Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Rama in Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Rama in Thai Peanut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2012

      I scaled the ingredients to one person and cooked it up and it was delicious! I served it on top of some brown rice, spinach, and assorted other steamed vegetables for a winner of a dinner. Will definitely be making this again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      So good! Everyone in my house loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      This is my favorite Thai dish to make. I add red and pablano peppers to the sauce in the last step and some annato pepper powder to spice it up some. I also cut the fish sauce about half. Otherwise this recipe is exceptional and I make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      For me personally, it needed a bit of tweaking, there is WAY too much sugar for my taste, and also half the amount of coconut would've made it creamy. Otherwise, I liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2014

      this is my absolute favorite foods and I haven't been able to find a restaurant that serves it since I moved it to Sarasota. Was happy to find this recipe and made it for the first time tonight. it turned out great. The only changes I would make, are I would serve it with actual sticky rice steamed in a basket not caloroes rice, and I addedadded carrots and chopped scallions and just a pinch of cilantro on the top and serve it on a bed of wilted spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      This was fabulous. One of my favorite dishes to order when we eat Thai food, so I was a bit skeptical of this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfectly. As another reviewer mentioned, it's important to use quality ingredients (coconut milk, fish sauce, and curry paste). Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Another winner of this tour!! I reduced the fish sauce because we don't like it too salty, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and we loved it :) Thanks for sharing!<br/>Made for ZWT 9 / SE Asia for The Apron String Travelers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      This was fantastic. Had such great flavor!! Served with a side of rice. Made for ZWT 9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      Excellent recipe, I made a few changes...I added a little red curry powder, as well as minced garlic. I also cooked the chicken with some zucchini and squash and I added my spinach is last and cooked that as well. Finally, I added some cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. All in all, I loved it! Next time, I'll use a little less brown sugar and I think I'll add a little more spice but it's still YUMMY as posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Excellent! I made a few changes. I used cubed tofu instead of the chicken. I followed some other reviewers suggestions and put in a bit less fish sauce, however I think it would have still been great even with the full amount. I used mild curry paste, so there was no heat to it and my kids each ate a full plate of it. I just added some garlic chili sauce to the top of mine to spicy it up a bit. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      I have found you must go to an Asian grocery store to purchase the best fish sauce. Do not buy fish sauce at the local grocery store or your recipe will test "funny" -- usually too sweet and salty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      This was DELICIOUS! Cut this down for the two of us and used a little less fish sauce but otherwise followed the instructions...wonderful. Going into my Favorites of 2012. Thank you for posting. Made for Fall PAC 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Very good start. I didn't care for the thin consistancy and wanted to modify the flavor a little. So I doubled the peanut butter and doubled the curry. I cut the fish sauce in half. Then I mixed about a tablespoon of cornstarch and one egg yolk with the peanutbutter and fish sauce before adding to the cocunut milk. It resulted in a very smooth and creamy consistancy and a little thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      Since my husband's Celiac diagnosis just over a year ago, we are extremely limited on where we can eat out. Thai is one of those foods that is pretty safe. This dish is just like one we get out, but so much cheaper to make and so easy. Love it. I also used about half of the fish sauce as suggested by several reviewers. I used green curry paste because that's what I had. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I have been meaning to review this recipe for a while, as it has become a favorite of mine and my DH. We love Thai food and, living in Brooklyn, we have plenty of access to good, authentic options... but I have to say, we'd both take this homemade Rama over take-out most any night. A few changes: like other reviewers, I reduced the fish sauce to 1/8 cup. I also didn't like the curry (maybe it was just the brand I used), so I started using 1/2 tablespoon "sambal oelek" chili paste, which made a big difference. Instead of spinach I add sliced carrots (which I cook in the coconut milk) and broccoli (which I steam separately). Finally, I don't think these amounts NEED to change... but I generally add a little extra ginger and a little less sugar. We serve over rice. I definitely recommend this dish... it makes it onto our table just about every week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This was an easy, authentic tasting and delicious meal! I really loved how quickly it went together. I decided to serve it over rice this time, but next time may use rice and spinach. I think I would like the spinach wilted or sauteed. I can't imagine it fresh, but I must be the only one due to the rave reviews before me. We really enjoy Thai and now can enjoy it even when we are short on time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! Made for Best of the Best 2010 Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Overall was enjoyed by 3 of us - I used 1lb 5oz chicken breasts (2 breasts) and followed through with the recipe, my only disappointment was the sauce was very thin but was packed with flavour and the only change I would make would be to only use 1/3 a cup of peanuts (I roasted mine in a frypan and then chopped). I served with steamed doongara rice (good for diabetics) and steamed baby carrots and served the chicken on top of steamed baby bok choy leaves gathered from the vegetable garden. Thank you NorthwestGal for a very tasty dish with a good hint of spice that even the DM enjoyed (I don't like spice declareant), made for Please Review My Recipe. UPDATE - the DM has just finished the left overs for lunch over rice and I did sneak a wee taste and the flavours have really come out and just having you smacking your tongue around your mouth, just put it over rice and did a slow reheat in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Great dish! The peanut sauce was wonderfully flavored and works really well with the spinach. The chicken was so tender and juicy from the coconut milk. We really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I made this as directed and didn't have a problem with the 1/4 cup of fish sauce. It is nicely spicy and we served it with "Vegetable Pad Thai" for a great Thai dinner. I made this for ZWT #6 and I'm a Quisine Queen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      So good and so very easy. Thank you! Other recipes seemed needlessly complicated. This one tastes wonderful. Congratulations, Northwest Gal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Rama in Thai Peanut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 573.1
     
    Calories from Fat 352
    61%
    Total Fat 39.1 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 72.8 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1871.3 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 36.8 g
    73%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes