43 Reviews

This is one tasty dish! I made the double crust version & used a whole wheat flour/white flour combo. Then I used leftover roasted chicken which was only a little over 2 cups, so I cut up 2 small potatoes and decreased the peas some, whilst adding fresh carrots. I also added 1/2 tsp freshly diced rosemary and leftover chicken gravy. Oh my... so damn good. Will make again because the sauce is not too creamy, the crust is tender, and the whole thing is like a pot pie joyride!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frantasm March 07, 2012

I made this last week for my family. Was a big hit! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolekogler December 27, 2011

Phenomenal recipe! I'll never have to get a store bought chicken pot pie again. We bought the little tins to make individual pies, turned out just great. Even my son, who turns his nose up at everything, loved these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jadeblackhawk December 03, 2011

So I followed this recipe exactly as it is. And my pies(I used smaller dishes to make individual pies) are in the oven now, but i couldn't wait to write a review... i tasted the filling while I was filling my dishes, HEAVENLY, is the word that even comes close to describing this food that is meant for the gods. If i could add more stars i would. This one is def being added to my regular rotation. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starbucksjunky246 August 12, 2011

a very good base---made some changes, mostly due to my laziness. i had some extra chicken breast that i cooked in the crockpot for shredding--used that. and i didnt want to make crust from scratch, so i laid some crescent rolls over the top. also used gravy out of the jar. turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissiehaynes March 27, 2011

Wow-weee! I loved this because I had all of these things in the cupbord already. The filling itself is a winner. It tastes so buttery and creamy - I used a smidge more, butter though - and I used one can of mixed veggies in lieu of a bag of frozen. I used biscuit dough for the top and bottom. What a wonderful, fast easy recipe for a cold rainy night (or ANY night).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanene_in_Annapolis October 04, 2010

Really good crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 September 28, 2010

This was great. I have been experimenting, and rather than the chicken broth going after the fact. I stewed the chicken in the broth (50% broth and 50% water), and then cut the chicken up. It made the meal 100% richer. Just a thought to improve upon your perfect recipe. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmsenty January 16, 2010
Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crust