21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As my son likes to say--Simple, simple, simple. So true, but has a wonderful zesty flavor. The picante was mildly sweet and zesty and the chicken was very juicy and tender. We all loved it and the kids/husband have asked me to make it again. Thanks MizzNezz.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariav23 April 05, 2003

I chose this recipe because it not only looked easy, but it's healthy and low fat! This dish was satisfying and went really well with some soft polenta and garlic green beans. Inez, it's always difficult to come up with more superlatives when reviewing one of your recipes. Bravo.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema February 01, 2003

This was so so so good! 1st beacause it was so simple to put together, and 2nd, because it was delicious! I only had a jar of mild salsa, so I added some red pepper flakes for a little bit of heat. Next time I will just use hotter salsa to make it a tad less sweet. Wonderful recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenshie October 11, 2002

Simple and very good. Had only three chicken breasts, thought I might try with pork sirloin, only three of them, so did all six together. Pammed baking dish and poured Picante over all six. Great with both. Thickened remaining sauce with 2 teaspoons corn starch mixed in 1/4 cup water. Served sauce over brown rice as a side. Can not get any easier.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Coughenour June 24, 2002

This was excellent, quick, easy, tender, juicy and the picante sauce mixture had a great flavor! What more can I say except you must try this one! I can envision thickening the juices after baking and using it over rice.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J April 18, 2002

What a great recipe. Quick, simple, low fat and tasty! The chicken was very tender. As suggested I served it over rice, with peas and carrots. This will become a regular menu item.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mylanos February 11, 2004

Easy is King in my kitchen and this fits the bill. The chicken was moist and so tasty. I may try a little hotter sauce next time but this recipe is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marge February 04, 2004

Very nice and juicy. I left the breasts frozen and cooked 'em for five more minutes. Lazy! I'd probably use a hotter picante next time and make sure my tablespoons were heaping. A keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB June 15, 2003

Magnifico! My family LOOOVED this easy, quick, and very tasty chicken recipe! My 7 year old was co-chef and was giggly-excited when we all tasted it ...YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rozdaly January 03, 2010

We were disappointed. We used medium picante sauce. So it was a hot, brown sugar and mustard taste. The flavors were distinct -- not blended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peprich November 17, 2009
Chicken Picante