61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

On flavor, this got 5 stars. Loved it. Substituted poultry seasoning for thyme but kept everything else the same. Cooking it gets 4 - The rice on the bottom of the casserole dried out and got crunchy which received complaints... next time, I would make more sauce and mix said sauce into the rice to keep it moist.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesikae January 25, 2011

Great comfort food recipe, my entire family of 5 loved it! I used a multi-grain brown rice/wild rice mixture (not quick or instant rice) and poached my chicken which was seasoned well with salt, pepper & adobo in with the rice while it was cooking to save time. I put a bit of cream sauce on the bottom of the pan before adding the rice, next time I may try adding sauteed mushrooms in addition to the peas. For the topping I mixed ~1/2-2/3 c. panko bread crumbs with 1 1/2 T. parmesan and melted butter (my family likes crunchy buttery goodness a lot).

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emilydonald August 27, 2012

I made this recipe with a few modifications and all I can say is WOW!

I made more roux than called for and wound up using 1 cup of broth and 1 cup on milk. I used only Old Bay as a seasoning along with salt & pepper. I poured 1/2 cup broth on the rice before adding the chicken mixture and used Panko breadcrumbs on top along with fair amount of finely grated Parmesan cheese.

The dish turned out to be one of the finest tasting recipes of all time!

BTW, I am a male,75 and really enjoy cooking & eating.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhcomp March 06, 2011

This is a very good casserole! One that I will be making again and again. I followed the recipe as written. But I think next time I make it, I will add a bit of chopped onion and garlic for a little more flavor, plus a little more bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese on the top. Those are just our personal tastes. The recipe is good the way it is written. Thanks for sharing this delish casserole.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive* October 23, 2012

This was great. Some heavy cream would do this wonders too, though I just used 1% milk.

I don't mind the tyme, but I did add some garlic and onion powder to the white sauce to jazz it up a bit, and that does wonder and adds an extra layer of flavor.

I only had a little bit of rice (used brown), so I tossed in a box of stuffing mix and it was fabulous. The seasoning of the stuffing mix also added some extra flavor layers. In addition to the peas, I threw in some mushrooms and I caramelized a spanish onion. I think the onion made a big difference.

Very versatile and perfect the way it is or with everyone's great suggestions.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraigPgh March 11, 2012

I hate it when people make substitutions and then say the recipe was horrible.
I made this exactly like the recipe said and it was awesome! My wife likes comfort food and this was incredible as she scarfed it up. I loved it as well. The sauce thickened nicely and the thyme added a bit of flavor to it without overpowering the chicken. Peas added some color and texture to the dish. YUM!

BTW, I'm a trained chef(1980) and a syntheticchemist and this is a simple standard recipe that stands the test of time.

additions.
A little more parm cheese but watch the saltiness of the dish.
A few more bread crumbs but don't dry out the top too much.
Baked for 20 minutes, should bake at 400 for 25 minutes.
O yea, use frozen peas and carrots next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
syntheticchemist October 06, 2011

Great comfort food. I used mushrooms in place of peas and poultry seasoning in place of thyme and it was delicious. I put some cream sauce on the bottom and then put the rice over the sauce and the rice was perfect. I love how you can use any ingredients, any seasonings, whatever leftovers you have and it still is delicious. Easy to make and reheats well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizCl April 08, 2013

Tasty dish that the whole family enjoyed. I put some of the sauce under the rice and that helped keep everything moist. I also sautéed some onions to go in with the chicken. YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2CuteBoys April 07, 2013

This was delicious! I don't often cook with thyme, so I hesitated to buy it for this recipe, but am so glad I did. Really gave it a lovely, rich flavor (although a whole tsp. was a bit strong. Next time I'll add a little less). I decided to make this just because it was the ONLY recipe I could seem to find quickly that didn't call for 'cream of whatever soup' haha. Thanks so much! I can't get Campbell's cream soups where I live (Japan), and the canned cream soups have so many bad things in them anyway. Felt extra great for making a white sauce from scratch. Haven't done that in 10 years so I was nervous it wouldn't turn out but it was really easy. Only complaint would be that the layering of the rice, peas (I don't like them so I used broccoli instead and it was yummy), chicken sauce and breadcrumbs sort of prevents everything from melding like a true casserole. Could have just as easily assembled them on a plate without needing to bake and dirty a pan. Next time I might mix it all together and add a little cheese before baking. All said, this is a very yummy keeper. Very comforting. Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaJ22 March 11, 2012

I made this last night for supper, and it was a hit! I didn't add the peas because I didn't have any, but it was tasty without them. My pickiest eater even enjoyed it very much. I love how the flavor of the thyme comes through, it is so subtle, but really good.
Thanks for posting this recipe, I will definately make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michele April 27, 2012
Chicken Rice Casserole