Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken, Rice and Cabbage Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken, Rice and Cabbage Soup

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2009

      Delicious. I saute'd onion, one carrot, one large celery & 3 cloves of minced garlic in olive oil. Then added 8 cups of water and 2 chicken thighs because broth has sodium and we can't use it. I also added 1/4 cup of barley [instedad of rice] and 1/2 cup of yellow split peas because we need the fiber. Everything else we did as instructed and it was yummy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      What a great soup and low-fat! I used turkey breast and that's about the only change I made. I'll be making this again and again, and without guilt if I feel like seconds!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      This soup really hit the spot on this cold/windy day. I made it exactly as written. Wonderful flavor that is sure to please everyone. Thanks for sharing, Molly53, I look forward to making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Wonderful soup! I sauteed the onions and cabbage in olive oil and also the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      If you think cabbage only belongs in a beef soup, oh how wrong you are! Both the DH and I loved this -- a comparatively plebian soup elevated to sophistication by the judicious addition of lemon slices (I upped that a little), parsley (ditto), white pepper, and a pinch of cayenne. Definitely goes into the soup rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      WOW!! This recipe is fantastic! The only changes I made was I sauteed the onion and cabbage in olive oil before adding it to the soup. I did not boil the cabbage because the flavors are lost. I added carrots and celery as well. I am going to make this very often. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Delicious! I used only 1 tsp of cornstarch and tofu instead of chicken and it was just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Excellent. As others have done, I also added carrot strips and celery saute'd with the onion in a little oil. Then added the broth. I cooked 2 very small chicken breast in the broth to give it a little richer flavor. The seasoning was perfect but I left out the parsley because I didn't have any. Full of flavor and so easy to make. Thanks Molly. Made this for Think Pink Breast Cancer Awareness Event October 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This is a light soup. It has a good taste. I made as written with the exception of the basmati rice. Couldnt find that type of rice, so I used brown rice. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      We enjoyed this very much. I modified the recipe slightly by using raw chicken that I cooked in a skillet first, and lemon juice instead of the lemons. It turned out wonderfully. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      AMAZING soup! We loved it, but I think it might have had a little to much pepper next time I'll try 1/4 tsp. For the chicken I poached 1 chicken breast and diced it up it was about 10oz but hey close right? Wow we ate all 8 servings between the 2 of us YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Great soup! Loved the white pepper. Easy, tasty and a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This is the bestest, most awesome soup!! My family LOVED it and we are not typically cabbage eaters! I can't tell you how happy I am to have found this one!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Everything perfect down to the comment about less cayenne and white pepper if you want it less spicy. DH loved it most just as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Made this soup using left over turkey. It was great. I loved the lemon flavor in it. A keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      This gets my vote for ease and flavor! Delicious for a healthy soul but I imagine it would be excellent for a "sickie." I didn't have any lemons to slice up but I subbed with about 2 teaspoons of lemon juice. Next time I may try it with the lemon slices to compare. There will definitly be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      Excellent recipe. Amazing how a soup so easily made could taste so good! The seasonings so complimented the ingredients. The cabbage worked so well as did the basmati rice which I think is perfect for this soup. I used chicken but will be keeping this recipe in mind when we have turkey. Thank you Molly for sharing this delicious soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Nice soup! The lemon is subtle but keeps it lively. I started with raw chicken and cooked rice, so I sautéed the chicken briefly with the onion, and added the rice at the end. Quick, simple and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      This is a keeper! I had leftover cooked chicken and wondered if anyone would think to pair it with cabbage in a soup. This is the first recipe that came up in the search. I made this exactly as posted except I added carrot, onion and some leftover chick peas. You know the weird thing about this soup is that I tasted it right after I made it and I thought "hmmm, yeah ~ just ok", but when I took it to work for lunch the next day, it was positively delicious! Thanks, Molly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Great flavor. I tripled the recipe. I also used celery and carrots. Plus... I cooked the boneless breasts right in the soup and then chopped them up later when the soup was done. I also skipped cooking the cabbage separately because you lose so much flavor by cooking and draining it.. I sauteed it right along with the carrots, onions and celery.. then added the broth and raw chicken with the rice. Mmm.. comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken, Rice and Cabbage Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.1
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    18%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 21.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 344.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat chicken broth

    cayenne pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes