooms with the chicken and just before putting the cheese on the chicken I chopped up one fresh tomato and added it to the sauce, for color and some added flavor. Made again, and I minced up three jalapenos, added it on top of the chicken and mushrooms and it really added much needed flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover September 20, 2011

I made this dish last night and both my husband I were really pleased with the end result. :) The frying of the chicken I felt was key in this dish...especially with having a sauce over the top of it....no soggy chicken. :) I doubled the sauce recipe and added minced garlic since my husband and I adore it. One thing I will do next time is add some cornstarch to help thicken the sauce, it had terrific flavor just a little thin probably due to me doubling the recipe. Rather then wipping out the pan after the frying of the chicken, and adding new oil, I just added my ingredients to the oil left in the pan. I figured it would provide more flavor. I served this with steamed broccoli and Cavatappi (corkscrew) pasta and poured the remaining sauce over the noodles. This is a must for all recipe files in my opinion. Thank you for sharing Boca Pat!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere September 02, 2009

This was excellent. Tasted like restaurant quality. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilyn August 31, 2009

Update to my previous review is the upgrade to Five Stars, and to say that this has been one of the most requested chicken dishes by the family. Jul 14, 2006: A really great way to eat chicken (please see how I rate recipes)! My friends liked this, and I thought for the amount of work/time it was a great dish to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hobbit July 05, 2009

I really enjoyed this dish. I thought it had great flavor and a nice presentation. I would make this again. I did not alter a thing. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny March 16, 2009

This was delicious!!! It was alittle bit of work, but it was well worth it!It was a great change from the traditional chicken recipes. It was enjoyed by my whole family. I used gluten free flour, to make this a gluten free recipe! Yum!! I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlutenFreeGirl February 10, 2009

This recipe was great. I used half and half like many others. Though it did not thicken quite as much as would heavy cream, it was well worth saving the calories. Also, some other easy low fat additions would be to use low fat mozzarella and substite eggs. Wonderful meal! Mmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Cuisiniere October 14, 2008
Chicken San Remo