Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Salad for Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Salad for Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2011

      Very good and tasty, good job Ellie. I didnt have any fresh parsley or dill seed, so I ommited the parsley and used dill weed, 1/2 of what was suggested for the dill seed. Still was very good, I plan on making it this way from this day fourth. I chopped some romaine lettuce and put it in a bowl, mixed it up with this recipe and shook a few shakes of malt vinergar over the top, delicious!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Very good basic recipe, even though I had to make some minor changes based on what I had on hand. I used cooked leftover chicken, so that eliminated steps 1-3. I had to use dried parsley (less of course) because I had no fresh. Dried dill instead of seeds, and my celery was on it's last legs, so I salvaged what I could, chopped it and a little onion in the food processor, and then added celery salt to the final product. This may look like a lot of changes, but it really isn't, hence the 5 stars. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      Made this for my mother's birthday luncheon today and it was a hit. I did make some changes. I only used 1 TBL lemon juice, omitted the dill seed and used a TBL of prepared pesto sauce instead of parsley. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      YUM!! Had some leftover chicken to be dealt with today. Love the idea of cooking raw in the celery and onions though without using them in the recipe! I will definitely be trying that soon! I subbed celery seed since I had no celery and was out of dill as well. I know chicken salad with dill is awesome though and I cannot wait to try it will fresh this summer! Thanks for a winner recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      Really good, I loved the fact that you process the chicken. My biggest complaint with chicken salad is the large chunks of chicken! Fine for a salad, but not in a sandwich:) I did feel the lemon was a bit overpowering, so I added a dash of sugar to counteract the acidity. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Classic chicken salad. Nice and easy. Goes great on salads, sandwiches, and vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Very good chicken salad for summertime or picnic sandwiches. I added a little extra chopped dill in addition to the dill seeds. Have made this several times and it's always a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      Simple and good! I used my food processor to chop everything including chicken and veggies. I also halve the mayo. Tasted quite good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      I think the reason a few people rate this low is because they eat it the first day. The first day its 'mehhh', okay. The second day its AMAZING!!!<br/>I don't have a food chopper so I just throw the chicken in my kitchen-aid mixer and it tears it right up for me! I absolutely LOVE this recipe! The Dill Seed gives it that special flavor so don't skip that step!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I made this chicken salad for my son but he didn't like it. Too bad for him. I'm the one lucky to eat it. And it's so yummy. Thanks ellie :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I had a heap of roast chicken left which I left over which had been well flavoured by the stuffing and the seasoning so just mixed int he the celery and the parsley and then I mixed the mayonnnaise, lemon juice and dill together and then mixed into the chicken (of which I used 2 halve breasts and the meat from 2 thighes) and used about just under 3/4 cups of mayonnaise which was plenty to moisten the chicken for us. Served with a side salad as a main dish with a dinner roll on the side. Thank you ellie_, made for I Recommend Tag game and recommended by pammyowl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Sorry to rate this so low, but none of us liked this at all as written. I followed the recipe and used only 1 1/2 cups of mayo, and that was all I tasted. I ended up adding a lot of this and that just to make it edible, including green onion, mustard powder, pepper, and sugar of all things. I finially got it to where some of us really liked it and some of us just kinda tolerated it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This was inspiration for lunch today. I didn't have chicken breasts but I did have canned chicken which I used. I also topped this with a bit of seasoning salt. Tasty - thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Very good chicken salad. I will use this recipe again. I did add diced sweet onion and red bell pepper along with the diced celery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This is a great and simple recipe for chicken salad. I substituted dill weed for dill seed. I used this salad with crackers for me and husbnad's snacks, and it was good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Very good chicken salad and so easy to make! I didn't have fresh parsley on hand, so I ommited it. It was still very good. I have added this recipe to my recipe box. Next time I will make sure I have fresh parsley on hand. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Simple, elegant, and has a special little taste with the addition of the dill! LOVE IT! I had left over rotisserie chicken, and didn't have celery. I used celery salt, dried dill, dried parsley, and added 1/4 of a fresh onion. Fantastic recipe! Thank you!! My only caution would be to not over process it, as it can get pasty. :-) (But that's not a function of the recipe, it was operator error!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      sorry but this recipe fail my husband didn't like it at all

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Very tasty! I had canned chicken on hand so I used than and just added 1/2 tsp. onion powder to it. I only used 1/2 c. mayonaise to 12 oz. canned chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      This chicken salad was well received at a luncheon we threw for friends. I never thought to chop the chikcen in the food processor before and it turned out great! Everyone thought I bought the salad at a Deli. This recipe is a keeper. I used fresh dill instead of dill seed and kept everything else the same. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Salad for Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 613.6
     
    Calories from Fat 387
    63%
    Total Fat 43.0 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 115.7 mg
    38%
    Sodium 748.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites