Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Provencale Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Provencale

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2013

      I love this dish! Very unique flavor. I'm going to try to start making it often! I'd recommend to anyone who loves a rich flavor and lots of good veggie chunks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      This is definately not Chicken Provencal! For what it is it's very good, but it's mexican. Just an observation, first of all if you cook boneless/skinless chicken for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, you will have dried up chicken pieces so I used thighs and breasts with bones. Very good served over Mexican Rice #117892!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      This is definitely a Spanish dish, not Provencal (or Mexican, as some suggested). It is, however, very good! I made some changes according to taste and what I had on hand. We used canned jalapenos, not green peppers, four cloves of garlic, no olives, no green onions and half a bottle of wine. Yup, that's right, half a bottle. Quarter cup is for cowards ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Delicious & easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I just didn't care for this one much at all. My dining companion, though, loved it. I was expecting something Italian or French, but to me, it smelled Mexican while cooking. I said, "This doesn't smell like anything I was hungry for!" and my friend said, "What are you talking about?! It smells just like Del Taco in here!" Oh well, if you like that kind of stuff, this might well be a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Woah!! This is excellent!! And I seriously can't believe how easy. When I read the directions and the ingredients, I was thinking, "ok, sounds like a good weekday meal, but dinner party? No way! Canned stuff, nothing fancy..." Well, let me tell you, this dish was so perfectly balanced and spectacularly tasty that I am certain I will make it for dinner guests sometime very soon. And as another reviewer did, I'll just start it simmering and enjoy a glass of wine with my guests. Thanks so much!! Not only for the recipe but also for the great dinner party I'm bound to have with this wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Wonderful. Very good flavors. The chicken was very tender. I must say that prior to making the recipe, I was suspicious of the name "provencale" ...I thought for sure that it would taste like a southwest dish. I was wrong. The wine compliments the spices nicely to make a wonderful dish. I used 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves and cut them each into 4-6 pieces. I made the full amount of sauce and it was just the right amount for 4 servings. I do not care for olives so omitted and instead used 1 tablespoon of capers as another reviewer had suggested. Next time I may also add 1-2 tablespoons golden raisins to add a hint of sweetness. I served with Farfalle pasta tossed with butter, Parmesan and black pepper as suggested. I think it would be just as good with plain pasta (and fewer calories)...next time I will toss the cooked pasta directly into the saute pan with the chicken and sauce. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      SUPER recipe! I tasted it before the red wine... thought, this tastes so good I don't think it needs it... added the wine and WOW! After simmering double WOW! I had my mum and chef husband to cook for (not an easy- to-please pair). I pre-prepared so it simmered away in the background. They laughed as I sat and drank beer with them (no stress!) and they secretly exchanged "knowing" looks (my cooking track record may be a little sketchy). But you should have seen their faces once they tasted it!! I had a very hard time being "non chalant" as I too was blown away. Amazing for a recipe that is really pretty simple! The buttered pasta as a side was a perfect accompaniment! My dad is now now demanding I make it for him as he missed out! Thank you for sharing this wonderful dish. Other recipe hunters - TRY THIS RECIPE!! Warning though - make more than you think you need (may cause guests to lick the pan!) Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      My family enjoyed this dish very much. The flavors come together so perfectly. I forgot to buy green onions so left those out. And I only used three chicken breast halves and thought the amount of sauce was just right for that. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      All I can say is YUUUMMMM! Huge hit with the family and relatively easy to make. I used demisec red wine and a half teaspoon of sugar in the sauce. This dish is ideal for dinner parties. Served with buttered fettuccini pasta and side of salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      I'm so glad I ran across this recipe. I just happened to have everything except for the green onions. This dish had so much flavor and even my picky eater liked it. The chicken breasts were so tender. I served it with white rice but I'm sure it would be good with any type of pasta. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      really good and i had most items already in my cabinets. i subs capers for olives because i had them, i used fresh green peppers instead of green chilis and i added artichoke hearts. served over pasta. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I'm sorry to say, this didn't work out to great for us...just seemed like it was lacking something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This was a nice cozy meal. I did sub the breast for a whole cut up chicken. It turned out nicely all in all. However, when I fix this again I will cut back on the cumin as I felt it took over. I'm not sure why there are olives in this, but I found some jalapeno flavored olives and used those. I'm thinking that a green olive might go nicely too. Next time I will also add more vegies such as mushrooms and celery. Thank you for posting m0m.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This was moist & flavorful. Serve with penne & garlic bread. Appreciate you sharing a family recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      We all really enjoyed this easy but tasty dish. I omitted the olives and used a smidge more wine. Served with yellow rice and zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Sensational! Its a keeper...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I thought this was delish~~My DH thought it was "pretty good". I used boneless skinless thighs, reduced the oil to about 1/8 Cup and didn't have the chilies. Next time I will leave the oil out (thighs are fattier) and trim the fat on the thighs since it was rather greasy. I served over angel hair pasta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This is one of my favorite recipes. I served it over some instant (and very easy to make) garlic and olive oil couscous and it really added to the overall Mediteranian feel. I also substituted green olives and added capers about 15 minutes before serving. My family loved it and I will make it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      We all really enjoyed this simple, but tasty dish. I made white rice with dinner tonight, but with the leftovers I will make the parmesan penne. I think that after browning the chicken you could use a crock pot to simmer the chicken when you are pressed for time. Thanks m0m for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Provencale

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    52%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 90.7 mg
    30%
    Sodium 427.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites