98 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When I say to my family "Another new recipe!" they are very apprehensive and uneasy until they actually take that first bite. However, this combination of home made sauce and vegetables burst forth a gusto flavor they loved. I reluctantly doubled the sauce so it would soak into the rice below and I was so glad I did. The strange combination of ingredients, with "2" tablespoons of minced garlic, I just couldn't see how it could taste good. But wait, it was REALLY, REALLY gratifying! Now I am concerned that they enjoyed it so much they will not want to go back to package kind! Thank you for sharing this recipe; the pineapple was an awsome addition!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DustyPenny June 03, 2002

This is so easy and sinfully delicious. I used low sodium soy sauce, and also used 2 fresh green and red peppers, cut into 1 inch square in place of the frozen stir-fry vegetables (personal choice). Excellent. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan May 20, 2002

I used veg broth to cook the rice in and kept out just enough to saute the chicken in instead of oil. And used lite soy sauce. Very good and quick and easy to fix. My family loved it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha in AR May 08, 2002

Awesome Stir-Fry! I used most of a 20oz can of pineapple, 2 tsp fresh ginger and doubled the sauce. I added about 2/3 of the sauce per the recipe and then mixed in an additional 2 tsp (total of 4 tsp) of cornstarch into the remaining 1/3, adding it at the end to thicken it to the perfect consistency. Sooo good, Thanks MizzNezz UPDATE: I tried using 3 tablespoons of sugar instead of 4 (I double the sauce) bc hubby thought it was a little sweet. But I really think it needs the full 4 tbs! It just doesn't cut it with 3. If you're concerned about it being too sweet, make sure you're using the pineapple packed in 100% pineapple juice and NOT in sugar - otherwise it could definitely get too sweet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 27, 2010

This was an excellent dish. My whole family loved it. I made one change to it and that was I added about 2Tbs of brown sugar when I added the pineapples and sauce. It gave it a great taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacqueline Smith July 15, 2003

This has just an excellent flavor. We used red and green pepper strips in it and everyone loved it. The pineapple is wonderful with the sauce.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DidiG June 17, 2002

It was okay. I would not use frozen vegetables next time. They just don't do the dish justice. I would also add more pineapple juice next time. The flavor of the sauce wasn't distinctive enough and was a little underwhelming.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeeCooks August 31, 2011

I'd say this was 5 stars the way I made it but there's no way making this with frozen mixed vegetables would be 5 stars. I followed this recipe closely and tripled the minced garlic. I cut up a yellow pepper, broccoli, red onion and used a can of sliced water chestnuts. This was GOOD! My husband added sriracha to his, but I sauteed it with crushed red peppers and it had the perfect amount of kick with that. I also used boneless/skinless chicken thighs rather than breasts. Will definitely make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl June 13, 2011

I let the chicken marinate for about a half hour. I made this with pineapple, asparagus, cherry tomatoes and carrots over a bed of brown rice. I had to steam the asparagus and carrots first. I also used tomato paste instead of ketchup and upped the ginger. Very delicious!!! I also made fresh ginger tea to go with it. Absolutely a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ixtasis February 16, 2011

This is also my very first review...Five stars for sure!!! I needed to use some fresh pineapple & needed a quick dinner idea...poof...perfection! I didn't have the frozen veggies but I gathered what I had on hand, some canned & some fresh. I also used the bagged "broccoli slaw" which actually worked out very well! I added some sesame oil to the mix then added red pepper flakes & almond slivers on just mine & it was SO yummy! My 5 yr old complains about everything I make but she had three servings of this!! This is a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boofus7 November 19, 2010
Chicken Pineapple Stir- Fry