Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Potato Pie - Shepherd’s Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Potato Pie - Shepherd’s Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2008

      This was very good! I used the corn, but instead of asparagus, I used a peas and carrots combo. Also, I forgot the red pepper, but I think next time I'll be sure to use it. I also left out the curry (DH can't stand it). I layered it in a 1 1/2 qt. casserole dish and it turned out great. DH thought that it tasted a little like Thanksgiving. It really is surprising how tasty these few leftover ingredients can be. Thanks Rita for this new favorite for my Left-Overs cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game 2013 and I am so glad I picked this. This is great anytime and after Thanksgiving you can use leftover turkey (even if I know it says chicken). Anyway I used rotisserie chicken and I added onion and some garlic (always do) and fresh green beans for the asparagus (didn't have any). What is so nice you can use any vegetables that you have. I never used curry in my Shepards pie but I love that extra flavor. Definately going into my Favorites of 2013. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      This was a great recipe! We left out the curry and I didn't have any red pepper or asparagus on hand, so I added green pepper instead. We'll definitely be making this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      We really enjoyed this casserole. I had some rotisserie chicken left over and used the corn and peas - didn't have asparagus. I substituted my leftover Colcannon (mashed potatoes and cabbage) on top and it was really good. Love the curry powder mixed with the soup. This is such a great recipe to use up leftover veggies and chicken - will definitely make this again! Made for ZWT -8- Great Britain/Ireland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      Had 1/2 rotisserie chicken and hoped to find something interesting. Sauteed an onion, sliced carrots, and some left-over mushrooms -- added to the veggies (no corn). Put together in a layer cake pan, and had 2 tasty meals. Real comfort food - just needs a little "oomph" next time. Thanks for posting, Rita~ .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This is really comforting comfort food. I was feeling a little under the weather when making this, but eating it perked me right up! I used gravy instead of canned soup, and added some mushrooms. Thanks for posting! Made for the Lively Lemon Lovelies, ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I'm very pleased with how this turned out. I used leftover mashed potatoes that had been frozen, and they were so watery. But they baked up great! I used my own combination of veggies, homemade cream soup, and only 1/2 Tbsp. curry powder. Next time I'll use nicer chicken; I had some leftover diced cooked chicken that was very dry and plain. I did sprinkle Mrs. Dash original seasoning over it to add flavor to the pie and that was good. But it was still obvious that it was very dry chicken! Anyway, thanks for a useful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      We really enjoyed this nice easy recipe. I didn't bother with the cheese. I felt there was enough flavour with the curry powder. I will be making this again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I made this for a fuss-free St. Patty's dinner. I used a rotisserie chicken, homemade mashed potatoes, freshly steamed asaparagus, and omitted the curry. I assembled early in day and reheated in a 325 oven for about 45 minutes (covered with foil for the first half). This chicken version (shep. pie) was enjoyed by all! UPDATE: I chose this again for another St. Patrick's Day dinner, but made it fresh, using pesto from Pesto Chicken Salad Sandwiches on grilled chicken and fresh mashed potatoes (with sour cream). I broiled till the top was golden and served. This was delicious and I could tell my two teens liked it, along with my DH. Thanks again Rita, for another year of Shepherd' s Pie! Roxygirl Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Really nice and easy, with the leftovers. Following suit, I used the leftover veggies I had - corn, green pepper, onion, and carrots. I also subbed some homemade cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken soup (to cut the sodium). I also omitted the butter and cheddar. I always flavor my mashed potatoes with rosemary and parsley, and I didn't want to disguise them, so I just sprinkled the paprika on top. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I didn't add the red pepper, asparagus or curry to the recipe but otherwise followed. I used 1 can cream style corn, which helped to flavor the dish really well. I used grated jack cheese. The dish was really flavorful and creamy. I loved how the soup and other ingredients made a gravy in the meat. I will definately be making this again sometime as we love comfort food and this fit the bill! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This was delicious! We had a bunch of leftovers and some pie crust frozen, made from scratch. We used a pie crust, had to sub some mashed pumpkin for the potatoes since we were out, but it tasted great! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Thank you Rita! Another fantastic recipe! This was a wonderful, warming, comfort-food dinner on a cold winter night. I used roasted chicken and added a few herbs, but otherwise followed your directions. Another addition to my favorites cookbook. Best wishes and thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      This is a fabulous recipe and very easy to make! We really enjoyed this pie. I did use Cream of Chicken Soup for the cream of chicken soup this recipe called for and I also only used a dash of curry powder since DH and I are not fans of curry powder. I also used small cans of the peas and corn but made sure I drained the water out first. The red pepper sure sets off the taste in this pie. Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      This recipe is just perfect for my family...when I grill, I always grill for several meals, then hunt recipes to remake the leftovers. This recipe is just perfect. Everyone should give it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      Rita, great way to used up lots of leftovers....had a little dab of corn, green beans and peas leftover, used diced chicken from the freezer and instand mashed potatoes, left out the asparagus, personal distaste. Was perfect TY.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Potato Pie - Shepherd’s Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (1347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1513.5
     
    Calories from Fat 655
    43%
    Total Fat 72.8 g
    112%
    Saturated Fat 29.2 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 280.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 3934.4 mg
    163%
    Total Carbohydrate 131.8 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 16.2 g
    64%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 85.7 g
    171%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites