67 Reviews

Very good! Next time, I think I'll leave out the cinnamon completely. I wasn't crazy about that added flavor, but it wasn't bad. I cubed the chicken and put it into the rice mixture raw, since I do that with other chicken and rice bakes. The chicken was perfectly cooked at the end of 40 minutes. In fact, I'll probably cook it for less time next time I make it, as it was pretty dry.

I loved the smell of the dish while it was cooking! Less cinnamon and more curry would be my ideal dish! Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Milocat April 10, 2012

Doubled the spices and wouldn't go longer than 40 minutes next time. 45 was too long. Delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyle Newton May 11, 2010

The rice did not cook...I had to take the chicken out and microwave the rice for 15 minutes but the rice still never got soft enough for me. My husband liked the spices but were a bit strong for me. Might try again with regular rice and no curry.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindella November 03, 2009

This was very very good. I doubled the spice (except for the cinnamon, just used the stated amount over the chicken before browning). Baked for 45 minutes (did make sure foil tightly covered the baking dish) and it exceptional. Served with chutney (though could have probably put some raisins or cranberries in when baking ) since the sweetness really went well with this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lostksbearindallas April 01, 2012

I followed the recipe to the letter. cooked for 1 hour. very tasty! a break from the usual rice and chicken bakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grampy1939 February 24, 2012

I need to up the amount of curry, etc next time. Not quite as flavorful as I had hoped, esp. with all the great reviews, but still really good and easy. I will be making again and experimenting with the levels of the spices. Do give it a try!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grunig February 11, 2010

My family really enjoyed this chicken -- they loved the rice even though I didn't get it cooked thru all the way. I didn't follow the instructions completely. I was out of cumin and turmeric, so I just omitted those. And I didn't add any salt due to other reviewers comments. I used bone-in legs/thighs. I used long grain brown rice. Other than that, I followed the instructions. The rice wasn't even close to getting done after 40 min, so I took the lovely moist chicken out and put the rice back in (yes, covered) again. After another 20 minutes, the rice still wasn't done, but it was close enough. The kids were starving at this point and ate it up. I may try this again if I can figure out what my rice problem was...maybe brown long grain rice takes longer to cook. Also, my prep work took longer than 15 minutes. I consider prep work all the stuff leading up to popping it in the oven and mine took closer to half an hour -- I was slow and disorganized today though...I guess half that time was spend digging thru my cabinets searching for my cumin & turmeric!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngieME January 27, 2010

Pretty good! My family agrees that it is a do-over (what they tell me when they want me to make a recipe again!) I think I will try to tweak it a little next time around, but it is a good starting point. Thanks for this yummy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moki December 16, 2009

I made it pretty much as written minus the peas because I didn't have any on hand. I'm a guesstimater on spices and it still came out great. I used Minute Rice and it was done in about 20 minutes after frying the chicken in the onion and spices. Great dinner to throw together at the last minute! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XiolaBlue December 11, 2009

Oh, yeah! I re-arranged this a bit when I wrote it for my recipe box. First, I greased the casserole (luckily, I decided to use a large one), set the oven, then made the spice mixture. I used small chicken tenders because that is all I had, but imagine the thighs would be more flavorful. I also have a recipe for stirfried spicy shrimp which I think will work just perfect for this recipe. Then, I used a whole onion, cut into half rings, a big clove of garlic, and some frozen peas (defrosted). This was extremely yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewTulsan November 25, 2009
Chicken, Rice, and Spices Bake