15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The ultimate comfort food! This is so easy to make and is delicious. I didn't have any cheese soup on hand so I made some by using about 1 cup of milk with about 1/2 cup of velveeta. I microwaved that for about 30 seconds, stirred it and added that in place of the canned soup. It came out great - thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MessyChef November 09, 2007

My husband and I really enjoyed this. All the chopping was a little time consuming but worth it. I think next time I might add a little more broth or soup to give it a little more sauce. I would make this again in a heartbeat and I still have some left over, yummmm.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook Lass January 23, 2012

Wow. Just made this! it was very simple and soooooo delicious. My husband absolutely loved it. I did add some garlic. Very Yummy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbpoek November 12, 2010

Very nice! Easy to prepare, doesn't take long at all! If I were to make this again, I would definitely decrease the onion I use. I think I just got a really strong onion and it gave me a bit of indigestion. Also, next time I will remember to make this is a wider dish. I used a deeper but smaller casserole and it was still cold in the middle when it came out. Thank goodness for microwaves! It reheated very very well the next day too! Thanks ChefV!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Skie October 28, 2009

This was the perfect dinner for us last night. It was very easy to prepare in my exhausted state from working in the yard all day and big enough to feed all the hungry men that were hauling our trees away. I had left over sauteed onion, red & yellow & green bell peppers from the night before so I added that mixture to the seasoned chicken I sauteed for the casserole. This would be a great recipe to use a deli chicken. Everyone loved it!!! Thanks V!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 28, 2007

My family loved this dinner

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie L. October 22, 2014

I like this recipe a lot but agree with a previous reviewer regarding the amount of onion and butter. Also my onions didn't quite cook enough so were still crunchy. My kids (3 and 4) weren't crazy about that so next time I'll probably use less and maybe cook them a little before mixing them in

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelleylmu February 22, 2014

Pretty good, but nothing special, it needs more flavor as it was a bit bland. I added garlic and made sure to season it properly. I threw in some tomatoes because we love tomatoes. The butter was a bit much, so next time I'll cut it on half. Also, I poached 3 lbs of chicken breast, but it was way too much, so I put about half in the dish. I'll probably use the recipe as a base and add more veggies next time. For a quick meal, it's a good solution.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnak88 December 19, 2013

This really fit the bill for a grey, rainy day when feeling lazy and need something easy. I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies, and tossed some french fried onions on top of the cheese to entice the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy0 April 21, 2008

V - Awesome, wonderful, delightful, simple to prepare, inexpensive, tasty, nutritious, delicious, terrific, "we want more", etc., etc.... I've run out of adjectives right now. I made for the Bev Tag '08 and am so glad that I did! Will be making this often. I may take NC's idea and add some red peppers just for more color but just as is is perfect! (one more adjective). Thanks V !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 22, 2008
Chicken, Rice, Broccoli & Cheese Casserole