Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Pot Pie Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Pot Pie Soup

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2010

      This soup was just what my daughter was craving. She saw a coupon for Sweet Tomatoes restaurant that showed their Chicken Pot Pie Soup and wanted it so I did a quick search and found this. My method was just a bit different than listed but I kept the ingredients the same for the most part. I cooked the chicken breasts in the crock pot all day and made chicken broth at the same time. I removed some of the broth from crock pot and boiled my potatoes and carrots uncovered in the broth until there was only about 1 cup of the broth left. I added the cubed chicken and the peas, melted the butter in a measuring cup and stirred the flour into the melted butter until it was smooth. Then I added the butter/flour mixture slowly into the pan and then the milk, brought the soup to a simmer and in about 5 minutes it was thick and absolutely delicious! I served the soup with biscuits and it was a big hit in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Thanks for this great recipe, starnover! Just had a big bowl for dinner on a snowy evening. Paired it with a spinach salad and Honey Oat Bread (#4218). YUM! I made these modifications: used one glove of garlic instead of garlic powder, used 2 C half & half and 2 C chicken broth, white whole wheat flour. Will make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      So yummy! I made it for my mom and I, and we ate the whole thing with leftovers for later. Awesome in crunchy bread bowls. I switched the peas for lima beans though, since lima beans are full of protein, and I took it easy on the margarine and flour. Overall, really good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This was a great and easy recipe. I used frozen veggies in a bag to cut my prep time, and a little more flour to thicken it up. It was super delicious. Best recipe for pot pie soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This is the perfect winter food. I also add more vegetables and less potatoes. I have made it with skim milk as well. I generally quadruple the recipe and freeze it for a quick winter meal. I also use #82958 Perfect Pie Crust. I just roll it out & bake it and then put some of the broken pieces on top of the individual bowls of soup. That crust is so easy & so flaky. It really is perfect. Just be sure to use butter flavored Crisco and no substitutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I loved this thick creamy soup. It is perfect served over biscuits in a bowl. Next time I think I'll add sauteed mushrooms and a 1/4 tsp poultry seasoning and some chopped celery leaves for variety. I plan to make ahead as flavor develops overnight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      i made a big pot of this soup for dinner tonight, and my whole family loved it, this is a very easy soup to make, the only thing i did different was to add a couple cloves of garlic. Thanks for another great recipe homegirl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Very good recipe...a hit with our family! I bought bread bowls at Panera to serve it in...kids loved it! I used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables (carrots, corn, green beans), which saved time peeling and cutting carrots (microwave the veg. first). Also used minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and instead of 4c whole milk, I used 1c 1% milk, 1c half & half and 2c chicken stock. Still turned out nice and thick (just be sure to add the liquids slowly and stir constantly). Now I just need to figure out how to spice it up a bit. It was a little too bland. More pepper maybe? Will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      This recipe is a keeper! I used the same vegetables except I switched celery for green pepper and switched white sweet potatoes for regular, subbed ground white pepper for black pepper, added bouquet garni and poultry seasoning, swapped a can of coconut milk for regular milk and used chicken base (4 cups, with 1 cup vegetable stock). Also used potato flour to thicken with although since it was so thick I had to add additional water maybe next time I'll start with 1/4 cup then go from there - tastes great! Pre-cooking the vegetables and chicken greatly speeds up the cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      We have made this recipe a few times now and it is super yummy every time! I have a horrible dairy allergy and was able to substitute soy milk and Earth's Balance "butter" spread. Tastes just like I want it to :) Only thing we have done is added some Italian seasoning to give it a little kick. mmmmm! Can't wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

    • on November 09, 2010

      Excellent flavor and presentation. What a good fit for someone wanting winter comfort food. The only change I made was added a little poultry seasoning and used instant mashed potatoes instead of flour to thicken it. I baked small rounds of pie crust so the family could add to top of each bowl if they wanted. It's a keeper and I want to double it next time so hopefully I will be able to freeze enough for a quick meal when I can't think of anything to fix.
      Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Very good and easy to do. Instead of thickening with flour, I used 2 mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      I made this for my dear hubby tonight and he LOVED it. Said it was just like chicken pot pie :-). I've been wanting to make him chicken pot pie, but haven't found a recipe that rang a bell with me yet. This sure was a great recipe! I used 4 tbsp stick butter--used carrots, corn & potatoes--but peas would be nice, too! I used 3 cups skim milk & 1 cup fat free half & half--was nervous that all that fat free milk wouldn't be "thick & creamy" enough! Also added 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, 1/4 tsp poultry seas & white AND black pepper. 1/3 cup flour worked fine for me! I didn't have biscuits to serve with this but will make sure to try that next time. Thank you SO much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Mmmmm, this is REALLY good stuff! It was a major snow storm here today and we really needed some comfort food, this was perfect. I realized when making it that I didn't have any chicken boullion so I used a can of fat free chicken broth and cut the milk down to 2 cups. I also threw in a bunch of extra veggies and served it in sourdough bread bowls, it came out fabulous! Thank you Homegirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Terrific! A real keeper! My daughters *loved* this. I served it over biscuits. The only change I made was to use chopped green beans instead of peas as one of my daughters doesn't like peas. I used 2% milk. Thank you, homegirl. My girls said they prefer this to chicken pot pie itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Wonderful, wonderful warm comfort food. I did one of my skinny versions here, and both DH and I loved it. I used 2% milk, reduced the amount of potatoes and added extra veggies - including green beans. Because DH and I are pepper-freaks, I tossed in a pinch of white pepper as well which we liked. Note: This soup is EVEN BETTER the next day!! I'll surely be adding this to my lunch rotation. Thanks Homegirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Pot Pie Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (502 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 568.5
     
    Calories from Fat 273
    48%
    Total Fat 30.4 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 77.2 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1098.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 17.4 g
    69%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes