34 Reviews

I love this dish! Very unique flavor. I'm going to try to start making it often! I'd recommend to anyone who loves a rich flavor and lots of good veggie chunks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emar0205 June 17, 2013

This is definately not Chicken Provencal! For what it is it's very good, but it's mexican. Just an observation, first of all if you cook boneless/skinless chicken for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, you will have dried up chicken pieces so I used thighs and breasts with bones. Very good served over Mexican Rice #117892!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CABarbieQue April 04, 2011

This is definitely a Spanish dish, not Provencal (or Mexican, as some suggested). It is, however, very good! I made some changes according to taste and what I had on hand. We used canned jalapenos, not green peppers, four cloves of garlic, no olives, no green onions and half a bottle of wine. Yup, that's right, half a bottle. Quarter cup is for cowards ^_^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rowenna August 19, 2010

Delicious & easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dstevenson12 June 07, 2010

I just didn't care for this one much at all. My dining companion, though, loved it. I was expecting something Italian or French, but to me, it smelled Mexican while cooking. I said, "This doesn't smell like anything I was hungry for!" and my friend said, "What are you talking about?! It smells just like Del Taco in here!" Oh well, if you like that kind of stuff, this might well be a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FabulousBigNiki December 05, 2009

Woah!! This is excellent!! And I seriously can't believe how easy. When I read the directions and the ingredients, I was thinking, "ok, sounds like a good weekday meal, but dinner party? No way! Canned stuff, nothing fancy..." Well, let me tell you, this dish was so perfectly balanced and spectacularly tasty that I am certain I will make it for dinner guests sometime very soon. And as another reviewer did, I'll just start it simmering and enjoy a glass of wine with my guests. Thanks so much!! Not only for the recipe but also for the great dinner party I'm bound to have with this wonderful dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen October 08, 2009

Wonderful. Very good flavors. The chicken was very tender. I must say that prior to making the recipe, I was suspicious of the name "provencale" ...I thought for sure that it would taste like a southwest dish. I was wrong. The wine compliments the spices nicely to make a wonderful dish. I used 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves and cut them each into 4-6 pieces. I made the full amount of sauce and it was just the right amount for 4 servings. I do not care for olives so omitted and instead used 1 tablespoon of capers as another reviewer had suggested. Next time I may also add 1-2 tablespoons golden raisins to add a hint of sweetness. I served with Farfalle pasta tossed with butter, Parmesan and black pepper as suggested. I think it would be just as good with plain pasta (and fewer calories)...next time I will toss the cooked pasta directly into the saute pan with the chicken and sauce. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms June 20, 2009

SUPER recipe! I tasted it before the red wine... thought, this tastes so good I don't think it needs it... added the wine and WOW! After simmering double WOW! I had my mum and chef husband to cook for (not an easy- to-please pair). I pre-prepared so it simmered away in the background. They laughed as I sat and drank beer with them (no stress!) and they secretly exchanged "knowing" looks (my cooking track record may be a little sketchy). But you should have seen their faces once they tasted it!! I had a very hard time being "non chalant" as I too was blown away. Amazing for a recipe that is really pretty simple! The buttered pasta as a side was a perfect accompaniment! My dad is now now demanding I make it for him as he missed out! Thank you for sharing this wonderful dish. Other recipe hunters - TRY THIS RECIPE!! Warning though - make more than you think you need (may cause guests to lick the pan!) Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally E May 15, 2009

My family enjoyed this dish very much. The flavors come together so perfectly. I forgot to buy green onions so left those out. And I only used three chicken breast halves and thought the amount of sauce was just right for that. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* April 19, 2009

All I can say is YUUUMMMM! Huge hit with the family and relatively easy to make. I used demisec red wine and a half teaspoon of sugar in the sauce. This dish is ideal for dinner parties. Served with buttered fettuccini pasta and side of salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Markeyan April 06, 2009
Chicken Provencale